We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Vacation!”
Review of Horizon Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Horizon Motor Inn
Ranked #20 of 41 Hotels in North Wildwood
Certificate of Excellence
Sayreville, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Vacation!”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

When my vacation plans changed at the very last minute, Kathy went above and beyond to accommodate me. She is a lovely person who personally goes out of her way to insure that the hotel guests enjoy their stay and are comfortable and happy. I know of no other hotel where the owners not only cook hot dogs for all their guests on Wednesdays, but also make smores pool side and allow guests the chance for a late evening swim on Fridays. It made for a lot of smiles and some very happy kids and families! The suite I stayed in was very clean, comfortable and extremely roomy and I would definitely recommend the Horizon Motor Inn for anyone considering vacationing in North Wildwood. Thank you, Kathy & Horizon Motor Inn - I truly enjoyed my stay!

Room Tip: Suites have fully equipped kitchens so you don't have to eat every meal out - great on the budge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
horizonmotorinn, Owner at Horizon Motor Inn, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Thank you for staying with us. We are happy that you enjoyed "Weenie Wednesday" and our Friday night activities and also for sharing your experiences on Tripadvisor. We look forward to your return when visiting our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    24
    8
    10
    12
See reviews for
125
9
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Our first experience in North Wildwood. Love this motel. Kathy and Jim are lovely people and very helpful, giving information on the sites and places to visit and eat. Our room was very clean and comfortable. Nice pool. Horizon is a short walk to the boardwalk (no street to cross) and the beach at this location is a short walk (no sand taxi to pay). We are looking forward to bringing the grand kids next time. What a great experience at a great motel!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Connie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
horizonmotorinn, Owner at Horizon Motor Inn, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Thank you for staying with us and thank you for your Tripadvisor review. It was a pleasure having you stay with us. Hoping to to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midland Park, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Me and my family have been staying at the horizon every summer for as long as I can remember. Kathy is always so sweet and accommodating. The rooms are nice. I don't know what some people are expecting for a beachside motel, but it is what it is. Its not the Hilton. In a great location within walking distance to the beach, boardwalk, and some great restaurants. Can't wait to go back for Labor Day!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
horizonmotorinn, Owner at Horizon Motor Inn, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Thank you for staying with us and thank you and thank you for your Tripadvisor review. We look forward to your return when you visit the Wildwoods.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
york, Pa.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Stay away !! This place is a joke. The woman that runs this joint is a mess. She is so rude to guests and you can tell she is just fried from running it. BUGS in our room. When we told them they put a sticky bug thing under our dresser. Sheets were filthy. Everytime we told her about the conditions she just gets very defensive about it and treats you bad the rest of your stay. I agree with the other comment about being scammed with the prices. You are told a price on the phone then when you arrive it goes up !!!! They do not send an email conformation on purpose. They don't want you to have anything in writing when you arrive. I pity her husband because he is half nice and she just ruins it for him. Bathroom was filthy along with microwave. I wish I would have taken a pic. The people on the first floor had mice in their room. I saw a kid poop in the pool. Carpets were just awful. Beds are so uncomfortable we had to go buy 2 air mattresses so we could sleep. VERY noisy at night. They do not quiet down unruly guests. This owner needs to move on. DON'T stay here unless you are desperate.

Room Tip: All rooms are awful
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ginaleana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
horizonmotorinn, Manager at Horizon Motor Inn, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
The reviews “SCAM Artists” and “FILTHY !!! RUDE OWNERS !!!” were written by a mother and daughter team that rented one room for one weekend for five adults. The reservation was made by telephone three days before their arrival. Upon arrival, the balance was paid and they were checked in.
One day later, the mother came down and in a very demanding manner asked for a different rate from the hotel. She was explained to and shown that that was the weekend rate for five adults in a room but remained adamant.
We are very sorry that they were not pleased with their stay with us but there is no need to embellish their reviews with false statements about our accommodations, staff and public area. For a better gauge of our establishment and services, please read more of our reviews. There are 91 of them that rate us as rate very good and excellent.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mid-State, NY
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Spent a week at Horizon in July. We had a great experience at the motel. It was clean, the staff was very friendly. Our kids enjoyed the weinie roast and the s'mores! (I did too.) Any minor issues we encountered the first day were immediately taken care of.
The location is perfect for what we did all week. We walked to the Boardwalk nightly. Saving parking fees really added up!. When we did venture out in the family truckster, there was usually no problems finding a parking space upon our return. Kathy even gave up her spot for us one night as the lot was full.
The pool was very nice, refreshing after a day out at the beach or rides.
Our room was comfortable, it had everything we needed for the weeks stay. The beds were not bad, the temperature of the room was fine when the back bedroom door was left open. It was quiet at night for sleeping.
I'd say we were very pleased with the entire stay and would recommend the Horizon to families with children.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheConstantTraveler3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
horizonmotorinn, Owner at Horizon Motor Inn, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Thank you for staying with us and thank you and for reaching out and giving us a review on Tripadvisor. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pa.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We booked our room 2 weeks in advance and were quoted our price which included all the taxes. Upon our arrival we were told we owe $150 more then the quote. The lady at the front desk was so rude and said that was what we had to pay. The entire city was booked that weekend so we had no choice but to pay it. After talking to other guests at the motel we found that the same thing happened to a few of them. WATCH THEM !!! This is def a scam and once you get there you have no choice if you want a place to stay. Will NEVER stay here again. Sheets were dirty...we had to go down and ask for new ones. Microwave in kitchen was not even usable it was so filthy. STAY AWAY !!!!!!

Room Tip: RUN !!!!!! All rooms are awful, old and worn out
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simbapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
horizonmotorinn, Owner at Horizon Motor Inn, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
The reviews “SCAM Artists” and “FILTHY !!! RUDE OWNERS !!!” were written by a mother and daughter team that rented one room for one weekend for five adults. The reservation was made by telephone three days before their arrival. Upon arrival, the balance was paid and they were checked in.
One day later, the mother came down and in a very demanding manner asked for a different rate from the hotel. She was explained to and shown that that was the weekend rate for five adults in a room but remained adamant.
We are very sorry that they were not pleased with their stay with us but there is no need to embellish their reviews with false statements about our accommodations, staff and public area. For a better gauge of our establishment and services, please read more of our reviews. There are 91 of them that rate us as rate very good and excellent.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southbury, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We stayed at Horizon at the end of July and had a great time! The pool and the surroundings were very clean as well as our room. The motor inn is a short walk to the beach and boardwalk and is on a nice block as well. Hassel's mini golf, bike rentals and ice cream are on the same block. Food and Morey's piers are easily in walking distance. We stayed in room 102 which was right in front of the pool, which was perfect for us since I have 9 and11 year old girls. We definitely recommend this place and will be back again! The only reason I did not give 5 stars was the parking. Not that you didn't get a spot, but sometimes you could get out of it. But management was always on top of it and rectified the situations.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sanfanandre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
horizonmotorinn, Owner at Horizon Motor Inn, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to your return. We also appreciate your review on Tripadvisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these North Wildwood hotels
0.3 mi away
Matador Oceanfront Resort
Matador Oceanfront Resort
#6 of 41 in North Wildwood
217 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lollipop Motel
Lollipop Motel
#2 of 41 in North Wildwood
138 reviews
0.2 mi away
Surf 16 Motel
Surf 16 Motel
#24 of 41 in North Wildwood
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Howard Johnson Wildwood Boardwalk
Howard Johnson Wildwood Boardwal...
#35 of 41 in North Wildwood
251 reviews
0.7 mi away
Alante Oceanfront Motel
Alante Oceanfront Motel
#12 of 41 in North Wildwood
159 reviews
0.9 mi away
Harbor Light Family Resort
Harbor Light Family Resort
#10 of 41 in North Wildwood
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horizon Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horizon Motor Inn

Property: Horizon Motor Inn
Address: 401 E. 21st & Beach Block, P. O. Box 1167, North Wildwood, NJ 08260
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > North Wildwood
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in North Wildwood
#16 On the Beach Hotel in North Wildwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Horizon Motor Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brand new carpeting throughout in 2016! All beach block efficiency suites with kitchens and no streets to cross to the beach and boardwalk. Our rooms were all updated in 2013. The one bedroom units all have Two 32" flat-screen TVs and the two bedroom units all have 3 flat-screens. You'll love our ideal location in the Wildwoods, adjacent to the beach and boardwalk and a few short steps from the amusement piers and water parks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Horizon Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horizon Motor Hotel North Wildwood
Horizon Hotel North Wildwood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing