We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not bad” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Super 8 North Bergen NJ/NYC Area

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Super 8 North Bergen NJ/NYC Area
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in North Bergen
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not bad”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

If you are looking for a cheap, clean but not luxurious hotel near to downtown Manhattan, this is the hotel for you. Basic but sufficient facilities.
rooms are clean and big enough for two travelers. Microwave, coffee maker, air conditioner, hot water, and best of all: a private bathroom.
The iron was not good, I got it to work so it was useful, I but I hoped it was better.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank Magdymi02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,064 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    449
    297
    86
    97
See reviews for
400
314
53
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

By husband and I stayed here in October of 2013 while we visited NYC for the first time. We had a small mix-up with the airline and our baggage didn't arrive with us, but was delivered the next morning and the staff were tremendous in providing essentials and taking care of our baggage when it did arrive. We had a room with a king size bed that was super comfortable. The room was clean and we didn't hear anything from surrounding rooms. The shuttle into the city comes regularly right outside the hotel and takes you right downtown NY for a cost of $2 a person. The drivers of the shuttle were also very helpful. (I have to note that the shuttles themself aren't in the best of shape and probably not for the faint of heart). There's a strip mall with grocery store and restaurants within walking distance. All in all, we enjoyed our stay at the Super 8 in North Bergen.

Room Tip: Be sure to specify smoking or non-smoking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Bergen
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

I specifically requested NON SMOKING as I was traveling with a child, and got a smoking room. The room smelled sooooo horrible! It was clean however. The walls were super thin, so my child and I could hear EVERYTHING going on next door, our tv had to be turned up! No plug for the tub so no bath for my baby. The shower wasn't functional as half the water still poured oout of the tap and half from the shower head. Breakfast room was soo tiny and overcrowded we had to skip breakfast. Like that a bus picks you up right at the door to take you to NYC.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank Jessica P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, New York
Level Contributor
220 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

This was our fourth visit to this hotel as we visit the NYC Auto show each year. The check in process was smooth, as usual, and the room was also clean and well stocked too. Two things made this trip a disappointment. There were four adults staying in one room and sleeping on two queen beds. The pillows were small and flimsy this year. The first night we made do and got by fine. The second night I called down to the front desk and asked for four more pillows so we could double up and sleep more comfortably. They ended up bringing three more pillows to the room, which I must say were better pillows, but they refused to bring us a fourth. The man at the front desk only responded back with "we had exceeded our limit on pillows" and we could not get a fourth pillow. My response back to him was @ if you had given us good pillows in the first place, we wouldn't have had to double up in the first place. The other problem was there was no hot water in our room the second morning. One of us got a luke warn shower and the other three had to wait for the maintenance man to re-fire the boiler. 20 minutes later, we had hot water. This place got the job done in the end, but it was not a good experience. You DO NOT the customer "no" when they make a reasonable request, such as extra pillows.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
1 Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryans Road
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

....comments about how remote and inconvenient the location of this motel was; we found it to be great and a very good value! Okay, it's not the Ritz....it's just a very clean and comfortable place to rest after a long day in the city. The shuttle to the PATH station on 42nd street was no more than a 20 minute ride. Make sure that you know where to get off on the return trip. You get dropped off up the hill from the motel. I'd suggest cutting through to the rear of the Sonic. You'll see a set of steps behind a little playground that lead into the stand alone portion of the motel. The PATH station offers a convenient access to the E train. One stop south you can get off to visit MSG and the Empire State Building. Go south to the end of the line (WTC) and you are near the 9/11 Memorial. Of course if you exit the PATH on 42nd St. you are just a few blocks from Times Square/Theatre District. That's convenience to me! We had a 2 queen suite that was very comfortable. Plenty of room to spread out for our group of 3. The only complaint I had was waiting for hot water in the morning. It was fine at night. Would definitely stay here again!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank DLPinMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kharry_13, Guest Relations Manager at Super 8 North Bergen NJ/NYC Area, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Hello sir,
It was our pleasure having you stay with us, and thank you for your review. We were delighted your stay was very convenient and comfortable. We do hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Bergen
0.1 mi away
Meadowlands View Hotel
Meadowlands View Hotel
#3 of 8 in North Bergen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express North Bergen - Lincoln Tunnel
0.9 mi away
Comfort Suites North Bergen
Comfort Suites North Bergen
#2 of 8 in North Bergen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Red Roof PLUS+ Secaucus/Meadowlands
1.0 mi away
Meadowlands River Inn
Meadowlands River Inn
#2 of 15 in Secaucus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 654 reviews
3.3 mi away
Ramada Jersey City
Ramada Jersey City
#7 of 13 in Jersey City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 North Bergen NJ/NYC Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 North Bergen NJ/NYC Area

Property: Super 8 North Bergen NJ/NYC Area
Address: 2800 Columbia Ave, 495 East & Lincoln Tunnel Rd, North Bergen, NJ 07047-2217
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > North Bergen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in North Bergen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 North Bergen NJ/NYC Area 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Super 8 North Bergen NJ/NYC Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 North Bergen Hotel North Bergen
Super Eight North Bergen
North Bergen Super Eight
North Bergen Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing