We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blown away by the elegance and beauty”
Review of Wooden Duck B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Wooden Duck B&B
Ranked #1 of 1 Newton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
East Brunswick, New Jersey
1 review
“Blown away by the elegance and beauty”
Reviewed 3 June 2010

After reading the reviews and inspecting the property online, we were unsure of what to expect. After Barbara and I met both Beth and Karl, those worries were put to rest. Then came the tour of the property! Wow! A melding of both the sophisticated old - with all the modern comforts. That in itself was great! But there was more, both Beth and Karl treated us as though they had known us for a while and we immediately felt comfortable and relaxed, we got tips on what to see, where to go and had great conversation. The breakfasts are the best we have ever had - we are still talking about Beth's cooking! Definitely a place worthy of a return visit. Ask Karl about Andre's restaurant - excellent cuisine! If you only go to one B&B - this should be the one!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kglennw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    366
    22
    4
    4
    5
See reviews for
52
262
18
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Havre de Grace, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed 30 May 2010

The room was neat, clean and had a great view of the grounds. The meal was excellent, also.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lsilsby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramsey, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed 24 May 2010

If you want to relax, be pampered at breakfast time and enjoy the nature, this is the perfect place to be. Very warm and cozy environment. I will definitely come back with my husband.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maritere3167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 May 2010

Beth & Karl were fantastic hosts. We felt comfortable, welcome but with the appropriate level of privacy. The food was also wonderful. Great location right next to Kittany state park.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sfptsl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parsippany, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed 11 May 2010

We LOVE the Wooden Duck Inn! We have stayed in many B&B's all over the East coast, and the Wooden Duck has become our standard. This was our third stay in seven years, and we will likely keep coming back to celebrate special occasions for years to come.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen1172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocean City, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed 27 April 2010

We enjoyed the room. It was very peaceful and provided us with an escape after a busy family outing. It was relatively easy to find and settled in a remarkable landscaped area with an all natural setting certainly distinguishing it from our flat geography in South Jersey. The breakfast was very personal and absolutely delicious -- almost like it was prepared for our liking. Having access to cold drinks and munchies as well as a game room and fireplace gave it a real almost country feel unbroken by sounds of the city. Our stay was easy and very well addressed by the owners, and we would very likely return again.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mika1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
81 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2010

On an impulse (and after reading the tripadvisor reviews), I had my travel agent book me in the Wooden Duck Inn. I had business (and not very pleasant business with a dreaded task ahead) in Newton NJ and I usually stayed at the Holiday Inn Express. This was a great room, with ample parking, on a comfortable bed, in a beautiful and quiet setting. It had an awesome breakfast served (granola and yoghurt parfait; fresh baked bread, fritatta) and excellent coffee. I could be as social or private as desired, due to the various entrances (always a worry at a B&B). There were great touches like an inviting jigsaw puzzle, books and magazines, and my room had a hot tub and fireplace! Awesome. In addition, the hostess recommended (after listening to my preferences and style) two different restaurants and the closest bookstore - all "off the beaten track".

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank life2short
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newton
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newton Sparta
13.6 mi away
Grand Cascades Lodge
Grand Cascades Lodge
#1 of 1 in Hamburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,785 reviews
1.6 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#2 of 2 in Newton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.9 mi away
Hotel Fauchere
Hotel Fauchere
#1 of 6 in Milford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
15.4 mi away
Bushkill Inn & Conference Center
8.4 mi away
Whistling Swan Inn
Whistling Swan Inn
#1 of 1 in Stanhope
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wooden Duck B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wooden Duck B&B

Property: Wooden Duck B&B
Address: 140 Goodale Rd, Newton, NJ 07860-2788
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Newton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Newton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Wooden Duck B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled among the rolling hills of rural Sussex County, New Jersey, The Wooden Duck Bed & Breakfast is an oasis of country pleasures. From the moment guests turn onto the quiet lane and winding drive leading to the inn, they are transported into a world of natural beauty and gracious hospitality. A hearty country breakfast is served in the dining room each morning, accompanied by juice, milk, and hot coffee or tea. The menu varies daily and begins with home-baked tea bread, coffee cake, or muffins, depending on the day. Fruit and breakfast meat, as well as French toast, pancakes, or a delectable egg casserole, complete the offering. Complimentary coffee, tea, soda, snacks, trail mix, and homemade chocolate chip cookies are also available anytime in the guest pantry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Wooden Duck B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wooden Duck B&B Newton, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing