We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Review of the Acropolis”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Acropolis Oceanfront Resort
Ranked #38 of 41 Hotels in North Wildwood
Reviewed 23 August 2014

This was a last minute booking and we were very excited to get it until we walked through the door! We were told the room was on the first floor, it was on the Ground floor. Which is really no big deal but in this place it is. The room was VERY dark. It was like walking into an old basement apartment. It was nothing like the pictures on the website. The back rom was freezing and the front room was warm, and the lamp in the one room didn't work. We did go to the front desk to let them know but nothing was done, we happened to find the maintenance man on the grounds and brought him to our room to fix the air conditioner & light! The whole place needs to be updated and brought into this century.
The staff at the front desk were nice but didn't seem to care that our air wasn't working. The restaurant in the hotel was very good and prices were reasonable. The pool water was clean but the pool itself needed to be scrubbed!
Also having to pay 4% MORE to pay with a credit card is absolutely absurd! They more or less force you to pay cash!!!! We will NEVER go back there again & we will NEVER recommend it to anyone!!!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank ElizO629
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (244)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 244 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

My family had a great time. Convenient to have drinks and food at the hotel. The rooms were ok. As long as they were not dirty and they were not. The kids had fun and that is all that matters at the end of the day when vacationing at the acropolis and the jersey shore. Thank you acropolis.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

This is our 6th year at the Acropolis and every year has been wonderful! Our children always had a great time with the other kids and my husband and I ways met the nicest people. The pool entertainment with Billy Jack always made our day.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dmcnoons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Been going to the Acropolis for about 10 years now. Always found the staff to be pleasant and cooperative. Have upgraded us to better suite when the previous client had smoked in the room of which management had not been aware of. They wouldn't let the housekkeeping staff into the room. Room are always neat and clean with an adquate supply of towels. Extrta towels and blankets supplied with no problem when requested. Pool kept very clean and the bar and restaurant are right there if you need a drink or something to eat. View is very good as the beach is right across the street. It is an older building however they maintain it very well. Plenty of parking. Have recommended to family and work associates.

Room Tip: The higher up the better the view of the ocean. The brochure clearly shows the how the rooms are lay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

The hotel was in the perfect location! We have small children so it wasn't a chore to have drag them blocks and blocks! The staff was also extremely friendly, and the pool was great too! It was a nice distance from the boardwalk. Not too far but not so close that you have to deal with all the people. The free parking topped things off! What a great time!

Room Tip: The higher floors have a better ocean view, but you have to be willing to take the elevator or the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank funmom474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We arrived on a Wednesday, and as we enter the area where the office is located, we were overwhelmed with a bacon grease odor. The two woman at the check in were very nice. The rooms were small, and the refrigerator was something you would see in a college dormitory. If set on medium, nothing got cold. Set it on high, and everything froze. Thank goodness there were no bed bugs, trust me I checked. The doors to the rooms are warped and you had to slam them shut or push with your body to open them. Entire establishment needs an overhaul. When we checked out the owner's wife sent him out to check the license plates on the cars parked in the lot. she wanted to make sure that the guests who were leaving that day didn't park in the lot. Couldn't wait to get home. Not going back there.
"D"

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank dl726
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Our stay at the Acropolis this year was better than ever...our room had several UPDATES...such as a fresh paint job, NEW kitchen cabinets.....as usual the AC and everything else in the room worked perfectly.. very efficient maid staff......the view from our room on the 5th floor is outstanding...can't wait to go again next year!

Room Tip: Quieter on the higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lmd66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Wildwood
2.3 mi away
Newport Beach Resort
Newport Beach Resort
#49 of 75 in Wildwood
156 reviews
0.8 mi away
Surf Song Beach Resort
Surf Song Beach Resort
#18 of 41 in North Wildwood
142 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alante Oceanfront Motel
Alante Oceanfront Motel
#12 of 41 in North Wildwood
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Howard Johnson Wildwood Boardwalk
Howard Johnson Wildwood Boardwal...
#37 of 41 in North Wildwood
293 reviews
0.4 mi away
Roman Holiday Motel
Roman Holiday Motel
#3 of 41 in North Wildwood
143 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sahara Motel
Sahara Motel
#14 of 41 in North Wildwood
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acropolis Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acropolis Oceanfront Resort

Address: 300 Kennedy Beach Drive, North Wildwood, NJ 08260
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > North Wildwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#21 On the Beach Hotel in North Wildwood
Price Range: £86 - £191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Acropolis Oceanfront Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Beach.....All rooms OCEANFRONT! Deluxe motel rooms, 2 room motel suites, efficiences, 2 & 3 room efficiency suites...beatifully appointed with room phones, silent central air conditioning & heat, soundproof and fireproof, private oceanfront balconies, cable color TV & AM/FM music, sparkling ceramic baths, daily maid service and room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Acropolis Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acropolis Oceanfront Hotel North Wildwood
Acropolis Oceanfront Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing