We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing, beautiful b&b with delicious Breakfast”
Review of Wooden Duck B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Wooden Duck B&B
Ranked #1 of 1 Newton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 July 2013

My husband, twelve year old son and I stayed at the Wooden Duck for two nights in July during a heat wave. It was an amazing experience and a wonderful change from our city trips. We enjoyed every minute of our stay and could have stayed at least two nights longer. Beth and Karl looked after all of us and made us an amazing breakfast every morning, which was a great start to our day. The pool was also very welcome and we also got to meet other guests. If you ever need time out from the city rush, go and visit these two lovely people in their quaint and squeaky clean B&B.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank misesipa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (416)
There are newer reviews for Wooden Duck B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

197 - 203 of 416 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2013

It's a little tucked away, but worth finding. The host/owners Beth & Karl are friendly, attentive and work hard to make guests welcome and comfortable. The wooden Duck provides a retro-charm, in carefully thought out decor and amenities, to encourage you to slow your pace. The surroundings are peaceful, the beds are comfortable, breakfast is delicious, and the dining room looks out over the in-ground pool. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Pintail Room; ideal for a couple traveling on their own.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Wooden Duck Bed and Breakfast for one night, but wish we could have stayed longer to take advantage of the lovely grounds, pool, and game room. The hospitality was the best I've ever experienced, with a guided tour of the common areas. The main house is impeccably immaculate, and our room in the carriage house was very comfortable. They didn't forget a single thing that a guest would need, right down to a special face-cloth for makeup removal, and a cozy bathrobe in the closet. The breakfast was terrific.....the best fresh fruit cup I've ever had, and the blueberry french toast, delicious.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ladyydoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Hated to leave! Visited for 2 nights during heat wave on east coast and stayed cool the whole time! We loved the gorgeous in-ground pool! We stayed in the "Bufflehead" room which was perfect-exactly as pictured on website. We enjoyed the "tub for two" in our room and it was probably nicest one we've ever had on a trip. Hosts Beth and Karl were very friendly and attended to our every need. Beth's breakfasts were divine-the blueberry French toast could have been a dessert it was so yummy! The B & B is in a very quiet location in the countryside but had plenty of places to dine at and visit nearby. We hope to return in the future. Thank you again Karl & Beth.

Room Tip: Debated about room choice but were very happy with Bufflehead. Although smaller it had everything we...
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debby5D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

The hosts at Wooden Duck B&B, Karl & Beth were very hospitable. The room was top notch, attention was paid to every detail. It was very clean, comfortable and spacious. The breakfast was absolutely delicious. We enjoyed swimming in the clean, refreshing outdoor pool and watching the hummingbirds and bluebirds. We highly recommend this B&B.

Room Tip: We stayed in the "Golden Eye" room, which is a corner room, very quiet and peaceful.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joseph F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013 via mobile

Great place to decompress from the high pace of the city. Nestled in a green Forrest within stones throw of a state park with miles of walking trails, this is a destination worth the drive.
Their new conference room can accommodate your team if you are planning a working retreat and the pool is refreshing with the background music of the visiting cicadas in the nearby park.
Highly recommended.

Stephen Seidel

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skypilot1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

We stayed at Wooden Duck B&B for one night and enjoyed every single minute of our time spent there. The house is beautifully situated near the Kittatinny Valley State Park which can be accessed by walking right from the B&B property. The house is clean, cozy and run by an amazing couple,Beth and Karl, who are very warm and hospitable. Beth provided us with the options for dinner and was very informative about the surrounding parks and places to visit. We chose to take a hike in the Kittatinny State Park and loved the scenic trail along the lake. We decided to have a dinner at Krave, as Beth suggested. Krave is an awesome BYOW cafe in Newton with modern flavor and intimate and romantic ambience. The food selection was unique and delicious. If you decide to go there, you should make a reservation. We ended up our day by swimming in a nice pool. The room we stayed at was very comfortable and cozy. The electric fireplace inserted in the wall, the soaking tub for two in a room, the mood light and fresh flowers in a tiny vase made our stay memorable. The delicious breakfast is served in a beautiful dining room with a view on the pool, trees, and the birdfeeder where you can see a hummingbird (!), a yellow finch and other kinds of birds. Kudos to Beth & Karl for putting so much time to little details and putting in their souls to make this place so lovely. After all, what makes B&B different from all other types of accomodations is the hosts. We would love to come back to this place one day.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yuliya V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newton
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newton Sparta
1.5 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#2 of 2 in Newton
54 reviews
13.6 mi away
Grand Cascades Lodge
Grand Cascades Lodge
#1 of 1 in Hamburg
1,842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 mi away
Bushkill Inn & Conference Center
10.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mount Arlington-Rockaway Area
4.2 mi away
Tamaracks Country Villa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wooden Duck B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wooden Duck B&B

Address: 140 Goodale Rd, Newton, NJ 07860-2788
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Newton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Newton
Price Range: £116 - £223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wooden Duck B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled among the rolling hills of rural Sussex County, New Jersey, The Wooden Duck Bed & Breakfast is an oasis of country pleasures. From the moment guests turn onto the quiet lane and winding drive leading to the inn, they are transported into a world of natural beauty and gracious hospitality. A hearty country breakfast is served in the dining room each morning, accompanied by juice, milk, and hot coffee or tea. The menu varies daily and begins with home-baked tea bread, coffee cake, or muffins, depending on the day. Fruit and breakfast meat, as well as French toast, pancakes, or a delectable egg casserole, complete the offering. Complimentary coffee, tea, soda, snacks, trail mix, and homemade chocolate chip cookies are also available anytime in the guest pantry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Wooden Duck B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wooden Duck B&B Newton, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing