We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our favorite place in N. Wildwood!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Golden Rail Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Golden Rail Motel
Ranked #18 of 41 Hotels in North Wildwood
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia, PA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our favorite place in N. Wildwood!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013

The Golden Rail has become our go to place at the shore! It is always clean, the owners are always accommodating, and the pool area is beautiful and relaxing. The location can't be beat!! We usually get a promo with bedroom and kitchenette which has everything we need for our seat! The heated pool is immaculate, and there is always enough lounge chairs to go around! The best part of the pool area is the umbrella table to have a nice snack/meal at!! Overall, Rocco and Susan can look forward to seeing us many times in the future!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laidbackkeywestlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    10
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
27
6
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2013

Wonderful family/couples motel just one block off beach and boardwalk. Very clean. Onsite owners do their best to help guests feel welcome and safe. Heated pool. Roomy accommodations. Terrific housekeeping service sensitive to the needs of early and late risers. A must for first time and returning guests. We will be back!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank N C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

We recently stayed here not knowing a thing about this hotel and were pleasantly surprised! The owners are so kind and attentive the 2 bedroom suite with a pullout couch and kitchen was very large.. it could use alittle updating but overall very very clean and right across the street from the beach and boardwalk! We will definitley be back!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KGreen_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2013

This place is ok as far as the room and its clean enough. However the owners are AWFUL. They yelled at us for playing around with our kids in the pool, seemed to always be lurking and watching you. Friends of ours met us at our hotel ( downstairs mind you, they never even came in the room) and the owners charged a "guest fee". Best part was, on checkout she didn't say a word about it and proceeded to charge my credit card as soon as I left. I had to have my bank reverse the charge.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nov09apr15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

First time staying at this Motel; very clean, nice size room. 1 block from the beach and boardwalk, you can park your car and walk to all activities and restaurants in the area.
Will try to get back to this Motel in the future, the 3rd floor seems to be the best, high view to look over the balcony and pool view.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flyers08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2011

I have been to Wildwood over 15 times. It is simply one of my favorite places on earth. I try to book a new motel every year, I am on a quest to find a good one that is not too expensive but I sadly have not yet found one. I would like to start out by saying that the owners are very nice people and that this motel is a minutes away from the beach (two main positive points). Unfortunately, the rooms are extremely basic, they have not been painted in a very long time, the carpeting is extremely old and so is the furniture. We booked a unit that had two bedrooms because we were 5 people. Our room was next to the maid's storage room (where the washer and dryer are, the ones that clean all the hotel sheets), it was noisy and everytime we got out of our room there was a cart blocking us or a staff member going into that space, which was really irritating. We paid a high price, stayed the first week of August 2011 (I have paid less per day for nice 4 star hotels in New York city) and I was quite disappointed. Luckily, the place was clean, the air conditioner worked and I didn't see any bugs. Please do not expect a 4 star experience, this motel has been stuck in 1967 forever. Still on my quest for nice accomodation in Wildwood...

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jarah9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenside, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2011

My family comes down to Wildwood every year just to walk the boards, lay on the beach, go on the rides and take in the nightlife! Golden Rail is comfortable to fit your needs (if you need to cook or not) Its close to the beach within a two block radius and has a heated pool for relaxation. Its close to almost everything. We wouldn't go anywhere else! Looking forward to this year!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these North Wildwood hotels
0.0 mi away
Surf Song Beach Resort
Surf Song Beach Resort
#21 of 41 in North Wildwood
3.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
0.3 mi away
Howard Johnson Wildwood Boardwalk
Howard Johnson Wildwood Boardwal...
#39 of 41 in North Wildwood
3.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
0.5 mi away
Alante Oceanfront Motel
Alante Oceanfront Motel
#5 of 41 in North Wildwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sandpiper Motel
Sandpiper Motel
#11 of 41 in North Wildwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
0.4 mi away
Roman Holiday Motel
Roman Holiday Motel
#10 of 41 in North Wildwood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
0.1 mi away
Matador Oceanfront Resort
Matador Oceanfront Resort
#8 of 41 in North Wildwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Rail Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Rail Motel

Property: Golden Rail Motel
Address: 1702 Ocean Ave, North Wildwood, NJ 08260-5555
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > North Wildwood
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in North Wildwood
#8 Family Hotel in North Wildwood
#15 On the Beach Hotel in North Wildwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Golden Rail Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family-owned and operated for more than 20 years , only a few steps to the Boardwalk and the beach. Relaxing, quite, yet close to all of the activities offered in the area to make your stay more pleasant. Affordable rates for family vacation. Special available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Golden Rail Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Rail Hotel North Wildwood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing