We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express North Bergen - Lincoln Tunnel
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in North Bergen
Reviewed 17 June 2014

The hotel was close to the city and the staff was nice. The rooms were small and smelled funny. In fact, we had to switch rooms because the smell of the first room was really irritating our sinuses. The nice girl at the front desk was happy to help us, and even checked the new room with us to make sure it was better. It was. The breakfast was plentiful, with good choices. It looked like they were working to renovate the hotel, and maybe it will have a "cleaner" feel when they are done. It was less than I expected, as far as quality, from a Holiday Inn Express. There was a shuttle, not affiliated with the hotel, that provided transportation to Times Square and back for $12 per adult. It was convenient, although the driver was a little less cautious than I prefer.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmslicker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express North Bergen - Lincoln Tunnel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear jmslicker,

Thank you for the candid review. It is nice to know that after some initial issues with your accommodations, our staff was able to sort these out and allowed you to enjoy your stay. We are very glad that you liked our complimentary breakfast as well.

As a valued guest, we are very thankful for your feedback as this helps us gauge what we are doing right, and what we can improve on. We would love for another opportunity in serving you again.

Kind Regards,

Tracy V.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (573)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

215 - 221 of 573 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2014

We (two adults, two teenagers) stayed here for one night in April, especially so that we could get into the city quickly the next morning. I had been put off a bit in advance by a couple of reviews about staff who were indifferent. THE STAFF was excellent! The men at the front desk the night we arrived could not have been more helpful! The Manager, Hina, was equally solicitous the next morning.

The room was totally up to HI Express standards, the breakfast was quite good, and the location was excellent. The price was extremely reasonable compared to similar hotels in the neighborhood.

I would positively stay here again - in fact I plan to return in July.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TourProDon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Staff was friendly,, "continental" breakfast was just ok,, room could've been nicer for the price. Room smelled of fresh paint the entire time we spent in the room, and it wasn't enough a good painting no,, paint was splattered all over the bathroom door,, poor job! $12.99/per person per day for the round trip shuttle was nice to offer.. But honestly book in the city if you plan to go just for NYC.. what you think you'll save, you're spending on everything else. Trust me,, just book in the city and save yourself the experience booking here. :(

Room Tip: Just save and spend to stay in the city someone nicer!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Amanda I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express North Bergen - Lincoln Tunnel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2014

Dear Amanda I,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your stay with us. It is unfortunate that we weren't able to deliver based on your expectations particularly with the condition of the room you were given and if the breakfast served was less than satisfactory. Please be assured that the points you have raised are noted and will be addressed accordingly to ensure similar instances do not happen again in the future.

Again, thank you for your review and our apologies for the inconvenience.

Regards,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We stayed here for a few days in April. It's a hotel, nothing more, nothing less but for the price I felt it was worth it. The only thing I think could be updated are the beds, not terrible but if you are picky about your bed it could be a problem. Our room was clean and quiet, the common areas were clean. There were plenty of choices for breakfast and plenty of room for seating. The front desk staff and breakfast staff were pleasant. If you are on a budget, this hotel is a good place to stay to save money. Even after paying the tolls and for parking in NYC I think we saved at least $150 a night by staying here.

My recommendation if you are visiting this hotel with plans to visit NYC would be to take advantage of the shuttle service (not run by hotel but does pick up there). We chose to drive into the city and between the tolls and parking ended up paying what we would have for the shuttle for four people, plus had the hassle of trying to remember where we parked. My other recommendation has nothing to do with the hotel, but make a plan for what you want to see in NYC. There is a line for everything so go buy your tickets and then go see other things while you are waiting for your "ticketed time" ex: Top of the Rock, 9/11 Memorial.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wantaquietcleanhotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Really was surprised because we've stayed at many Holiday Inns. We rented 2 rooms and both were very disappointing. First one had no shower curtain,but couldn't be used because it smelled so bad!! Like dirty socks!the second one had a shower curtain but when we took a shower the water wouldn't go down. There was no closet in this room. The whole room stunk like stale cigarettes,but we were assured the whole building was non-smoking. They wouldn't give us reward points on our card. When I went to the front desk this woman was on the phone yelling and never(Never)acknowledged me. She was too busy yelling at someone in Spanish. I sat in lobby for a long time and she never asked me what I wanted. Very rude!! Plenty of other place to stay close to there. Take a few minutes to find. I have never been treated so bad!!!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
8  Thank LuAnn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express North Bergen - Lincoln Tunnel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2014

Dear LuAnn A,

Thank you for staying with us and for bringing this to our attention. We are very sorry to hear about your experience on your recent stay. We would like to address your experience further, and have sent you an email with additional details.

Thank you again for your comments and for staying with us.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

I took my family to visit new York City last year for a family vacation. The Hotel was just outside New York and was extremely convenient for us to go back and forth to New York.
I have to admit that I saw several reviews that were disturbing as to the hospitality of the Holiday inn family. Some of the reviews had pictures of the walls falling apart and the staff not taking care of the hoteI. However, I usually travel on a weekly basis and always stay at the Holiday Inns in other places. So, when I saw the disturbing reviews I decided to experience this Holiday Inn in North Bergen, New Jersey and see if those pictures and the words were true in the review.
As usual, the hotel was very clean, the people at the hotel were extremely polite and the managers were very courtious.
The hotel is located about 20 minutes from the New Jersey Airport in Newark. We took the bus to the central station and then took another bus two blocks from the hotel and only had to pay about 3 dollars per person instead of 80.00 taxi cab.
To go to New York, we paid 4 dollars one way. All we had to do was go to the street and wait for a bus. The buses arrived every 5 minutes 24 hours a day.
To make this story short, please go to this hotel. The staff is absolutely ready to please you and to serve you. The hotel is clean and they serve free breakfast every day. From San Diego California. Ismael

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank ismael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We stayed at this hotel when we visited New York. We were a family of four, so we needed to find something affordable, and unfortunately it would have been extremely costly for us to stay in Manhattan.

The hotel is clean, and is a very standard looking Holiday Inn Express. The rooms were good, clean and modern. The surrounds are not great looking as it seems like an industrial area around there, but we only slept at the hotel and every day we went in to New York city.

The hotel has an outsourced shuttle company that you can use, it leaves every hour to Times Square, however the earliest shuttle back is at 7pm from Times Square. In September 2013 the cost of the shuttle was $4/person each way, and $7/person if you bought a return ticket.

The hotel staff were very unfriendly and very unhelpful. I would think twice about returning to this hotel, but that is only because of the unfriendly and rude staff members. Everything else about the hotel was OK.

Beware of the taxi cab drivers from the airport, ensure you understand the cost up front as we were conned on more occasion into paying more than we needed to.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LizaAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express North Bergen - Lincoln Tunnel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2014

Dear LizaAnn,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am delighted to read your positive feedback about our modern, clean and comfortable room accommodation. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product. However, it seems that we were not able to execute an exemplary hotel stay experience with regard to our staff services. We want our guest to have a pleasant and professional experience when interacting with our staff. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience it may have caused you. Your comments has been forwarded to the hotel management and we are confident they will take corrective actions to improve our guest experience.

We know you have many choices when it comes to lodging and we hope you will continue to choose IHG for your travel needs.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Bergen
0.1 mi away
Best Western Premier NYC Gateway Hotel
0 mi away
Meadowlands View Hotel
Meadowlands View Hotel
#5 of 9 in North Bergen
647 reviews
0.7 mi away
Quality Suites
Quality Suites
#3 of 9 in North Bergen
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hyatt Place Secaucus/Meadowlands
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Secaucus / Meadowlands
1.4 mi away
Sheraton Lincoln Harbor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express North Bergen - Lincoln Tunnel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express North Bergen - Lincoln Tunnel

Address: 2600 Tonnelle Ave, North Bergen, NJ 07047-2215
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > North Bergen
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in North Bergen
Price Range: £79 - £198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express North Bergen - Lincoln Tunnel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express offers a first-class hotel experience in the heart of the New York Metro area. This North Bergen hotel is minutes from New York University, Continental Airlines Arena, the Empire State Building, Jacob K. Javits Convention Center and Columbia University. The Newark Liberty International Airport is 10 miles away. The hotel is easily accessible from Route 1, Route 9, Route 3 and the New Jersey Turnpike. Newark Penn Station is also close to the hotel. Manhattan and New York City are minutes away via the Lincoln Tunnel, Holland Tunnel and George Washington Bridge. Greenwich Village, Madison Square Garden Arena, Times Square and Broadway are also nearby. This North Bergen hotel features a daily free, hot, Continental breakfast buffet. Additional amenities include free local calls, free weekday newspaper and free coffee. Guests will also enjoy the 24-hour exercise room and outdoor pool. Business travelers will appreciate conveniences like free high-speed Internet access in the room and access to copy and fax services. Our meeting room can accommodate up to 20 people for most events and business functions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express North Bergen - Lincoln Tunnel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express North Bergen - Lincoln Tunnel Hotel North Bergen
Palace Hotel New Jersey
Holiday Inn Express Lincoln Tunnel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing