We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy New York Access”
Review of Quality Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Quality Suites
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in North Bergen
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
73 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Easy New York Access”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

I read mixed reviews of this hotel, but booked it anyway. I have a dread fear of driving into the city of New York. I planned to go to the Metropolitan Museum of art on 5th Avenue and 86th Street, see the show After Midnight at 8th Avenue and 45th Street and Columbia Heights in Brooklyn. From this hotel , I drove to the park and ride and paid $9.00 to enter the lot and included a round trip ticket on the bus to Port Authority. I decided to drive to Brooklyn (it took about 40 minutes) The hotel was helpful and clean. The neighborhood is an industrial area, but has a nice Italian restaurant hooked onto it. There are plenty of restaurants if you drive into Bergen. My only complaint is that if you are an evening bather as I am, there was no hot water at night. The morning breakfast was varied and good.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Terri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComfortSuitesNJ, General Manager at Quality Suites, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

VIVIAN PEREIRA
GM
COMFORT SUITES
2013920008
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    155
    62
    32
    30
See reviews for
156
72
11
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sidney, ME
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

First of all the hotel was a lot nicer than expected. Recently upgraded rooms with new bedding. Beds are pretty comfortable, but if your staying with someone else in the room you will hear every time they move -- the comforter sounds like paper crinkling!

PERFECT location! Only 10 min from time square. Not much to do walking distance around the hotel though.

The hotel staff is less than helpful and pretty much down right rude. We booked a 6 person room and once we got to the hotel, ended up being charged an extra $10/person per night! There were only 5 of us in a 4 person room!!! When asked why we were pretty much yelled at and told this $10 covers breakfast. I thought the breakfast was complimentary?!?! It is def not worth the $10!

Since this was our first time to the NY/NJ area we decided to take the shuttle the hotel offers. I went to the front desk and asked the young lady up front how it worked...do we buy tickets from the shuttle of from the actual hotel? Not realizing she was on her cell phone, I had to wait on her for 5 minutes to be done her personal convo to be helped.

I would avoid the shuttle at all cost. It's not very clean and it's 1st come 1st serve so your not guaranteed a spot. The last shuttle picks you up in Times Square at 11 PM. If too many people are on the bus or you didn't end up buying a round trip ticket, you will get stranded in the middle on NYC like we did. spend the extra $$ on a cab!

I will not be returning to this hotel for our next trip.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Maegan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComfortSuitesNJ, General Manager at Quality Suites, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Sincerely,

VIVIAN PEREIRA
GM
COMFORT SUITES
2013920008
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these North Bergen hotels

Andreas, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Myself and My Wife, as well as another couple (friends of ours) stayed here this weekend on our Christmas trip to NYC. We checked in Saturday afternoon, dropped our bags, and went right into NYC. Upon arriving back to the hotel around midnight, we were excited to use the hot tub in our room --- Only to find the water to be completely yellow as we began filling the tub... Both of our rooms (2 floors apart) expierenced the same water issue. After calling the Front Desk, we were told it was too late to do anything about it tonight, and that there was no one who was able to come up to check. (Wished we would have thought to take a picture of the yellow water, but after that, started taking pictures of the other issues).We continued running water, and finally the third time we filled the tub, it had cleared up. Unfortunatley, only 2 of the many jets in the tub were actually working. The next morning upon Check Out, we explained the situation again, and were told since there was no proof, and the water wasn't yellow anymore that no credit would be offered (even though when we tried to have them come up and check, they refused). The only thing they offered was to have the manager call us Monday.

For the most part, the room decor and bed were nice --- but there were numerous other issues we continued to find, that led me to the conclusion that we will NEVER stay here again.

1) Pictured on the website is a Whirlpool Room with a large 2-person heart shaped tub in the room... Unfortunatley, our room, had a small - 1-person kidney bean shaped tub, and our friends room had a 2-person older pink rectangler tub --- Neither the one advertised for the room we chose and paid for. (see pictures)

2) The Room Itself --- The bathroom tub/shower was old and broken, and the toliet was dirty! The carpet had something sticky mashed into it, and there was an electrical outlet in front of the bed mattress that was not covered and hanging out of the wall! (see pictures).

3) They are renovating a room on the 5th floor, and had all of the hallway smoke detectors covered and taped (illegal?). (see picture)

4) The hot breakfast consisted of lunch meat ham slices, and hard boiled eggs, both submerged in hot water... (see picture)

After not receiving a call this morning (Monday) from the manager, I called him directly... After 2 phone calls, and a fight back and forth, I was finally able to get him to offer us a 20% credit on what we paid for the rooms... I don't see how this is acceptable to charge someone for a room that was 1) clearly not clean and safe to be occupied, 2) Wasn't the room advertised, and 3) The whirlpool was feature that we paid over $50 extra for over the regular room, wasn't even usable! I believe at least 50% if not more, of the room charge should be refunded for the many inconvieniences, and will be calling Choice Hotels directly - because we will NEVER stay here again.

Still waiting for the manager's promised confirmation e-mail and proof of the 20% credit --- so we'll see if it ever shows up on credit card???

Room Tip: Whirlpools room are not as advertised - and do NOT have the 2-person heart shaped tub as shown on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Benjamin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComfortSuitesNJ, General Manager at Quality Suites, responded to this review, 24 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.

As agreed, when you had called, we did give you a 20% discount for both rooms and the emails were sent for the same.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Sincerely,

VIVIAN PEREIRA
GM
COMFORT SUITES
2013920008
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niagara Falls, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013

I will start with the pros:
Very close to Times Square 10 min drive
Free breakfast included, good selection
Comfortable beds
Good size rooms
Room equipped with a fridge
Great economical stay for a family to visit NYC!

cons:
Would have liked hot chocolate as a breakfast option
Shuttle to Manhattan is way too expensive at $14 round trip per person, for a family of 4 cost is $56
Our first night I cranked up the heat on the highest possible setting but yet it was still cool in the room
There is only 1 elevator, we often took the stairs

My tip for transportation to Manhattan:
Go to the Park & Ride North Bergen and take the NJ Transit Bus to Port Authority on 42nd st (2 blocks from Times Square) only cost us $27.50 for a family of 4. It's located 2 minutes away from the hotel and the hours are better than the shuttle as it runs til 1am compared to the last shuttle being 11pm. Once you board the bus it takes you straight there with no stops to pick up anyone else where as the shuttle has 2 additional stops at 2 other hotels.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank FP7020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComfortSuitesNJ, General Manager at Quality Suites, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Hello,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey. Feedback from our guests is very important to us and your input helps with our continuing efforts to provide excellent service and a great stay.

Thank you so much for your business and we look forward to seeing you in the future.

Kind Regards,

VIVIAN PEREIRA
GM
COMFORT SUITES
2013920008
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

I may have a bad time visiting this hotel when their elevator was 'broken'. Well they said it was not completely broken as it is still operational until 4th floor, where my room unfortunately in 5th floor... I am lucky travelling with my husband as he is the one carrying our suitcase (for three person) using the stairs, as I carying our food bags.
What I am dissapointed is, I do always request to have a higher floor room because I don't like to hear people 'walking' above my room whenever I booked a hotel room. But that night, when we politely asked if there is another room to the reception, they said they don't have, and she mention that 'someone has requested to have a higher floor room so we prepare that room for you'. That is when I said "I did not request a broken elevator". I am upset because she said that, instead of only apologise for their broken elevator..
The room itself was spacey.. I had a fully operational refrigerator, microwave, coffee-maker, perfect for my family need. However, I think the room need upgrades. It smells when I entering the room, I think the smells come from the toilet. The room also has a dusty dusty smells and feels old.. (I tried to be objective here, not because my experience with the receptionist).
Breakfast was fine, a standard hotel breakfast.
I still give them 2 stars because it was close to NYC, and a better deal compare to NYC pricey hotels. But if I had to visit NJ again, I will choose another hotel.
I hope you have a better luck with this hotel, hopefully they solve their elevator problem soon.

Room Tip: Ask if they had fixed their elevator!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Utamie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComfortSuitesNJ, General Manager at Quality Suites, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Sincerely,

VIVIAN PEREIRA
GM
COMFORT SUITES
2013920008
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

I had booked this hotel with an online vendor for 3 nights. I had changed my check in date one day later. I modified it within the time before any penalties could occur. When I came to check in, they did not have my reservation! The manager on duty asked if I had a confirmation number. She had it in her hand when I said I was here to check in. After checking on her computer, she said the modified reservation wasn't in her system. The original reservation was in the system but they considered it a no show and cancelled my entire reservation. They said it was the online vendor's fault and there's nothing they could do.

I asked if they had any rooms available and was told they were booked full. I had to ask if they could help find a different hotel then since having a confirmation here means nothing. The manager had said if we had booked directly with them, then my reservation would have been guaranteed.

After I returned home, I noticed they charged me the first night as a no show. I called the hotel and explained what happened and how they didn't have my room and never even stayed there and was still charged for something that was not my fault. I was told that the charge has been released out of their system and should be credited in about 5-7 business days. Couple weeks went by and I remembered to check to see if that charge was credited back and it's still there. I talked to the general manager and he said he would check in to it. That was almost a week ago. He hasn't replied to any email or voicemail I left asking about any updates on this matter.

After this fiasco, I will not recommend this hotel to anyone. Just because you have a confirmation number, doesn't mean you even have a room at this place.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank oceanblue1215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComfortSuitesNJ, General Manager at Quality Suites, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at Comfort Suites.

Allow me to apologize on behalf of our hotel for failing to meet your expectations regarding your recent reservation. As we had spoken, we had requested for some time to find as to why the change in your reservation did not come through our system at our end and it went as a no-show. We are still looking into this and need time to respond to you accordingly.

Again, thank you for your time and valuable feedback. We sincerely appreciate it and hope you will give us another chance to provide you with superior service and accommodations on your next visit to North Bergen.

Kind Regards,

VIVIAN PEREIRA
GM
COMFORT SUITES
2013920008
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trieste, Italy
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

15 minutes far from Port Authority Bus Terminal (gate 51) in New York by bus (3.- USD). So the hotel is well located. And cheap, compared to most of the hotels around. Comfy huge bed, mostly highly clean. And quiet, despite the main road where it sits. Good, vary and rich breakfast. The staff was nice, even if they didn't tell me about the cheapest bus, they didn't give me a plug adaptor and they didn't give me the room I actually booked and paid for (the one with the kitchen...)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna1982_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ComfortSuitesNJ, General Manager at Quality Suites, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

VIVIAN PEREIRA
GM
COMFORT SUITES
2013920008
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Bergen
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express North Bergen - Lincoln Tunnel
0.8 mi away
Meadowlands View Hotel
Meadowlands View Hotel
#4 of 8 in North Bergen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Premier NYC Gateway Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Sheraton Lincoln Harbor Hotel
1.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Secaucus Meadowlands
2.4 mi away
Ramada Jersey City
Ramada Jersey City
#7 of 14 in Jersey City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,075 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Suites

Property: Quality Suites
Address: 1200 Tonnelle Ave, North Bergen, NJ 07047-1519 (Formerly Comfort Suites North Bergen)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > North Bergen
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in North Bergen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites North Bergen Hotel North Bergen
North Bergen Comfort Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing