We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Star diner”
Review of Star Diner Cafe

Star Diner Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: After-hours
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
nj
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Star diner”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We love to go to the Star for breakfast in the late morning. It is family friendly and the food is good diner fare.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank lazydaisey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    33
    16
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Disappointing Meals”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

7/14/14; 4 adults and 1 child; I had the early bird Broiled Grouper, which was loaded in butter with instant mashed potatoes, Manhattan clam chowder, and ice cream. The soup tasted good, had some kick to it, but very little clam; so I believe that it was not fresh. Plus it tasted salty. The main dish was drowning in butter, which was not appealing. I chose that dish Broiled, not fried to make it somewhat healthier. Diced tomatoes and spinach (?) was on top of the fish with some lettuce on the side of the plate as garnish? Overall the dish looked unappealing and that look delivered with the taste. I tasted the butter more than the fish. Side of mashed potatoes was instant! Needless to say that I was disappointed. My father had coconut butterfly shrimp, which was mainly the breading. He seemed hungry when we left. Mother had some lasagna which was over portioned and not hot. Wife had soup again and said it was really salty. Place was empty at 5pm on a Monday nite. Floor was sticky when walking to table. 2 out of 5 stars. Server was very nice, food was not appealing. Approx $80 for a disappointing meal. 7/16/14; 4 adults and 1 child; We ate here for dinner 2 nights ago and I wasn’t too impressed. I had some special with 2 eggs, pancakes, sausage, and bacon. No toast & no home fries. Coffee was included. Wife had scrambled eggs, Mom had 2 eggs with meat, and Dad had the same. 2 out of 5 stars. The floor was still sticky, just like the other night…really? Do people clean? I don’t want to imagine what the kitchen looks like if the floors weren't cleaned. The place was somewhat empty too. Weather was raining somewhat heavy too. 2 stars since the food wasn't the issue this time, it was the floor and the waitress seemed a little annoyed when we asked to reduce the a/c as it felt like a freezer. The comment was that this spot with where the sun heats up these 2 seats; Mother made a joke that they don’t have to worry about that, and the smirk I saw just made me shake my head.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mohegan Lake, New York
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Staff not friendly, food could be better”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

This was our first time in Wildwood. The Star Diner was the first place we ate at on our trip. It was Monday morning, so we stopped for breakfast. The staff was not friendly at all. The home fries were hard. The French toast was average and so were the eggs, pancakes and bacon. Didn't even get a "have a nice day" after getting up from the table to pay. I would rather spend my money where I feel welcomed. Didn't go back that week and will never go back.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rdeecee04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
webster, United States
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Clean”
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

Expensive for breakfast. Our waitress needed to have more coffee or take a happy pill. Did the job. won't' go back

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Diane V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level 6 Contributor
394 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 269 helpful votes
“A Lovely Old Fashioned Diner, Perfect for Brunch”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

I happened across this Diner by pure chance and was able to swing in without too much disruption to the following traffic, and was I glad that I did. Great atmosphere, great menu and great service, just what I needed at a reasonable price and if you sit in the right place there are water views. Very Good

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ManicUSAVisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Star Diner Cafe also viewed

North Wildwood, Cape May County
Wildwood, Cape May County
 
Wildwood, Cape May County
North Wildwood, Cape May County
 

Been to Star Diner Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing