We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I will not be a return customer” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Trylon Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in North Wildwood
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Trylon Motel
Ranked #38 of 41 Hotels in North Wildwood
Harrisburg, PA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“I will not be a return customer”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2011

The Trylon is not the kind of place that I would like to stay at again...but people must like it because it was very full...full of screaming kids all day long in the pool area and screaming drunk adults chain smoking cigarettes in the outdoor common areas and outside of their various rooms all night long. The noise easily carries into your room making it hard to relax both day and night. Speaking of the room, if you removed the small flat screen TV, the room would have maintained the same look it had at the time of its initial decorating which I would guess was 25 years ago. For example, I noticed that the microwave in the room was the same one my grandparents had in their beach condo when I was a kid in the mid 1980's. Everything in the room looked very worn down and used hard which was off putting considering the rate being charged.

The staff seemed friendly and hard working, the location is very good and there is off-street parking, but the negatives I stated far outweigh these positives. I will not be a return customer.

Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
8 Thank HbgPA11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrylonMotel, Manager at Trylon Motel, responded to this review, 29 July 2012
Thank you for your stay. We try hard to please all. Very tall task sometimes. Yes all our rooms are owned individually--we do have minimum standards for a room. All of them are now better than before. We get into trouble sometimes when one room is granite counter tops and stainless appliances. And their family member has just regular appliances.

We try hard to control any noise after hours. We do the best we can and have mostly returning customers. Somethings are out of our control. With all families renting from us--these practices are kept to a minimum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    12
    12
    3
    9
See reviews for
32
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2011

I booked a room at the Trylon prior to reading all the reviews,After reading the horror stories,i was very concerned,especially since Louise told me my room would be room 217,from PA to NJ i was so worried that the room would be a dump & wouldnt be able to get my money back.
We arrived at the hotel around 7:30am,check out is 10AM,check in was at 2PM..the room was occupied so we had to wait,the man at the counter was very polite & friendly,let us park our car on the property before check in time,let us swim at the pool,he was very nice to us.. My family & friends were sitting at the pool facing room 217,we seen the maid go in & out,getting sheets,towels,cleaning products,she spent a long time in the room & every other room, I told my friend that even if its a dump,at least its a clean dump,.. It was around 12PM when the man said our room is now available,when we walked in room 217,a thousand lbs just lifted off my shoulders... I was so surprised & happy.. The room was far from a dump,it was really nice and clean,smelled fresh...the furniture was in good condition,the fridge,stove,microwave & coffee pot were spotless,the couch & chair were comfy,we stayed there for 3 days and not 1 bug was in the room,we took along 2 cans of bed bug spray but didnt need it at all,the mattresses were new & covered with mattress covers ,I watched from the balcony the beautiful view of the ocean,the pool was cleaned every morning,the owners were very nice,the maid we had was nice,friendly & the maid supervisor was very nice & friendly also,the maid showed us the room right next to us and omg was it really beautiful inside,hardwood floors,granite countertops,ect..
We had a wonderful time and i would stay there again & again ,When i told the owner the stuff i read online,she explained it that some man booked a room for a week with her motel,because he couldnt get a room with the hotel his friends were at,he stayed there 1 night and a room became available in wildwood crest,where his friends were staying so he wanted his deposit & 1st nights money back,which he wasnt entitled to because he did sleep there,so he threw a fit and started making up all these horror stories under different names and dates.
Please dont believe everything you read on trip advisors,a lot are accurate but some are just plain bullcrap,the Trylon was a great place to stay and its very close to the beginning of the boardwalk & cam tram,The only thing i didnt like about the Trylon was you arent allowed to place your wet towels & swimsuits on the balcony railing to dry,Im not sure of the reason but im sure there is one,we hung the wet things over the outside chairs... Its a great place to stay

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank wendyf48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrylonMotel, Manager at Trylon Motel, responded to this review, 5 August 2012
Thank you very much for your stay and your kind words. We try our best here. Come back and see us again. FYI--the reason why we don`t allow towels on our railings are very simple. Our head housekeeper tries her best to keep these rooms spotless. That is what keeps our customers returning. If you have ever walked by another motel and can see what a sight all towels hanging from the railings look like you would understand. We take pride in our appearance. Thanks again for your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2011

Whats weird is, we booked a hotel down the road. Read the info on tripadvisor, and decided we should cancel it due to bad reviews. Then we book our room at the trylon, and was told we will be in room 217. I should have read the reviews first before i booked the room but im glad i diddnt. There is a negative review on here for room 217 and we were all paranoid thinking "what did we get our self into". When we made the reservations, the lady at the front counter was nice and said "i wouldn't put you in anything i wouldn't sleep in". So thinking she is just saying what every other sales person would say, we decide to "stick it out" and give it a try. Im glad we did. We had a nice ocean view from the second floor, the rooms were amazingly clean, the maids and staff were really nice and accommodating, the pool was super clean, and the location was perfect. The maids were really nice and did an excellent job cleaning the rooms, and you can tell its always well kept. room 217 had a brand new sofa/pull out bed, and it was very comfortable. The room has a screen door and a main door, so you can get that nice ocean breeze in your room. There are plenty of grills outside for guests, and an outside shower to clean the sand off your feet after the beach. It was really nice having a bedroom AND a living room, it made our stay really enjoyable. I will defently be going back to wildwood soon, and im booking another stay here!

Room Tip: 3rd floor = great views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lotus_soldier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrylonMotel, Manager at Trylon Motel, responded to this review, 29 July 2012
Thank you! Your confidence and comments are very welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenside, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2010

My husband stayed here on a whim. I called the day of....and Jay was overly accomodating. He was all but sold out because it was Roar to the Shore weekend and he was just such a pleasure to work with. We possibly had to switch rooms because we stayed a couple of days but Jay worked it out and never disrupted our stay!!!! 10 thumbs up!!! clean, beautiful place! awesome staff! We will be back this summer!
The Shaw's
Glenside

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shawtrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrylonMotel, Manager at Trylon Motel, responded to this review, 5 August 2012
Thank you very much for your kind words! It is great too know that our efforts are appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colonia, NJ
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2010

We were recommended to this place by someone who had been going for years. We lucked out and got one of the best rooms at the place. Two bedroom 1.5 baths. Our other friends took the 3 bedroom next to the office. Althought the 3 bedroom was not as updated as ours, there was lots of room in there and very clean. We were so impressed with the women at the front desk and the place itself we immediately booked for this coming weekend (Labor Day). We were unable to get the same room since it is very popular, but the room we are going into was being updated in May and we got to take a peek and were yet again very impressed. We plan to use the grills and emmenities this time since we had a short stay in May. Highly recommend for family oriented trips to Wildwood. One block from the end of the boardwalk, its an easy walk to entertainment or hop on the famous Tram Car!!!!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debih59455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fallston, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2010

Rooms are individually owned, so be careful of the room you are given. Our room was ancient in all respects. Our relative had another room that was totally redone with a nice 32" flat-screen tv. Our room had a 19" CRT tv on a shelf above the refrigerator for the same cost per night. Guests were loud, rude well into the morning hours and after quiet time. Rude owners in pool hogged up all chairs and tables. We left a day early.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tmort63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TrylonMotel, Manager at Trylon Motel, responded to this review, 5 August 2012
Thank you for your stay. All our rooms are up to date. This was when we were in a transition to flat screens. Please refer to the newer comments. We know we can`t please all but we try. One thing we have to keep in mind that everyone here is on vacation. Some things are out of our control.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2010

I stayed there this June, 2010. Great off season rates. I was staying in room 217. The room has been totally remodeled, after reading a prior review, I called ahead and was assured all rooms are up to date. I almost did not stay there because of a prior review. You can be assured this problem has been rectified. I just wanted to pass this on to my fellow travelers. Great Location - cleanliness is a priority here. Very friendly staff. Also the woman managing the property is a treasure - Thanks Louise

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jojakjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these North Wildwood hotels
0.3 mi away
Surf Song Beach Resort
Surf Song Beach Resort
#21 of 41 in North Wildwood
3.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
0.1 mi away
Roman Holiday Motel
Roman Holiday Motel
#10 of 41 in North Wildwood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chateau Bleu Resort Motel
Chateau Bleu Resort Motel
#32 of 41 in North Wildwood
3.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Alante Oceanfront Motel
Alante Oceanfront Motel
#4 of 41 in North Wildwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
0.4 mi away
Acropolis Oceanfront Resort
Acropolis Oceanfront Resort
#34 of 41 in North Wildwood
3.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lollipop Motel
Lollipop Motel
#2 of 41 in North Wildwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trylon Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trylon Motel

Property: Trylon Motel
Address: 1200 Kennedy Drive, North Wildwood, NJ 08260
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > North Wildwood
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 41 Hotels in North Wildwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront with three floors of view. Walking distance to boardwalk, restaurants, and entertainment. Large swimming pool, large baby pool, large courtyard with 5 barbeques, shuffleboard, ping pong, parking, HBO, full maid service. Rooms range from efficiencies to three bedroom including kitchen and full refrigerator. Complimetary coffee every morning. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Trylon Hotel North Wildwood
Trylon Motel North Wildwood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing