We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thoroughly enjoyed our stay”
Review of Wooden Duck B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Wooden Duck B&B
Ranked #1 of 1 Newton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 July 2010

This was our first time at a B&B and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We highly recommend The Wooden Duck. It far exceeded our expectations.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jbanks29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (419)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

368 - 374 of 419 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2010

When traveling on business, I always stay at The Wooden Duck Bed and Breakfast. The accommodations are clean, safe, and in a wonderful location surrounded by nature. A wonderful breakfast is served each morning. Beth and Karl are friendly and always helpful in dinner suggestions. I've discovered great restaurants with their guidance. It's definitely better than staying at a chain hotel!

Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
Thank Travelertristate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2010

The owners were very friendly and informative about the features of the inn the and area restaurants. We wish we had more time to stay in this quiet, picturesque part of New Jersey. The room was spacious, beds very comfortable, with direct tv, movies, bumper pool, swimming pool, and games available to use. As we found on our trip, not all B&Bs are as they appear in their photos, this one was immaculately clean and nicely decorated. The breakfast was terrific with home baked muffins and french toast casserole, sausage, and the best fresh fruit salad of our vacation. We highly recommend it! Close to the Poconos and N.Y.C.

Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank mlsharen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2010

Karl and Beth made us feel at home. The breakfasts are fabulous. The Wooden Duck is a special place where there is a balance between being social and having solitude. The rooms are elegant and cozy at the same time. We highly recommend this B and B to anyone who needs to get away from the busy side of life. The Kittatiny State Park is nearby where we hiked and relaxed. The Newton area has some nice shops and excellent restaurants. We ate at Andres and loved it .

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LarryDa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2010

The tragic death of my nephew brought myself and my children to the Wooden Duck Inn. My two adult daughters, son-in-law, and teenage son needed to travel to northern New Jersey for attend the services for my nephew/ their cousin. We were, of course, not in a festive vacation mode for our stay; however as soon as we pulled into the driveway of the Wooden Duck Inn I knew I had made a good choice.
The Inn is set in on a beautifully scenic plot of land off a wooded, rural road. The rooms were spacious, yet cozy. The decor throughout the Inn was absolutely georgeous. I so love a rustic, country type decor and the Wooden Duck fit the bill (no pun intended) to a tee.
From the moment we checked in; Beth (the owner) was warm and inviting. She knew the reason for our stay from the conversation we had when I made the reservations and she was very kind and sensitive to our situation.
By the time we returned to the Inn after the wake we were exhausted yet stressed. The soft lighting and mellow music soon relaxed us (the homemade chocolate chip cookies didn't hurt either). The beds were awesome and comfy best night's sleep I've had away from home.
Everything down to the last detail was meticulous.
The next morning, breaksfast was out of this world. Beth dazzled us with her culinary skills. The dining room had a glorious view over the pool and landscape. I'd return just to eat!
Although our stay was necessitated by a sad and tragic event. The atmosphere and charm and mostly Beth's kindness made our situation less stressful.
We will definitely return under happier circumstances.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katie2207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2010

I (we) have stayed at the Wooden Duck several times over the past few years and it has always been a very pleasant and relaxing experience. The rooms are very comfortable, the services and food excellent and the hosts, Beth and Karl, are first rate in every way. It is a beautiful, well-kept Inn, in a lovely, quiet location.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rudyhornish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2010

We had a very pleasant stay at the Wooden Duck B&B.
The room was spacious, and very comfortable. Screens on the windows, ya!
Breakfast was excellent!!!
My Granddaughter was thrilled with this kind of stay.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newton
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newton Sparta
13.6 mi away
Grand Cascades Lodge
Grand Cascades Lodge
#1 of 1 in Hamburg
1,848 reviews
1.5 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#2 of 2 in Newton
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 mi away
Bushkill Inn & Conference Center
10.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mount Arlington-Rockaway Area
8.4 mi away
Whistling Swan Inn
Whistling Swan Inn
#1 of 1 in Stanhope
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wooden Duck B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wooden Duck B&B

Address: 140 Goodale Rd, Newton, NJ 07860-2788
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Newton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Newton
Price Range: £119 - £225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wooden Duck B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled among the rolling hills of rural Sussex County, New Jersey, The Wooden Duck Bed & Breakfast is an oasis of country pleasures. From the moment guests turn onto the quiet lane and winding drive leading to the inn, they are transported into a world of natural beauty and gracious hospitality. A hearty country breakfast is served in the dining room each morning, accompanied by juice, milk, and hot coffee or tea. The menu varies daily and begins with home-baked tea bread, coffee cake, or muffins, depending on the day. Fruit and breakfast meat, as well as French toast, pancakes, or a delectable egg casserole, complete the offering. Complimentary coffee, tea, soda, snacks, trail mix, and homemade chocolate chip cookies are also available anytime in the guest pantry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Wooden Duck B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wooden Duck B&B Newton, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing