We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another Epic 4th”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Candlelight Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Candlelight Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Another Epic 4th”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

They did it again! We thought we were just lucky last year but this year was even better. We were there from July 3-8th. Our room was wonderful--even better than last year--quaint, comfortable and hospitable like the "innkeepers" that the owners call themselves.
The "crowd" they draw very warm and friendly--very important as there are two (very substantial) breakfast seatings. 'Missed the pistachio muffins Bill, but the eggs benedict--yes eggs benedict at an B and B--your usual excellent and as usual your wife accommodated us with charm and warmth.
As an added touch there is a snack of homemade cookies and wine for the guests at 4pm. Coffee all day.
Two blocks from the beach, always a breeze on the beautiful corner property--as the sign says on the door we "took our troubles away and left them at the door."
No doubt there are less expensive ways to do Wildwood/Cape May but if this is your vacation as it was ours the extra cost was worth EVERY PENNY.
'See you next year! Save our room please!
Julia and Henry

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    230
    12
    1
    2
    2
See reviews for
25
186
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
White Plains, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2013

The Satin and Lace Room was perfect for the two of us. The 5PM cookies and wine was the perfect snack. Hot Tub is relaxing. But, the breakfasts were sublime. Great Muffins, excellent menu, lovely pace, no rushing us along. The beach chairs, towels, and beach umbrella loans are a wonderful plus.
The guest refrigerator is an added convenience. Just a terrific place to feel welcomed and unwind.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abby M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Breinigsville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2013

When we travel, we prefer Select Registry bed and breakfast inns, and the Candlelight Inn is our favorite "go to" place. We've been to the Candlelight Inn more than a dozen times, and each stay has been delightful. The innkeepers, Bill and Nancy, attend to every detail to ensure a pleasant B&B experience. Breakfasts are delicious, artfully presented, and generously portioned. The only difficult part is choosing which selection you'd most enjoy. We've stayed in many of the rooms and each one has its own special ambiance. All of them include sherry, chocolates, fresh flowers, fluffy robes, and ultra-comfortable beds. Afternoon treats and wine, and always available tea, coffee, soft drinks, movies, books, hot tub, and porch rockers allow guests to take full advantage of the inn's charm and the owners' hospitality. We look forward to returning time and time again to this excellent B&B.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michele G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staten Island, New York
Level Contributor
49 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

I seldom, if ever, put aside time to take (metaphoric) pen in hand & write a Yelp review regarding a Bed & Breakfast or Hotel stays that Marie & I have experienced. We mostly stick to restaurant reviews (given the frustrated, amateur, food critic/foodie that I am!) In this particular case, however, I was compelled to take a moment & review our wonderful experiences at the Candlelight Inn of New Jersey.
Our experiences, after two visits, to the Candlelight Inn of Wildwood NJ (just a "stone's throw away" from renowned Cape May, have been outstanding!
Nancy & Bill focus on providing their guests with a lovely three course breakfast, extremely comfortable accommodations, & a myriad of thoughtful amenities. We prefer staying at the Carriage house's upstairs Seashore Suite, juxtaposition just next to the sprawling, beautiful main Victorian. The Seashore Suite allows one to spread out & relax in a spacious bedroom with two-person Jacuzzi, separate living room with fireplace & pull-out love seat, attached beautiful little kitchenette, & separate bathroom with shower. It also has a sitting area outside the door, and after descending, you find yourself right by the outdoor Hot Tub and full deck. Don't get me wrong, the main house has some lovely rooms, however we just fell in love with the roomy Seashore Suite (and last year we were able to share it with our nephew & niece, while still maintaining our privacy.) Every day of our stay our numerous amenities are replaced, including bottled water, chocolates, toiletries basket, extra beach towels, fresh flowers, sherry, Jacuzzi oils, etc., & the room is cleaned to absolute perfection.
Every morning, after getting to choose from two morning seating times, and which breakfast entree you prefer, the night before, one is treated to a memorable, multi-course morning meal whose selections change daily. There is always a tasty variation on fresh seasonal fruits, followed by one of Bill's fabulous home-baked muffins (I don't know if there is a limited to just how many different types of muffins he bakes, but if there is, we haven't seen it!.) Along with plenty of great coffee & assorted herbal teas (which, by the way, we also have available in our Suite.) Next comes the main course (served with bacon or sausage.) These have included: Eggs Benedict, Vanilla French Toast with home-made whip creme, Egg Fajitas, Egg Strata, Banana & Granola Pancakes, delicious waffles, etc. The egg dishes are full of flavor and so light, they should float off the plate. Bill & Nancy each have their own specialties (with Bill's expertise leaning more toward the baked goods, also including homemade cookies that are left out with wine and refreshments in the afternoon,) and Nancy is consistently working wonders with most egg creations.
When one adds-in the selection of DVD's, free Wi-Fi, Bill & Nancy's helpful insights into the restaurants & attractions of Cape May & Wildwood (including the endless selections of both fine & casual dinning,) loaner towels & chairs for the free beaches, there really could be no other chose for us when staying at this end of NJ!
I would love to mention in detail all the wonderful vacation experiences we have Dolphin Watching, Birding, visiting the Cape May Zoo or Historic Cold Spring Village, the countless great places to eat or shop, the available biking & beaches, however, they have guide books at The Candlelight, filled with vacation options, so it is far more important to emphasize here the fine experience of picking the perfect place to stay (and all else will follow!)
Last but not least, for the Cape May and Wildwood area, the suite & room prices are a great value, that include Multi-night discounts and many options that all stretch the vacation dollar much further than staying in a smaller, less appointed place, within Cape May (especially when Cape May is only a few minutes away!)
We had to add an extra night to out stay, & since our lovely upstairs Seashore suite was booked, we were able to shift downstairs to the other (really nice) suite in the Carriage House. Nancy & Bill went out of their way to ensure our last minute transition went smoothly & with minimum fuss. When we finally had to leave, Bill & Nancy made us feel like family, whose repeat patronage was absolutely valued and appreciated by them!
We truly look forward to the next time that we can take a break from our hectic work lives, and return once more to the Candlelight Inn Bed & Breakfast and all that it has to offer us while away on vacation, including a lifetime of great memories!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BillLaCurtisStatenIs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

Had a wonderful stay here this past weekend, the porch itself is worth coming back for! We stayed for two nights, so were able to enjoy 2 wonderful breakfasts (pina colada muffins were so good!) and the company of Bill and Nancy who were super nice. There were all kinds of pleasant surprises, wine out around happy hour, freshly baked and warm cookies, a tray of snack food and soft drinks, chocolates in the room, a comfie bed, private parking, a lovely breeze, a great porch swing and hammock. We already had plans for dinner but I overheard another guest asking for recommendations for a good steak and Bill picked up the phone and called the restaurant for them. They also made sure to tell us that if we needed beach towels or chairs they had them to use as well as ice packs for a cooler. We look forward to returning hopefully sooner than later.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leslie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Highlands, New Jersey
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2013

We visited the Candlelight Inn for our 5th time. Every time we visit seems like coming to our vacation home. Bill and Nancy are fantastic. They make you feel so welcome and the food is always sooooo good! We have never had anything for breakfast that wasn't wonderful. We are going back for our 6th time with our daughter and son-in law in September.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WeTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackwood, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2013

Loved it !!!!!!!!!.......Great location,the rooms were very clean,private and comfortable.Bill & Nancy are Very nice and attentive to your needs,they make a Fantastic breakfast.This was our first stay and definitely won't be the last.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Wildwood
3.4 mi away
Icona Diamond Beach
Icona Diamond Beach
#1 of 7 in Lower Township
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,110 reviews
1.5 mi away
Adventurer Oceanfront Inn
Adventurer Oceanfront Inn
#2 of 67 in Wildwood Crest
4.5 of 5 bubbles 846 reviews
0.2 mi away
Summer Nites Bed & Breakfast
Summer Nites Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 7 in North Wildwood
5.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The StarLux Hotel & Suites
0.1 mi away
Lollipop Motel
Lollipop Motel
#2 of 41 in North Wildwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
0.7 mi away
Quebec Motel By-The-Sea
Quebec Motel By-The-Sea
#2 of 76 in Wildwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlelight Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlelight Inn

Property: Candlelight Inn
Address: 2310 Central Ave, North Wildwood, NJ 08260-5359
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > North Wildwood
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in North Wildwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Candlelight Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Candlelight Inn has a Tesla and a universal charging station for our guests with electric vehicles to use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Candlelight Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing