We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“May2013”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Howard Johnson Wildwood Boardwalk
Ranked #39 of 41 Hotels in North Wildwood
GreenLeadersBronze level
Williamstown, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“May2013”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Older hotel right on the boardwalk. Very clean with friendly staff. Stay here for the past 6 years and always come back. Has nice walk along the boardwalk and quick access to beach. Was recommended to come here from a friend and will always pass on the same recommendation.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tracker97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    42
    34
    21
    52
See reviews for
123
32
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glen Gardner, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We've stayed at the King's Inn a number of times over the years and have always had a nice experience.

Calling for a reservation...usually at the last minute...is usually not a problem and the people on the phone are generally pleasant and helpful. Considering some of the morons they have to deal with on the phone, we're surprised they're as nice as they are. Checking in and checking out is easy and again the front desk people were very nice.

The location is excellent...right on the boardwalk and convenient to the beach...and you get one permanent parking space for your stay.

The rooms are generally clean, if very dated (what do you expect...it's Wildwood!), but the bathrooms are very small and the towels are paper thin.

The only complaint we have is that this time we stayed in an "ocean view" room (233) which opens onto a "public deck" with tables and chairs and lounge chairs (ONLY for people staying at the motel) and is directly over an arcade. The music coming from the arcade was very loud as was one of the employees who had a microphone and was shilling for people to come in! And this was ALL DAY AND NIGHT! It finally stopped between 11:00p and midnight (depending on the weather and how many people were walking the boardwalk). But it was certainly annoying!
So beware of the "ocean view" rooms...you've been warned.

Room Tip: Beware of the "ocean view" rooms. They could be very loud from the arcade directly below t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FairReview2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Very clean, friendly staff, a bit on the older side.. They have 6 oceanfront rooms with a sundeck that are nice and secluded, apart form the other rooms. The best part, overlooks the boardwalk and shorter walk to the beach. Excellent location!

Room Tip: Rooms that are oceanfront are a bit more secluded, private and you can people watch from the sun dec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank laredo11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warminster, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

My son and I ended up extending our stay an extra day for the 2 nd year in a row at kings inn .. Location is great !!! Rooms are clean , service is excellent. The location is rite on the boardwalk , and by the beach , pool is clean , location , location, location

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Complicated4010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontgomeryPennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We stayed at King's from July 21st through July 27th. As always we had a very good experience. We stayed in room 103. The room was very clean and comfortable. The housekeeping staff was great. We always stay at King's and have never had a bad experience. As far as the previous review regarding not allowing visitors, I certainly can understand that. If everyone staying at King's had visitors for the day, the place would be so crowded with people it would be unmanageable. I'm glad they have rules and stick to them. We have been staying at King's for years. We tried of couple of other places but came back to King's. The location can't be beat. The rooms are very nice and management is very friendly and helpful. Can't wait to go back next year. Karen...... Montgomery Pa.

Room Tip: We really enjoy street side. Its just a few steps to the boardwalk and the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vacationmom25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grassflat, PA
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We stayed here for two nights for a last minute getaway. The motel was nice for the price. We stayed in the annex with a king sized bed. The inside was a typical Jersey beach motel. People going expecting a "Hilton" stay will be disappointed. We enjoyed out stay. The room was clean. We had a fridge, microwave, and a really good working AC in our room. The TV was a little small, but for us was not a big deal. Our room was quiet throughout the night. The location was great and was easy to get to. The motel is right on the boardwalk with beach access right outside the motel on both sides of the motel. The staff was very friendly. We will definitely stay here again! It can't be beat for the price! It was approximately $220-230 for two nights with tax included.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jace E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wenonah
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

The only thing that the Kings Inn has going for it, is the location. It sits conveniently right on the boardwalk. The negatives however, made for a very un-relaxing stay. For starters it is overpriced for the condition of the rooms. Then after telling the maid that I didn't need service on day one, I then got a very rude visit from the office manager (banging on my door) telling me that I had to have my room serviced or else my room would be too messy when I checked out. (Mind you, I never said I wouldn't have it serviced the next day) Then I was told that we were not allowed to have our friends visit us (for the day, not staying over). And was told that it clearly states "no visitors" in the brochure, which it does not (I checked). So I visited my friends at their place, yet continued to be "watched" often when I was back at my own hotel. I also witnessed the office manager arguing with many of the other tenants for what seemed like very illogical reasons. I am such a very easy going person, but to be treated with such disrespect really put a bad taste in my mouth and I will never stay at The Kings Inn Motel every again and definitely would not recommend it to any of my friends. Oh and my refrigerator took quite a long time to get cold and I thought my food that I had brought was going to spoil.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gina N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these North Wildwood hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Wildwood
1.2 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Wildwood
Days Inn & Suites Wildwood
#25 of 76 in Wildwood
851 reviews
0.8 mi away
Alante Oceanfront Motel
Alante Oceanfront Motel
#6 of 41 in North Wildwood
154 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lollipop Motel
Lollipop Motel
#2 of 41 in North Wildwood
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Matador Oceanfront Resort
Matador Oceanfront Resort
#7 of 41 in North Wildwood
211 reviews
0.4 mi away
Surf 16 Motel
Surf 16 Motel
#20 of 41 in North Wildwood
61 reviews
0.2 mi away
White Caps Motel
White Caps Motel
#38 of 41 in North Wildwood
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Wildwood Boardwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Wildwood Boardwalk

Property: Howard Johnson Wildwood Boardwalk
Address: 423 E 23rd Ave, North Wildwood, NJ 08260-5356 (Formerly Boardwalk Kings Inn - Wildwood Oceanfront Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > North Wildwood
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in North Wildwood
#21 On the Beach Hotel in North Wildwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Wildwood Boardwalk 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Howard Johnson Wildwood Boardwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King`s Hotel North Wildwood
Kings Hotel North Wildwood
Kings Motel North Wildwood
Kings Inn Wildwood Nj
Kings Inn Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing