We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We'll be back”
Review of Wooden Duck B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Wooden Duck B&B
Ranked #1 of 1 Newton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 September 2010

My husband and I were looking for a quiet, cozy and romantic place to celebrate our anniversary. The Wooden Duck B&B exceeded our expectations. Owner Karl Krummel immediately made us feel welcome, and along with his wife Beth served up a delicious, filling breakfast in the morning. The lovely, well-maintained property is in a quiet country location...we even saw a doe walk past our window. The room itself was immaculate and had every amenity we expected -- and some we didn't, from the luxurious robes hanging in the closet to the fragrant bath salts at the edge of the huge, 2-person tub to the thick, fluffy towels. Although we have no control over the other guests, we were pleased that they were quiet and courteous. We've had far too many otherwise pleasant hotel stays elsewhere ruined by loud, obnoxious guests.

The room turned out to be much smaller than it appears in the website photo, which made the $259 (plus tax) fee a tad too pricey. However, the location, amenities, food and outstanding service make the cost well worth the stay. We'll definitely be back and highly recommend The Wooden Duck with no hesitation.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Soni63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (416)
There are newer reviews for Wooden Duck B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

358 - 364 of 416 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2010

We booked the inn through the internet for October 2nd, one night. The transaction went through. We then received a call from the innkeeper saying that he was "working on the site' (then take it down) and tried to get us to pay $100 more for the room!!! We were very disappointed, as the reviews were positive, but that is just bad business. You don't advertise at one price, then call and raise it $100.

Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
2  Thank pammyk88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kkrummel, Owner at Wooden Duck B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2010

My wife and I are retired and run this small business to make ends meet. We are apparently providing a good servise, at least based on the vast majority of reviews. We are not computer scientists and some of the reservation management programs are very complex. We ask, judge us on the quality of a stay at the Wooden Duck, not on the basis of someone trying to take advantage of a computer error.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2010

Absolutely gorgeous. Perfect spot to get away from the busy city and noise. Pitch black at night; makes for a cozy night in. Wonderful fresh air. Short drive away from the convenient down town area

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank navarrc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2010

Beautiful property---great hosts--wonderful rooms---such comfy beds---and super breakfasts!

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grandmaNewOrleansLa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2010

The Wooden Duck has always been an incomparably comfortable place to stay; but since Beth & Karl Krummel took over the proprietorship about five years ago, it is even more inviting. The rooms and suites are cozy and well-appointed but without the ambient frou-frou so characteristic of many B & Bs. Beth and Karl are the perfect hosts, always willing to engage in spirited conversation or to recommend restaurants or sight-seeing possibilities in the area. And Beth's incredibly delicious and generous country breakfasts are always a highlight of our stay.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ArtfulDiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2010

Our room was spacious & comfortable. The entire house was beautifully decorated and nothing was 'off limits" to the guests. The wooded location was pastoral. We enjoyed the frequent visits from the deer. After a long day of bike riding the beautiful pool was a wonderful bonus. Our hosts were so accomodating that we felt bad when it came time to leave. The breakfasts were of "5-star" quality and I am disappointed that we failed to take advantage of the "botomless cookie jar" during our stay.
Bike trails that were the purpose of our vacation were VERY close to the Wooden Duck.
Our hosts also did a wonderful job of recommending places for a good meal at local eateries.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DragonDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2010

We had a spacious room that was clean, comfortable, cozy. Owner Beth and Karl were wonderful hosts and cooked scrumptious breakfasts. Small pool was an added plus; good for a dip since it was so hot. Location in northern NJ is good if you have an event going on in the area or you like to do outdoorsy things in the neighboring parks. Near antique shops and local minor league baseball stadium.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suechinl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newton
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newton Sparta
13.6 mi away
Grand Cascades Lodge
Grand Cascades Lodge
#1 of 1 in Hamburg
1,843 reviews
15.4 mi away
Bushkill Inn & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#2 of 2 in Newton
54 reviews
10.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mount Arlington-Rockaway Area
4.2 mi away
Tamaracks Country Villa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wooden Duck B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wooden Duck B&B

Address: 140 Goodale Rd, Newton, NJ 07860-2788
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Newton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Newton
Price Range: £117 - £227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wooden Duck B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled among the rolling hills of rural Sussex County, New Jersey, The Wooden Duck Bed & Breakfast is an oasis of country pleasures. From the moment guests turn onto the quiet lane and winding drive leading to the inn, they are transported into a world of natural beauty and gracious hospitality. A hearty country breakfast is served in the dining room each morning, accompanied by juice, milk, and hot coffee or tea. The menu varies daily and begins with home-baked tea bread, coffee cake, or muffins, depending on the day. Fruit and breakfast meat, as well as French toast, pancakes, or a delectable egg casserole, complete the offering. Complimentary coffee, tea, soda, snacks, trail mix, and homemade chocolate chip cookies are also available anytime in the guest pantry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Wooden Duck B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wooden Duck B&B Newton, New Jersey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing