We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK stay for the money” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Howard Johnson Express Inn - North Plainfield

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Howard Johnson Express Inn - North Plainfield
Lancaster
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“OK stay for the money”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

It appeared this HJ was being renovated. Not sure if they were done. The location was great for us. The people were nice. Everyday of our stay they forgot something, shower curtain, wash cloths, hand towels, clothes bag. No hair dryer. Chair was broken.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
1 Thank Roxanna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pooja69, General Manager at Howard Johnson Express Inn - North Plainfield, responded to this review, 12 October 2013
Hello Roxanna R,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We apologize for any inconvenience that you had during your stay at our hotel.

The entire property was renovated just recently, and we have ongoing preventative maintenance at the hotel. Unfortunately, due to rare circumstances, you encountered these issues. We have taken your comments very seriously, and have had our maintenance staff pay closer attention to this particular situation. Many times as a manager and hotel team we are unable to notice these issues where our valuable guest able to help us.

Please excuse us this time as we are doing our best everyday to provide the best for our guests. We will improve our mistakes and make sure they are not repeated again for future. We hope to see you again at our hotel soon. We appreciate your comments. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    31
    33
    27
    49
See reviews for
53
25
14
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
North Plainfield, New Jersey
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

very rude management......mice....mice....mice....nasssssssty place....do not stay ever....the management do even care whether you stay or not....i stay in hotels 6 months out of the year and never experienced such bad / rude lodging.....however the price happen to be right for working up north...but none the less this not how they would want to be treated........

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these North Plainfield hotels

North Plainfield, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013 via mobile

Very nice rooms. Very clean. Update furniture. New comfy bed. Slept well. Big flat screen tvs. Not what you would expect from a hojo. Well worth it. Only problem is the ac cuts on and off numerous times throughout the night. This could be a programming issue or the layout of the room.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

I will never stay there again.I will inform my family and friends of the conditions there.We had reservations for a double room,We get to the room,it was a king bed which we NEVER reserve.No hook on bathroom door,rumpled bed linen.NOW the biggie,ROACHES,YES ROACHES.I am still in prayer not to have bought them home.They have a four slice toaster only two slices worked.They were informed about this on 7/29/13.I checked out on 8/1/13. Surely they could have replaced the 10.00 or less toaster.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
1 Thank Adeline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Plainfield
6.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Murray Hill Hotel & Suites
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn South Plainfield - Piscataway
Holiday Inn South Plainfield - P...
#2 of 4 in South Plainfield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hampton Inn South Plainfield-Piscataway
Hampton Inn South Plainfield-Pis...
#1 of 4 in South Plainfield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Extended Stay America - Piscataway - Rutgers University
5.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Westfield Inn
6.8 mi away
Courtyard Basking Ridge
Courtyard Basking Ridge
#3 of 4 in Basking Ridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Express Inn - North Plainfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Express Inn - North Plainfield

Property: Howard Johnson Express Inn - North Plainfield
Address: 1025 Route 22 West, West End Avenue, North Plainfield, NJ 07060
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > North Plainfield
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in North Plainfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Express Inn - North Plainfield 2*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
10 miles from New York City, Manhattan. 10 Miles from MetLife Stadium, SuperBowl 2014. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Howard Johnson Express Inn - North Plainfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Inn - North Plainfield Hotel North Plainfield
Howard Johnson North Plainfield
North Plainfield Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing