We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Food Good Times” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Harpoons on the Bay

Harpoons on the Bay
Price range: US$5 - US$25
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Cheap Eats, Groups, Kids, Local cuisine, View, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Situated directly on the Delaware Bay with sunsets to die for, at Harpoon's on the Bay, you'll have to agree you've found paradise! We offer over 250 frozen drinks from our full bar. A tropical delight awaits your arrival. If that isn't enough to tempt you, the food is great and the service is friendly. We have plenty of free parking and a giant sandbox for the kids! Our umbrella tables are dog friendly. With outdoor and indoor, air-conditioned seating for 300 and three bars, everyone has a great time at Harpoon Henry's. Entertainment nightly and a conch blowing sunset celebration. Everyone knows this is the happening place to be. Offering "Harpoon Healthy" options & some gluten free items - ask your server for details. Play "Corn Hole" while you wait!
Somerset, New Jersey
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good Food Good Times”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

This is probably the most happening restaurant/bar in the Cape May area. There is a small outdoor tiki type bar and a larger bar indoors that had live music. You can toss bean bags into the cornholes while your waiting for your table or sit at the bar. It seemed forever to get a table and we even thought they forgot about us (three drinks later) and had to ask the hostess if our buzzer was working. But our experienced server was great (Mary?) and the food was worth the wait also. The next best thing to being in the islands. All they needed was a steel drum band and a happier crowd and it would have been perfect. We were hoping to get there early enough to get a sunset view dinner but we missed out because it took them so long to seat us. They pushed two bigger groups ahead of us ($$$) which I thought wasn't right. I guess they needed the table space.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rich P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    100
    50
    22
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, NJ
Level Contributor
73 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Summer Fun...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

This is not a swanky restaurant and is not intended to be, we have been here before with our kids and absolutely love the 5 star view of the Delaware Bay. This is the real summer shore experience, having a meal on the outdoor deck with a cool evening breeze, good music, fresh seafood, fun staff and cold beer. On our last visit I had a Broiled Seafood Combo of shrimp, scallops and flounder it was very fresh and well prepared, My wife had the Broiled Stuffed Mahi Mahi, also very tasty a well prepared. I would highly recommend stopping here for a fun night out with a spectacular few.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank geewoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scranton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
66 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Disappointing Experience”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

Normally when we are looking for a great seafood meal in Cape May, we head to the Lobster House. Last minute, we decided to try something new and headed to Harpoon Henry's. We were first turned off by the atmosphere. We sat out in the deck area, but the tent and decor is outdated and we were very close to the other tables. We enjoyed the live music, but we were seated next to the hostess area and workers who were standing less than five feet away staring at us. The food was just blah and we felt very rushed. There are not many menu choices, either, which we were surprised at. My boyfriend's seafood dinner was mediocre and my chicken was unappetizing. Maybe we were there on a bad night, but regardless we will not return.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank disneydreamer4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great view but menu is lacking”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

This is a great place to go to view the fabulous sunsets over the Delaware Bay. However, the menu consists of uninspired barfood. We chose what appeared to be the most interesting item on the menu which was a fish sandwich, noted to be "just like the Keys." It was closer to a McDonald's Filet O'Fish. We like the place and the atmosphere. However, we would rather stick to the drink menu the next time we go.

Helpful?
Thank Debra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westchester, NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“A good move for Henry's”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Harpoon Henry's in North Cape May is a fun restaurant with live music, 3 different rooms, and a great view of the sunset. The food was good, nice beer selection, parking was easy. We used to go to Henry's on the Beach, which was right on the beach in Cape May. The owners closed it and moved here. This location is off the beaten path in North Cape May but worth a trip.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank thefranchise41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Harpoons on the Bay also viewed

 
Cape May, Cape May County
 

Been to Harpoons on the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing