We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun Place to Eat”
Review of Maui's Dog House

Maui's Dog House
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: We serve fresh food as fast as we can.... Everything is fresh made to order ! We do our best to provide a family friendly vacation experience for all to enjoy ! We are all about making memories for people. The owners sacrifice time with their own children to be on premise every hour that the restaurant is open ~ if you have a problem, don't like something or are dissatisfied.... please come to them , before bashing us online. That is why we are there !!! We will do everything in our power to make you happy, just ask !!! The internet bashing , just because, is so sad to us We try and do our best everyday only to get bashed 6 hours later online. How are we supposed to fix something we were never aware that it happened in the first place ? Just please have a good time and if you don't just tell us , in person, face to face and we will do our best to make it better !
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

We went here because my brother-in-law loves eating at places featured on DDD. Overall, a fun place to eat at at least once. Service was fun and friendly, food came out quick and was quite good.

Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (303)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

174 - 178 of 303 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2014

The food here was good and not expensive. The service wasn't the best but we got our food to go so it didn't matter. Also they only take cash as we found a lot of places in the area do.

Thank Love_the_beach890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Every summer I make a point of getting a Maui Dog. This year's trip I got the Soprano Dog - spinach, garlic, white wine, and provolone. Very good! I also split a giant dog bowl full of Jamaican Jerk fries with the table, 1 order was plenty of fries for the 4 of us. We also ordered the Salty Balls for the table, they are not my favorite so next year I will probably do without. But overall great place, will continue the summer tradition next year!

    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kaitlyn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

My son and his family drove by and thought it looked interesting. They checked out the web page and saw it was on Diners, Drive Ins and Dives. We made a reservation and a place was waiting when we got there. There were five of us and we all had different dog choices. The dogs are huge bigger than most and the rolls are better than commercial rolls. The rolls are a good size substantial enough to hold the various toppings. The dogs were served in dog bowls which was a fun idea. We had two orders of salty balls with melted butter to dip them in. They were not overly salty and two orders was enough for the five of us. We also had fries. They were served hot and crispy and one order was enough. The owner seated us and he and his staff could not have been more pleasant or helpful. We will definitely be back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Harry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

I don't really understand the lure of this place or the good reviews. Eating your meal in a dog bowl while sitting on a picnic bench under a tent is not my idea of a good time. The hot dogs are tiny and expensive! Their poor excuse of a Chicago dog they served is an insult. Obviously, they have never had a real Chicago hot dog.

Save your money and grab a dog on the boardwalk. It will be cheaper and taste much better.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Frank R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mauisdoghouse, Owner at Maui's Dog House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Sorry you had a bad experience at our restaurant in August 2013 and are writing a review a year later. You should have come to the owners who are there EVERYDAY to ensure to you have good experience. Our restaurant is what is is! It is our little slice of heaven! We have $500.00 "picnic" benches, while sitting under a $20,000.00 - which you can see when you are being seated ! You should have gone somewhere else just looking where you were going to dine

Our Chicago dog is a best seller, EVERYONE loves it

Maui's is not for everyone, we get that. Walk away if you don't want to eat here-

You always have a choice to walk away you saw the "picnic " benches

iWe would rather you walk away,saying this is not me me, then bashing us online!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Maui's Dog House also viewed

Wildwood, Cape May County
North Wildwood, Cape May County
 
North Wildwood, Cape May County
Wildwood, Cape May County
 

Been to Maui's Dog House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing