We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Needs UpDate BADLY!!!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bird of Paradise Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bird of Paradise Motel
Ranked #40 of 41 Hotels in North Wildwood
Philly Pa
1 review
“Needs UpDate BADLY!!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2008

I didnt expect much, with the money I was paying but....
The shower head was so broke water came out fifty different places, and the bottom of tub was stained so bad, I wore my flip flops in it.

Curtains on windows THAT did have them are all broke.. No vent or window opening in bathroom, with NO curtain!
Couldn't shut door alll the way. so it stayed unlocked all nite.
It is so OLD!!! It needs a update REAL badddddd.

The help looked like they were hired from a rehad.

One thing tho...I did like most my neighbors, and Roseann is very nice, she dont miss one thing but, thats her job.

I think next year I WILL pay the extra $50. for a cleaner nicer place!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — dirtiness
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Billiekids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    18
    16
    14
    43
See reviews for
49
14
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Blue Bell, PA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2008

Well I do not know what the first reviewer was talking about. I love the Wildwoods. I took a last minute trip to Wildwood last July 2007. After looking at a few motels we stumbled on "The Bird of Paradise". Rosanne greeted us as we walked into the office. Couldn't of met a friendlier person. She was so helpful. She made sure to tell us that every Friday night; there are fireworks on the beach, directly down from her hotel. I was going to go to the beach to see them and she said I would be able to see them perfectly from the hotel. We were on the 2nd floor and she was correct. I also liked that she watched the going's on. It kept people in check. It was quiet at night, probably thanks to her making her rounds. We even hanged out with her by the pool. We were given a choice of rooms available too. That was cool. After our first stay we went back for another weekend. I will definitely visit this year. By the way, The workers there were so friendly. Rosanne, I don't know if you read these or not, but keep up the great work!
Matt, JoAnne, Steve (Block) and Louise.

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
Thank mradatti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2007

We have stayed at this hotel for a few years now and have always enjoyed it. We intend to return next year. The rooms are very clean and so is the pool and all of the common areas. The atmosphere is relaxed and comfortable and it is only a block from the boardwalk and beach The ideal situation! Plus who can resist their trademark neon sign!

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank hdsglide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2007

I went down to Wildwood knowing that we were staying at a shore motel, so my expectations were not that high. When we arrived at the Bird of Paradise, we were happily surprised to see that it looked like a decent place to stay.

We went into the office and was greeted by Roseanne who was friendly to us. Our room, was a standard motel room. It is an older motel, but our room was CLEAN. That is what is important to me. I bring my own sheets and blankets but ended up using the sheets on the bed since they were clean and fresh. The blankets we put on the floor and used our own.

We did notice that Roseanne did watch ALL the comings and goings, but the was fine with us - it keeps out people that are not paying to stay there. And it keeps all the riff-raff out.

The pool was decent. It was heated and it had a kiddie section forr my girls to play in. Roseanne did make sure to catch us as we went in to see if we did shower off before juming in. She watches all!

It is a GREAT location. Just a block or two from the boarwalk. We will stay here again.

  • Liked — Location Location Location
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank my2girlsPa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia,PA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2006

After a terrible week at work I decided a quick getaway was needed...so I went on line to search for a "clean" looking motel in the Wildwoods. I came upon the Bird of Paradise and liked the picture on-line so I called. I spoke to a nice man, Phil who told me about his motel and what the amenities were. After talking to Phil for about 5 minutes, I booked a 3 day stay for myself, my husband and 2 small children. We arrived on Thursday evening and were checked in by a pleasent women, Rosanne, who was able to tell us about the area, what to do, where was "freebie" stuff to do with the children, the zoo was fabulous, and then explained about the boardwalk and where the best kiddie rides were because we have small children.
We had a 1 room effic. on the second floor which was very clean and large enough for our needs.
The motel is located near everything from the beach and boardwalk to restaurants and shopping, we even were able to walk to church services on Sunday.
My children were in love with the 2 puppies in the office, Kisses and Rigatoni and no matter how many times I stopped in to ask a question, Rosanne was able to answer and give me directions on how to get there and wether or not we would need to drive.
We stopped at the zoo on the way home which made our stay all the more happier. It was a beautiful weekend, the weather was great and the motel pool was so refreshing. We will be back and I will tell my friends and family to go there whenever they go to the shore.
The Bird of Paradise is a family friendly welcoming motel were you are made to feel like family.

  • Liked — cleanliness
  • Disliked — could not stay longer
  • Tips/Secrets — call rather then go by the prices on-line. They are willing to make a better deal.
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank RoeRoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2006

DISGUSTING!!!! Bird of Paradise is a royal DUMP!

I booked this motel just from viewing the site. I should have known it was going to be trouble when I found no reviews about this place. Which is why I am writing this one...

I booked the one bedroom "suite" for myself, sister, mother, neice and nephew and infant. When I called I asked if the "suite" would accomodate 4 adults and one child (infant to sleep in pack and play). I was assured that the "suite" would fit six adults comfortably. Well I reserved the room at $200.00 per night mid-week.

When we arrived I knew from the outside that it was a dump. My goodness!!! The pool was smaller than my bathtub... the parking area was cramped. When I checked in I did not even get a smile much less eye contact from the very rude woman behind the desk. Then on the way to the room I saw the cleaning crew. It was Meth Head central at this place!!! Everyone that worked there looked like they just got out of prison and was on a Meth binge.

The room!!! Oh my god! First off the living room was smaller that my foyer at home. And the entire place was covered in wall to wall carpeting!!! Carpeting in a beach motel!!! How disgusting! We could in now way let my 12 month old daughter crawl on the disgusting floor!!! Then the horrible bathroom had bath rugs on the flooor, you know the kind that everyone has in their home? And the bath rugs were actually shag!!! GROSS!!! We took those rugs and threw them under the bed!

The the bed linens had stains on them and smelled! Thank goodness we had the mind to pack our own sheets! We ended up spraying the entire place down with bleach. The room was so cramped with all of us in it that we stayed out of the room as much as possible!

Now onto Wildwood itself!!! First off... unless you have kids, don't even bother going to Wildwood. The place is swarming with trailor trash... obviously their place for vacation! And watch out for the Meth heads that work at the motels that are complete dumps as well.

I was in trailor trash hell for four days. I had to take a hot shower when I got home. Morey's Pier is the ONLY saving grace of Wildwoods.
If you have any class about yourself... stay in Cape May.

Helpful?
7 Thank NewYorker4Life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these North Wildwood hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Wildwood
0.4 mi away
Bolero Resort
Bolero Resort
#52 of 76 in Wildwood
3.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sandy Shores Resort
Sandy Shores Resort
#35 of 41 in North Wildwood
3.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lollipop Motel
Lollipop Motel
#2 of 41 in North Wildwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
White Caps Motel
White Caps Motel
#37 of 41 in North Wildwood
3.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
0.8 mi away
Chateau Bleu Resort Motel
Chateau Bleu Resort Motel
#32 of 41 in North Wildwood
3.5 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
0.2 mi away
Howard Johnson Wildwood Boardwalk
Howard Johnson Wildwood Boardwal...
#39 of 41 in North Wildwood
3.5 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bird of Paradise Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bird of Paradise Motel

Property: Bird of Paradise Motel
Address: 333 E 26th Ave, North Wildwood, NJ 08260-5221
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > North Wildwood
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 41 Hotels in North Wildwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Bird of Paradise Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For a tranquil and relaxing vacation at the real Jersey Shore, our family motel is dedicated to making your visit with us a truly pleasurable one. All of our rooms have a pool view with a balcony where you can enjoy the cool sea breeze. Prefer the beach instead? Just walking distance to the beach, your toes will hit the sand in no time! Bird of Paradise is also close to delicious restaurants, shops, America's Boardwalk, and the water park. Our location is great, and our motel is even better! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Bird of Paradise Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bird Of Paradise Hotel North Wildwood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing