We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Great Weekend at the Matador”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Matador Oceanfront Resort
Ranked #7 of 41 Hotels in North Wildwood
Certificate of Excellence
Adamstown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Another Great Weekend at the Matador”
Reviewed 18 June 2013

We had another great weekend at the matador. Rented 3 rooms for fathers day weekend. Clean, great views, friendly staff. The two bedroom apartment (type 8) was great. The included fathers day breakfast worked out nicely. Best place to stay in the north wildwood!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank silversub23a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    41
    14
    5
    11
See reviews for
146
27
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Butler, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 13 June 2013

I went here with my friend and her family. It was very peaceful and we have a lovely view of the beach. It was peaceful and relaxing. The pool wasn't the warmest but who goes to the beach for the pool anyway. I'd stay here again and bring back my family. I'd would say one thing take the steps instead of the elevator it's a lot quicker and the people at the front desk are so nice, especially when our key deactivated because it spent to much time near my phone. So i'd recommend this motel for anyone!

Room Tip: get a room that faces the beach on the top floor a beautiful view and for your entire family too!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Location was great, pool was nice and warm (despite cold weather), playground was convenient, boardwalk access was awesome.

Some of the problems I experienced : A very loud banging noises coming from the ventilator in the bathroom. Now, yt was a very windy weekend so it is understandable, but I was tempted to ask for another room. Kept me up all night.
Also, the huge air conditioner unit above my bedroom was VERY loud (even louder than the ventilator). When that kicked on I woke up every time.
Also, the hot wter in the shower was nonexistent - I froze for my first shower and shivered for my second.

Room Tip: the oceanfront rooms NOT facing the pool had great little areas right outside the rooms with large b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhillyLindsay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

Great beachfront location across from beach access and north end of Boardwalk (16th St) with great sunrise and ocean views from the 4th floor deck. Family weekend - had four 2-room units with kitchenette, newly re-painted and clean throughout. This was our second time here and both times found public areas and rooms very clean and service friendly, informative, and accommodating. Location with a short walk to ocean, boardwalk, (including boards tram for return) and bike rentals was a big plus with young children. Adjacent playground on sand lot. Rates are what is to be expected in Wildwood. Will return and would recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2013

I had the displeasure of staying at your motel last year after being told that you leave your guests with nothing to be desiried.
Upon entering our room, I noticed that it was already occupied.
When i asked the desk clerk if you rented to gnats or other insects,
i was told no.
I was then offered a fly swatter.
I really hate the customer service that most wildwood,NJ. motels
offer.
Not only is there a lack of sevice ,But the attitude of the Customer service people is rude.
They make you pay upfront, in cash most of the times , with no refunds,
and then proceed to ignore your needs.
When you stay anywhere else in the US the check in process is much
different.






.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ed d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highland Lakes, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

We have been coming to the Matador for many years now and it seems to get better every single year.

Pros: The staff is always courteous and helpful, the rooms are very spacious and always clean, and the view never gets old. The hotel is on the beach which makes for a very short walk to the water.

Cons: The smoke. Though there is nothing the hotel can do other than going smokeless, it got old walking through a cloud of smoke every time I left my room. The rates. It is getting very expensive to stay here and we specifically have to look for weeks with specials.

A great family hotel that my family has been coming to for many years ... and will continue to ...

Room Tip: Rooms on the fourth floor are best because of the short walk to the sun deck and the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012 via mobile

We booked the Matador with very high expectations. The website was very impressive and the reviews were fantastic. The location is prime. There is a concrete walkway to get you at least half way down the beach; a playground if you are traveling with kids who need to burn off some extra energy; a clean pool; and the Wildwood boardwalk right at your fingertips. Huge bonus: the bike/surrey rental shop and good eateries are very close. The downfall is that for the hefty price tag the property is very dated. It has your typical motel room feel and smell. The room was well maintained and as clean as old can be, but the bottom line is old is old, and old shows it's wear and tear. A remodel is very much in order to justify this price tag. I did appreciate the email correspondence; just wish that the accommodations would have followed suit and been more modern/updated as well. If you are looking for any degree of luxury you won't find it here, but then again luxury is not really a fair expectation for Wildwood. We did have a fantastic time and made memories that will last a lifetime.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LiLi_D5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Wildwood
1.9 mi away
Aqua Beach Resort
Aqua Beach Resort
#8 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
961 reviews
5.5 mi away
Icona Golden Inn
Icona Golden Inn
#1 of 5 in Avalon
153 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alante Oceanfront Motel
Alante Oceanfront Motel
#5 of 41 in North Wildwood
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Aloha Oceanfront Motel
Aloha Oceanfront Motel
#1 of 41 in North Wildwood
341 reviews
0.6 mi away
Harbor Light Family Resort
Harbor Light Family Resort
#9 of 41 in North Wildwood
173 reviews
0.4 mi away
Howard Johnson Wildwood Boardwalk
Howard Johnson Wildwood Boardwal...
#39 of 41 in North Wildwood
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matador Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matador Oceanfront Resort

Property: Matador Oceanfront Resort
Address: 16th and the Beach, 511 East 16th Avenue, North Wildwood, NJ 08260
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > North Wildwood
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in North Wildwood
#6 On the Beach Hotel in North Wildwood
#7 Family Hotel in North Wildwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Matador Oceanfront Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family-owned and operated for more than 40 years, the Matador Oceanfront Resort is one of the most renowned North Wildwood NJ hotels located directly on the beach and boardwalk. Affordable rates for family vacations. Rooms, suites, vacation rentals. Hotel rates and specials available. Our hotel is on the beach, ocean and the boardwalk in North Wildwood NJ. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Matador Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matador Oceanfront Hotel North Wildwood
Matador Oceanfront Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing