We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best Holiday Express we have used!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newton Sparta
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Newton
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
HBG. Pa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“One of the best Holiday Express we have used!!”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

The entire staff we had contact with were excellent and very customer oriented.. We especially liked the breakfast they had, Lorraine was very attentive and very nice to boot. Would stay at this Express again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MartJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newtonexpress, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newton Sparta, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
5/20/14
Dear Marjo,
Thank you for your kind woeds about our hotel.
Lorraine was happy to hear you enjoyed your breakfast and her compnay.
The entire staff smiled when told that you thought they were helpfiul.
Please come visit hus again real soon. Again,thank you for your great review.

Holiday Inn Express
Newton, New Jersey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    51
    8
    1
    2
See reviews for
46
24
13
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nutley, New Jersey
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a dance competition in the area for my daughter. The staff from check in to check out were great! The room was clean and quiet with comfortable beds and a spacious bathroom. Many restaurants and shopping in the area. Would stay again. Not 5 stars due to price.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Lori D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newtonexpress, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newton Sparta, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
4/9/14
Dear Lori,
Thank you so much for your great review of our hotel.
We love having dancers at the hotel as they brighten up the entire hotel.
You can really feel the energy dancers bring with them.
The entire staff was happy to know we were able to make you happy/.
Please come visit us again real soon..

Holiday Inn Express
New New Jersey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwalk, Connecticut
Level Contributor
75 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

Here for 1 night for my husband's 50 mile race. I am shamefully a hotel snob. And i gave my husband a hard time about staying atca Holiday Inn. But I must say, I am very surprised by this hotel. Updated. Very clean. Friendly staff. I highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Shannon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newtonexpress, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newton Sparta, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear Shannon W,
Thank you so much for sharing your lovely comments about our property! It means so much to all of us here at the Holiday Inn Express of Newton to know that we made your stay an enjoyable one. We continue to work on ways to improve our performance and deliver the kind of service that our valued Guests deserve. We truly enjoyed having the NJ Trail Racers here as our Guests and we look forward to seeing you again in the future. Thank you again and have a wonderful weekend!
The Staff at Holiday Inn Express Newton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new jersey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

I spent 2 nights at the Holiday Inn Express in Newton NJ. I work in the area, but there was a major snow storm, so I spent 2 night instead of driving home. The hotel is very nice, clean, and comfortable. There is an Applebees across from the hotel, you can walk to it. There are also other places to eat, and two grocery stores across the street. There is a microwave, coffee maker in the room. Bathroom has a tub with water jets, but didn't get try it. The continental breakfast was ready before 630am ,and it was good. Eggs, bacon, omelettes, etc. The parking lot could have been plowed a little better, but there was alot of snow, so I do understand. I have stayed at a Holiday Inn Express before, in NYC. Both were very good, and I would stay again. Only problem, I felt the price was quite high for the area. $161.00 I could see for NYC, but not for Newton New Jersey.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katenj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newtonexpress, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newton Sparta, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Dear Katenj,
Thank you for your kind words about our hotel. The staff works very hard to provide quality service to our guests and are happy we were able to please you. We are glad you enjoyed Applebee's and the closeness of the grocery stores. We are sorry you felt the price was high,we do our best at keeping the prices reasonable while providing the service and quality you have come to expect from the IHG brand. Please visist us again when you can enjoy your stay and not worry about the weather.

Holiday Inn Express
Newton New Jersey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocean City, Maryland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We have family in the Newton NJ area and we usually stay with them, but this Christmas we decided to give them a break and stay at a local hotel. This hotel was well-run, reasonably priced, really nice staff.
I was pleasantly surprised with the variety of items offered at breakfast.

Room Tip: We needed a handicapped room - it was on the first floor at the end of one wing - great location for...
See more room tips
Green Features: I was happy to note that the hotel uses the linen reuse program and that the temperature is controlled in the room Biodegradable toiletries Staff training on green practices, towel reuse program, temperature controlled heating/cooling system
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oquossoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newtonexpress, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newton Sparta, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Dear oquossoc,
I'm so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us over Christmas! Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We all take great pride in being able to be a home-away-from-home during the holiday season, and hopefully you will be joining us again in the future!
We look forward to having you again,
The Staff at the Holiday Inn Express
Newton-Sparta, NJ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson, New Jersey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

I had to take care of some business and see friends in the area, so I stated overnight in Newton. The hotel provides clean rooms, the staff is nice and the breakfast is good. A nice touch is the list of local restaurants that provide discounts for guests. One quibble; the mattresses are extremely thick, and this old coot had trouble climbing on.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newtonexpress, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newton Sparta, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Dear Angela C,
Thank you so much for joining us while in Newton! I'm glad to see that you found everything that you were looking for here. Next time you come join us, you can feel free to ask for a room with a lower bed, or we have safe step stools available if the bed is too high in the room. Always call the front desk anytime you need anything, we're here 24/7!
See you next time!
The Staff at the Holiday Inn Express
Newton-Sparta, NJ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 December 2013

I was visiting a relative in the hospital near by and this was the closest place. Everything was clean, the staff was super friendly, and overall just a pleasant experience. The front desk staff seemed genuinely disappointed that I wouldn't be able to attend their Wednesday night happy hour. :-)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kbugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newtonexpress, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newton Sparta, responded to this review, 13 December 2013
Dear kbugs,
Thanks for your great review of our hotel. Our guests really enjoy happy hour and we wish you could have been there.I have shared your review with the entire staff and they were happy to know
we have satisfied you during your stay. Please visit us again,hopefully for a good reason next time.

Thanks
Holiday Inn Express
Newton New Jersey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newton
3.2 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#2 of 2 in Newton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
12.2 mi away
Grand Cascades Lodge
Grand Cascades Lodge
#1 of 1 in Hamburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,785 reviews
13.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mount Arlington-Rockaway Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 mi away
Quality Inn near Mountain Creek
16.2 mi away
High Point Country Inn
High Point Country Inn
#1 of 1 in Wantage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
11.2 mi away
Residence Inn Mt. Olive at International Trade Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newton Sparta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newton Sparta

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newton Sparta
Address: 8 N Park Dr, Newton, NJ 07860-1449
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Newton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Newton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newton Sparta 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to theHoliday Inn Express Hotel and Suites of Newton Sparta. We are located in the heart of Sussex County, NJ and the closet Hotel to Sussex County State Fairgrounds. With location 12 miles north of Rt. 80 And just off Rt. 206, We are ideal for both the business and leisure traveler. We are minutes away from businesses such as Selective Insurance, Thor Labs, Rubber Fab and Newton Memorial Hospital. Guests will enjoy area attractions such as Space Farms, Mountain Creek Ski Resort & Water Park, State Parks, Delaware Water Gap and Lafayette Village.Our guestrooms are 100% smoke free and offer free high-speed Internet, free local long distance phone calling, microwave, refrigerator and coffeemaker as well as flat screen TV, movies on demand and free HBO. The hotel features a complimentary business center and fitness room.Start your morning with our hot complimentary Express Start breakfast offering a variety of hot and cold items including our famous world s best cinnamon roll and pancake machine. Stroll down Historical Main Street in Newton and browse unique gift shops and antiques. Enjoy area restaurants ranging from simple fare to gourmet cuisine or just simply walk across our parking lot to our Neighborhood Grill, Applebee's.Whatever brings you to Sussex County, be sure to Stay Smart and stay at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites of Newton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newton Sparta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Newton Sparta
Holiday Inn Newton
Newton Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newton Sparta New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing