We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I would certainly stay here again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Matador Oceanfront Resort
Ranked #7 of 41 Hotels in North Wildwood
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“I would certainly stay here again”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

The location of this motel is perfect. Close to the beach, right at the edge of the boardwalk, near a convenience store and bike rentals. Great, clean pool and sun deck(good location for fireworks). Good parking. Very family friendly. We stayed in a type 6 room,oceanfront, on the 4th floor. It was perfect for us. The only negative aspect is that the beds in our room were not very comfortable. They seemed a little old and worn out. We didn't try the pull-out couch.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dawkinsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert D, Manager at Matador Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you for your review of the Matador on TripAdvisor. We are pleased that overall you had a pleasant stay. We apologize if the beds were a bit uncomfortable but we do appreciate the feedback. Your feedback lets us know how we can do better. Hope to see you again next summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    41
    14
    5
    11
See reviews for
146
27
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 16 July 2014

My mother, son and I had a fabulous time at your motel and will definitely be coming back again!!!!! It was very convenient to get to the boardwalk and the ocean....etc. I have already recommended it to other people. The room was clean and the pool was excellent!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kimberly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert D, General Manager at Matador Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Kimberly, we are so pleased to hear that you had a great time at the Matador and thank you for recommending us to your family and friends. Looking forward to hopefully seeing you next summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucks County, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

I've been going to Wildwood for family vacations for about 35 yrs., and with the exception of the Harbor Light at 3rd & Ocean Ave. (a close second for me), no other motel compares to the Matador. What makes the Matador so special?....Its CLEANLINESS, LOCATION, and a GREAT STAFF! At the foot of the boardwalk (quiet end, with a great place for coffee, sandwiches, and beach gear right at the top of the ramp) in North Wildwood, on the beach, with a small playground for the kids right in front, and even an elevator (which is not common in shore motels), the CONVENIENCE can't be beat. Besides convenience, this Motel is as clean as you'll get at the Jersey Shore, which can't be said for all motels (you get what you pay for). The rooms, pool, sundecks, parking lots, etc. are METICULOUSLY KEPT by the friendly staff, which is obviously one of the top priorities of the OWNERS WHO ARE ON-SITE 7 days a week. Over the past 30+ years, the family who owns the motel have become like family to us who we look forward to seeing each summer...just fantastic people! As I said, the only other motel where I would stay in North Wildwood is the Harbor Light; but with the same great owners, and the slight edge in convenience to the boardwalk & beach (which means a lot with two little ones) we wouldn't think of staying anywhere else! If you are looking for a clean, safe, convenient motel for a family vacation, look no further than the Matador (or Harbor Light if you don't mind staying slightly farther from the boardwalk)!!!

Room Tip: Because of the location, all rooms have a nice view; but for the best views of the beach request a h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert D, General Manager at Matador Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, 17 July 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review of the Matador. It has been a pleasure hosting you and your family at our properties for over 30 years. We look forward to seeing you in the fall.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronx, New York
1 review
Reviewed 1 July 2014

This is our 3rd time staying here at the Matador. It's always a good time. The location can't be beat, beachfront right at the beginning of the boardwalk in North Wildwood, and a short drive to Cape May. Shortest walk to the Ocean from any point in Wildwood. If you have been here before, you'll know what i mean.The Ocean is a long walk from most points along the boardwalk. Different types of rooms are available, some with full size refrigerators, stovetops. Wi-Fi throughout the complex. Grills are available if you feel like cooking, large sun deck on 4th floor, a smaller on on the 2nd fl. The maid service is always good and rooms are clean. The staff is always busy keeping the grounds clean. Heated pool with Jacuzzi for adults and fenced in side for toddlers. The office staff is friendly and always helpful if needed. The one issue we had was the Wi-Fi signal was a little weak in the room, faded in and out ,but we let them know and they got someone to work on it the next day. Robert, his family, and staff are always around if needed. If you're staying in Wildwood, this family friendly resort motel is the place to stay...

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emobxny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert D, General Manager at Matador Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful response. We are so pleased you had a good experience at the Matador. We look forward to seeing you next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stay at this motel every summer in late June to enjoy the beach with our grandchildren. The management is always very friendly and takes care of any problems immediately. The rooms are always clean and maid service is excellent. A variety of room options are available, most with small kitchens including all needed dishes, silverware, pots and pans etc. They have a toaster and coffee brewer as well as a microwave and stovetop burners, and a full-size refrigerator. Our balcony faced the ocean and had a large table, chairs and umbrella. There is a heated pool and a small playground is located directly between the motel and the beach. It is located just at the end of the Boardwalk in North Wildwood.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the pool are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank balmybreeze552
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert D, General Manager at Matador Oceanfront Resort, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Thank you for such such a nice review. We always strive to keep a clean property and to make a sure our guests feel welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We have stayed at the Matador since 2009 only skipping last year due to the imminent birth of a grandchild. The location is great, the staff is WONDERFUL and the rooms are clean and spacious. We look forward to our stay each year and plan to continue coming each summer!

Room Tip: The ocean view from the third and fourth floors is part of the charm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CivilWarNut48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We stay at the Matador Oceanfront Hotel every year in June. We come with 13 families and each year the staff is very friendly and very accommodating. The rooms are always clean and have all the needs to make you feel at home. There is WIFI and in room kitchens. We all have small children and the pool and the playground are always a hit. The location is perfect as the beach and boardwalks very close to the hotel. There are also many eating establishments nearby. The only thing that changes is the number of families that want to come with us on the trip. I highly recommend this hotel. We will definitely be here next year!!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sdaudjee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Wildwood
1.9 mi away
Aqua Beach Resort
Aqua Beach Resort
#7 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
958 reviews
5.5 mi away
Icona Golden Inn
Icona Golden Inn
#1 of 5 in Avalon
152 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alante Oceanfront Motel
Alante Oceanfront Motel
#5 of 41 in North Wildwood
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Aloha Oceanfront Motel
Aloha Oceanfront Motel
#1 of 41 in North Wildwood
341 reviews
0.6 mi away
Harbor Light Family Resort
Harbor Light Family Resort
#10 of 41 in North Wildwood
173 reviews
0.4 mi away
Howard Johnson Wildwood Boardwalk
Howard Johnson Wildwood Boardwal...
#39 of 41 in North Wildwood
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Matador Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Matador Oceanfront Resort

Property: Matador Oceanfront Resort
Address: 16th and the Beach, 511 East 16th Avenue, North Wildwood, NJ 08260
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > North Wildwood
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in North Wildwood
#6 On the Beach Hotel in North Wildwood
#7 Family Hotel in North Wildwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Matador Oceanfront Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family-owned and operated for more than 40 years, the Matador Oceanfront Resort is one of the most renowned North Wildwood NJ hotels located directly on the beach and boardwalk. Affordable rates for family vacations. Rooms, suites, vacation rentals. Hotel rates and specials available. Our hotel is on the beach, ocean and the boardwalk in North Wildwood NJ. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Matador Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matador Oceanfront Hotel North Wildwood
Matador Oceanfront Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing