We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Florentine Family Motel
Ranked #13 of 41 Hotels in North Wildwood
Phillipsburg, New Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very clean”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Overall experience: I am giving an overall rating of average based only on the other guests at the hotel. When I booked the room I was unaware that the weekend we were visiting was Elks weekend. The Elks "chapter" that basically overtook the entire hotel including the pool were out of control. They were loud, rude and you couldn't sit or walk anywhere without a cloud of cigarette smoke filling your lungs. I understand that smoking was allowed outside but this group was just out of control. They had a "DJ" in their group and it was obnoxious but we made the best of it by going to the beach, boardwalk and other attractions. (Which is what you should do while you're at the beach)

My girlfriend and I stayed in a room with a full size bed. Next time I will ask for a larger room just for the larger bed. The hotel is old but you can tell that the owners and the cleaning staff keep the whole property immaculate. For example there was some sort of spill made by one of the Elks and the next morning the maintenance man was on his hands and knees scrubbing out the stain from the concrete. After the Elks all checked out they sprayed all concrete surfaces down with bleach to clean it. If this kind of cleaning is going on outside I don't need to go into detail about the cleanliness of the rooms.

Next time we visit Wildwood we are giving the Florentine another chance on during a week without any type of groups or conventions.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bjd1302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George C, Owner at Florentine Family Motel, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
While I'm thrilled you enjoyed the premises, it's disappointing to hear that another group put a damper on your great time. In the future, we'd love to be more communicative during booking about stuff like this.

All the best,
George, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    25
    14
    2
    12
See reviews for
106
30
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Very disappointing experience. The owners and front desk staff are rude, unwelcoming, unaccomadating, and it feels like they watch every move people make. Pretty sure a video camera watches the pool area as one woman was approached about smoking. The motel was almost empty but we were not able to get a late checkout without paying $30 or pleadings or at least an hour bc 10am is an early checkout.
Upon checkout, told we were lucky they even let us book one night because they don't do one night stays. Really? Considering we were one of like 3 or 4 cars in your lot, I think the motel was lucky to have us. We would have gladly stayed elsewhere. This was a getaway for my birthday and their attitudes definitely put a damper on things. Another guest told us they were rude to him as well and that him and his family will not go back. Beds were completely uncomfortable as well.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DelawareSky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florentine1901, Owner at Florentine Family Motel, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
As with most motels in the Wildwoods, check-in is at 2:00pm and check-out is at 10:00am. I’m surprised you didn’t mention that you checked in at noon and when you called the next morning at 9:30am and said you just got up, could you have a later checkout. I said how about 11:00 and you said ok. I also said for only $30 you could have a 5:00pm checkout, you said no.
When you checked in, you asked if we would put the room charge on 2 cards, one for you and one for your friend, I said no problem. Again we were accommodating.
Concerning the amount of cars, You didn’t see them all because many left before you came out of your room plus we had 4 rooms come down in 2 cars and one family came by bus. We had 18 rooms in that night. Some of the rooms were parked behind the building and some next the building on the other side of the lot, not all were in the front. Also of those several that were staying additional days were out doing things by 11:00am.
About the smoking in the pool area, I don’t understand your comment because we allow smoking in the pool area. The pool camera is so we can monitor the pool to make sure everyone is safe and the children have a supervising parent.
Concerning the owners and staff, we are always polite to our customers. That’s why on the board behind the desk we have the current names of over 300 couples and families that have consistently been with us from 5 years to 40 years. Today we have a few families that hit the 5 year mark and received their 5 year pins.
Also, for the fourth year in a row we won TALK OF THE TOWN’S award for “Excellence in Customer Satisfaction as rated by customers online” with a rating of 5 out of 5.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellmawr, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We have stayed at the Florentine before, & we love staying here, the staff are very nice & the hotel is nice & clean. We are coming back in August for vacation. I think the only thing that surprised me was that you are not allowed to eat at the tables by the pool, I understand the no glass rule, but why have tables if you can't eat at them?

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George C, Owner at Florentine Family Motel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thrilled to hear you love staying with us, Pina. We know it sounds weird, but we don't allow food for the cleanliness (and subsequent health) of our guest. We've just found that's what works best.

Can't wait to welcome you back in August,
George, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We have been staying at the Florentine Family Motel for over 20 years.
It's always been clean and well kept. Friendly staff and always a sparkling pool.
Quiet and a great location. We will surely be going back.

Room Tip: Rooms are the second floor are very nice and have sunning area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Skids33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George C, Owner at Florentine Family Motel, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
We're thrilled that we've been your go-to spot here in Wildwood for over 20 years. There's just nothing more rewarding that to hear you can count on us for clean rooms and a sparkling pool.

Can't wait to welcome you back,
George, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

I stayed at the Florentine Motel from September the 3rd to the 6th. I love this hotel. This was my eighth time/year staying at this hotel. I wont stay anywhere else in Wildwood. The rooms are nice, spacey, and well kept. The hotel pool is great, well watched over, and well kept. The staff is amazing. They are the nicest people and do all they can for you to make you have a nice trip. I went down this year alone and they made me feel very safe and watched out for me which made me feel great and safe. They know a lot about Wildwood, so don't be afraid to ask them for information or recommendations on things to do in the Wildwoods. The hotel grounds are kept clean and in order. Never had a bad stay at this hotel. We will be visiting here again next year, just like every year after. I give the staff and hotel an A++++++++. Thanks again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chicbeargrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florentine1901, Owner at Florentine Family Motel, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Chicbeargrl, Thanks for the great and honest review. As you know Robert my son is always here during the night and I am here 6 of the 7 nights as well as all day long. At various times Robert and I will wake up during the night and do a quick patrol of the grounds. Also being family oriented, many of our guests come back year after year and also help keep an eye on things. As a result we have a very safe place for you and many others that are singles, plus our families with young children. It’s one of the reasons we get the name of everyone upon check-in. We know who is on our premises. Again, Thanks, George
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
48 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We stayed at the Florentine for a short mid-week break. The combo room worked well for us since it was one adult and three teenagers. No one wanted to share a double-bed so we rented a cot as well. The layout was great with two full bathrooms and a small kitchen. Having the cot cut down on our walk-around space in the front room, but we managed to fit it in okay and were glad we had it. The unit had two nice TVs and the kitchen was equipped with enough utensils and pots/pans to actually cook via a stovetop or microwave.

We have never stayed in a motel before and enjoyed the experience. The owners were very nice and accommodating. The maid never actually came in the room (per our request), but she was great trading our towels and giving us extra paper products. We didn’t want to park in the smallish parking spaces with a new car, so George gave us a Parking Meter tag, which was $8.00/day and could be used at any parking meter on the Island except for Kennedy Blvd. It was super-convenient – there are meters right in the middle island in front of the motel.

It was a long block to the boardwalk, but no roads to cross. Make sure you check out Russos for cheese steaks/Hoagies, it’s on 9th Avenue. We grew up in NWW (summers) and know the island pretty well. We chose to take our kids much further South to Hilton Head when they were smaller, but teenagers love the excitement and sights of the boardwalk…

Only negatives were our room was back in a corner so we had to walk by numerous smokers on the outside veranda. They seemed to smoke all the time. Our room didn’t have any view and the entrance was dark, but the second room had a door to the outside. That side of the room had a narrow walkway that faced the street, but you could look up the street and see the beach. Upside of this room location, was it was pretty quiet – that we loved! Room 208-209.

All and all we liked the place. It was very clean and no matter when we were coming or going, someone was sweeping, or wiping, or cleaning something.

If you are looking for a great family motel – Try the Florentine!

Room Tip: Room 208-209 is quiet, but back in corner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CindyC77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florentine1901, Owner at Florentine Family Motel, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
CindyC77,
Thanks for the review. It was nice to bring out how well our kitchens are equipped. Sometimes people make a big pasta dinner and ask for a really big pot, which we also have. As far as being accommodating, we are a family owned motel and unlike the big chain motels, we are able to act quickly for requests and do whatever we can to make our guests have a nice time. With a brand new Mercedes parking at the end of a line of cars makes you feel better and can go to a lot of paid parking spots and not pay is a convenience.
Thanks again – George
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christiana, Delaware, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We went here for our split vaca in Aug 2013 we stayed in the combo which was really a big help cause it offers two separate entrances for those late nights you can come and go without bothering anyone.It also has 2 full bathrooms which made things a lot easier for all of us.The staff was very friendly and made our stay most enjoyable.They have everything you could possibly need as far as cooking utensils,cookware,tableware and things like that only thing you need to bring is clothes and whatnot.The maid service was super they didn't rush you so they could clean and they did a super job also they helped us out on coffee filters gotta have coffee in the morning!. Thanks to John of the night staff for hooking us up on a good place to order some sandwhiches.( which were outstanding).All in all we had a super time.The only drawback I seen was the full block to the beach and boardwalk(actually its 2 blocks you don't cross any streets there together) they say oceanblock but its a long one.That was the least liked thing about our vaca.

Room Tip: Combo rooms are a good choice for larger families with 2 baths and 2 separate entrances it makes thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JP98SPORT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florentine1901, Owner at Florentine Family Motel, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Christiana,
Thanks for the review. You and many others really like our combo units, especially designed for mom & dad with a couple of teenage kids. The 2 bathrooms really come in handy. We have some great places for sandwiches such as the 5th street deli. You as many others have commented on the friendliness and quality of our staff.
George
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these North Wildwood hotels
0.1 mi away
Surf Song Beach Resort
Surf Song Beach Resort
#21 of 41 in North Wildwood
3.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
0.2 mi away
Howard Johnson Wildwood Boardwalk
Howard Johnson Wildwood Boardwal...
#39 of 41 in North Wildwood
3.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lollipop Motel
Lollipop Motel
#2 of 41 in North Wildwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Alante Oceanfront Motel
Alante Oceanfront Motel
#5 of 41 in North Wildwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
0.2 mi away
Matador Oceanfront Resort
Matador Oceanfront Resort
#6 of 41 in North Wildwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
0.9 mi away
Aloha Oceanfront Motel
Aloha Oceanfront Motel
#1 of 41 in North Wildwood
5.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Florentine Family Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Florentine Family Motel

Property: Florentine Family Motel
Address: 19th & Surf Avenues, North Wildwood, NJ 08260
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > North Wildwood
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in North Wildwood
#10 On the Beach Hotel in North Wildwood
#11 Family Hotel in North Wildwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Florentine Family Motel is owner-operated with a friendly staff.The beach is just a few houses away. Relax in our heated pools under the sun, or peruse the various attractions, thrill rides, and water parks just a couple of blocks away. The elevator makes it easy to get to the 2nd & 3rd floors. We offer daily housekeeping and laundry facilities, along with free Wi-Fi, and a refrigerator and microwave in every room. The kids enjoy our cartoon channels, while the adults can watch one of the 3 HBO channels on our new flat screen TVs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Florentine Family Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Florentine Family Hotel North Wildwood
Florentine Family North Wildwood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing