We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor customer service” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alante Oceanfront Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Alante Oceanfront Motel
Ranked #4 of 41 Hotels in North Wildwood
Certificate of Excellence
Gilbertsville, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Poor customer service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

We made reservations for a 4 day/3 night trip, paid for. Front desk help was horrible, unfriendly. They sat by the pool instead of in their hotel office. A day prior to our checkout, cleaning service stopped to clean our room due to the front desk had it down we were checking out the wrong day. When I went down to clear up confusion, staff was not nice or willing to accommodate. Needless to stay, we left and will not go back. Horrible place to stay!

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jamie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pastalover3241, Owner at Alante Oceanfront Motel, responded to this review, 3 August 2013
Jamie,
We are sorry that you feel this way. However, we were both in the office, not buy the pool when we tried to amicably resolve the oversight. We did try to remedy the situation by moving you to another room at a lower rate, but you refused. Further, we did acknowledge the oversight in the last nights stay, however, I wish we would have caught this sooner at check-in when you only paid for two nights and not three. We do see that you found our motel very clean and very family friendly and we hope we can one day win you back as a customer.
Warm Regards,
The Alante
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    22
    6
    3
    6
See reviews for
90
25
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013

My 15 y/o daughter and I spent 5 days at the Alante from June 27 - July 1 and just concluded another 9 days at the Alante ending just today, June 20, and we can't wait to get back again!

Our air conditioned rooms were remarkably clean and well-attended (thank you Carolee), the unobstructed views of beach and ocean from our rooms and the common decks cannot be matched, and the pool offers a great, clean & cool place to relax after a long hot day at the beach - which, by the way, is directly across the street! And, the 8th Street beach may very well be the best in all of the Wildwoods! Our room was stocked with all of the kitchen essentials for the week's stay including: microwave, coffee maker, toaster and, of course dinner- and flat-wear. There's even gas BBQs in the courtyard for those nights/days when you don't feel like walking to your nearby favorite restaurants or cooking in your efficiency unit.

Melanie, Bill and staff have truly made the Alante a place that we will call "home-away-from-home" for many years to come. We love this place (and the people) so much that we decided to go back again next weekend for another 4 nights and we can't wait!

Room Tip: Stay in an efficiency unit for extended (week or more) stays when you'll want to take advantage...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chalie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pastalover3241, Owner at Alante Oceanfront Motel, responded to this review, 3 August 2013
Thank you guys and we can't wait to see you again!
We love having you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philadelphia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

We were excited about staying here. We haven't been able to find "our place" since Lurae Motel closed. This place was recommended and had good reviews so we figured we would give it a whirl. Melanie was very helpful in making the reservation, however, when the receipt came we were overcharged. Called to make the change and got an updated balance (needed cash) on arrival. Called day before we arrived to find out if there was a blow dryer (no), stovetop (yes), coffee maker (was told no), iron (no). When we arrived, there was a coffee maker in the room. The room smelled awful - so heavy with mildew. We go to the shore a lot, so we are used to the shore smell, but this was awful. We were running out to meet friends and didn't get back till after midnight, I couldn't put my face in the pillow the smell was so strong - I folded up the beach towels to use as a barried. Next morning when we unpacked we found that one of the dresser drawers had a sopping wet blanket in it - the drawer had milder and it was growing up behind the TV. We gave it to the maid and she wiped it down with bleach, which made a huge improvement. Or first morning, I attempted to make breakfast, there was no frying pan, no knives (just butter knives). We were unable to start the stovetop. Melanie came over promptly with a lighter, however, it still would not light. She had to turn the gas on underneath. We guess that between that and the blanket in the drawer, this room had not been used in a while. When I attempted to make eggs in a pot, the smoke detector went off. We didn't try to cook after that :( The location was great and it was a short walk to the beach or boardwalk. We were unable to connect to the WIFI at any time from several different places. The connection was always showing as GOOD or 3-4 ring bar things, but it never actually connected. This was disappointing, we tried the little courtyard area as well as near the pool and it still wouldn't connect. We actually showed 2 bar thingies when we were on the beach but still no luck.
The location was great, and the people were friendly, but for the price, this was just not a good deal. We have washed our clothes twice since we got home and that smell from the first day is still in them, and even in our canvas beach bag. We will keep looking.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bcs819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pastalover3241, Owner at Alante Oceanfront Motel, responded to this review, 14 July 2013
Hello,
First, we want to thank you for the positive feedback and positive compliments to our location and staff. We pride ourselves in assuring that each and every guest is comfortable and feels at home. All of the amenities that you wanted or needed were only a request away. We have irons, coffee pots, utensils, utensils for grill, and our office is available 24/7 for any and all needs. We are sorry you feel like you were overcharged, the price given is naturally before taxes. We accept all major credit cards as well, as your deposit was made on such. The brief smell of mold was an oversight which was remedied immediately and to your satisfaction. Furthermore, our smoke alarms are very sensitive for our guests protection. it was unfortunate that you were discouraged from cooking any further after your fried egg experience. Perhaps, if you told us we could have placed a new battery in the alarm and that would have solved the problem?
Finally, our internet has boosters in four locations on our property.
Perhaps, because you could receive bars on the beach it was a setting on your phone? I would have been happy to assist you if you again had brought it to our attention.
Nevertheless, we would like to invite you back to our cozy beach front motel to show you your experience was a very unique one.
Please do give us another opportunity, we assure you happiness and perhaps you will reconsider your disparaging review?
Warm Regards, The Alante Motel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kreamer
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013

We stayed 3 days from 20-23 June..Rooms were clean and maintained..Neede extra towels every night and never given a problem with that request! Great peopl and great place to stay and North Wildwood is BEAUTIFUL! Will stay again!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pastalover3241, Owner at Alante Oceanfront Motel, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
Hi Brian,
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your appreciation for The Alante!
We can't wait for you to come back. Miss you already!
Warm Wishes,
Melanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2013

By far the cleanest hotel I've ever stay at in wildwood. My husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon. The owner and staff are so friendly. Best view of the beach. Were booking another stay for next week. Can't wait to go back defintly a home away from home.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank megg1217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pastalover3241, Owner at Alante Oceanfront Motel, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
Hi Newlywed Meg,
Thank you for much for the cleanliness compliments. We pride ourselves in our cleanliness. We think it is soooo important and we are happy you appreciate our hard work. Looking forward to seeing you for your one year anniversary!!!
Best Wishes,
Billy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2013

My daughters and I stayed at the Alante Motel for four years we always have a great time. The owner is very friendly . We would recommend this hotel 100 % .We stayed here on Mothers Day and had an amazing time . We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank patti1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pastalover3241, Owner at Alante Oceanfront Motel, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
Hi Patti,
It is always great having you. We love you! Thank you for taking the time to post a review. can't wait to see you next year!!
Warm Wishes,
Melanie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2013

Clean, family orientated. Best staff, very friendly. Steps to beach and boardwalk and rides. We stay every year for a week and it is so worth it. They have a pool, free wi-fi and lots of families stay there so my kids could play with other kids in the pool. This left time for my wife and I to chill by the pool ourselves. They also have a grill and beautiful views of the ocean from the second floor.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WillyDriscoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pastalover3241, Owner at Alante Oceanfront Motel, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
Hi Will,
To be honest, the grills are actually one of my favorite amenities at The Alante. Nothing like a cold beer and a grilled steak after a long day at the beach! See you soon hopefully!!
Best WIshes,
Billy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these North Wildwood hotels
0.6 mi away
Surf Song Beach Resort
Surf Song Beach Resort
#21 of 41 in North Wildwood
3.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aloha Oceanfront Motel
Aloha Oceanfront Motel
#1 of 41 in North Wildwood
5.0 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
0.1 mi away
Roman Holiday Motel
Roman Holiday Motel
#10 of 41 in North Wildwood
4.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Lollipop Motel
Lollipop Motel
#2 of 41 in North Wildwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
0.4 mi away
Matador Oceanfront Resort
Matador Oceanfront Resort
#9 of 41 in North Wildwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
0.2 mi away
Acropolis Oceanfront Resort
Acropolis Oceanfront Resort
#34 of 41 in North Wildwood
3.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alante Oceanfront Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alante Oceanfront Motel

Property: Alante Oceanfront Motel
Address: 515 E. 8th Avenue and JFK Beach Drive, North Wildwood, NJ 08260 (Formerly Alante Oceanfront Motor Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > North Wildwood
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in North Wildwood
#3 On the Beach Hotel in North Wildwood
#8 Romantic Hotel in North Wildwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Alante Oceanfront Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Alante is a ocean front family owned, operated, and maintained motel located in North Wildwood, New Jersey. We have free wi-fi, grills, a pool, outdoor shower and are steps away from the beach. We provide anything you need to make your stay more enjoyable upon request. We pride ourselves in the fact that families return year after year which makes The Alante a destination in and of itself. We are steps to the beach and six short blocks to the world famous Wildwood Boardwalk. We look forward to your stay at the Alante and the world famous Jersey Shore. We are Stronger than the Storm!See you soon at the Sunny Jersey Shore! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Alante Oceanfront Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alante Motor Hotel North Wildwood
Alante Hotel North Wildwood
Alante Motel North Wildwood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing