We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVE THE IVANHOE!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ivanhoe Motel and Apartments
Ranked #16 of 41 Hotels in North Wildwood
Reviewed 18 July 2013

I've been spending a week at the Ivanhoe every Summer since 1996,and I've never been remotely dissatisfied with either the accomodations or the staff. It's always been a clean and comfortable place,and,as it's only about half a block from the beach \ boardwalk,it's very convieniently located. My Summer home away from home! Love the Ivanhoe!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ross T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nwmotelman, Owner at Ivanhoe Motel and Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

It is nice to hear that you consider the Ivanhoe your summer home and that you have been satisfied each time you have stayed with us. Thank you for your continued visits.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (98)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 98 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the Ivanhoe Motel for the weekend of 4th of July. This was my first time staying at this hotel and I loved it. I thought it was clean, cute, and comfortable. I love that the grills are separate from the pool area. At first I was concerned that no grills were provided, but the owner walked me over to a patio area equipped with two large grills, several picnic tables with umbrellas, and lawn chairs. My family and I like to rent bicycles in the morning and there was a shop located a few steps from the motel. Also, located in the same area was a miniature golf course. It took us 7 minutes from the door of the motel to the water on the beach. The only complaint I have about this motel are the pool hours. The pool opens at 10 and closes at 6. I feel 6 is a bit early to close the pool. I think they should extend the pool hours. I will definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jasminrivera0318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nwmotelman, Owner at Ivanhoe Motel and Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

We thank you for your positive review of the Ivanhoe and the comments that you made regarding the location. Happy to hear you will be staying with us in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Stayed here Wednesday the 3rd before checking into the Panoramic next door on Thursday. The Ivanhoe has very friendly staff with a well maintained pool area and clean rooms. Parking included in front and you are right next to the beach and boardwalk. Can't ask for much more, families and couples looking for a relaxing vacation will enjoy.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nwmotelman, Owner at Ivanhoe Motel and Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Glad to hear you had a relaxing time at the Ivanhoe and found our location to be favorable. Many of our guest tell us that they like the parking situation as they don't have to" piggyback" their car with another guest. Thank you for the kind review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

Hope you make your reservations early. Always a sell-out. Clean rooms and pool area. Parking right outside your door. This is our place for happy times and memories. The owner is a very kind person and will always go beyond to accommadate your needs. Hope you enjoy your stay as much as my family always does.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nwmotelman, Owner at Ivanhoe Motel and Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

We strive to accommodate our guests needs and are grateful that you appreciate the clean rooms, pool and convenient parking. Hope you will continue to enjoy future stays!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013

My husband and I stayed here June, 2012 with our daughter, son-in-law and their 5 children, ages 4 - 11. Absolutely wonderful time...spacious rooms, side by side, first floor, parking right outside our door. Management was MORE than helpful - very friendly and helpful. Pool area well maintained. No air conditioning noise like in some places we've stayed in Wildwood. Close to the beach and boardwalk - short walk and no streets to cross - just a very nice location. In the morning we rented bikes from the place right in the same block - very convenient...and later in the day the tram car runs up and down so if we didn't feel like walking we just took a ride down towards the Convention Center and then enjoyed our stroll back. We have our reservations for June and can't wait to return. In fact we stayed here in September for a quick overnight get-away and realized then how much we are looking forward to summer. We do indeed LOVE COMING TO THE IVANHOE!!

Room Tip: We like the first floor with the grandkids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gail H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nwmotelman, Owner at Ivanhoe Motel and Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

We love having you as our guests as much as you love coming to the Ivanhoe!! Thanks for taking time to write such a lengthy review with kind remarks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

We stayed in the Apts on 2nd floor for a week Aug 2012 WE WILL NOT BE BACK!!! The musty old carpets that ran up and down the walls Who carpets the walls anyway? Apparently They do to hide the mold on the walls made us feel sick They had carpets on kitchen floor also all with mold on them The kitchen table broke three times during our stay and rather than get a new one they screwed it back together again This table was fixed so many times it had to be glued By me !Only one burner on stove worked The bathroom shower was dirty enough for me to go by a bath mat and cleanser from the store. Very out dated for the same price I could have done much better. On the positive side Close to everything on beach block great deck out back The pool was clean and cleaning staff did the best they could do in such a dirty old place !!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank joy4ft9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nwmotelman, Owner at Ivanhoe Motel and Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

We're sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us but we must take exception with some of your comments. Our carpets are cleaned every spring by a professional carpet cleaning company so we find it hard to believe that there was mold everywhere. If there were issues with the bathroom we would have addressed them immediately if you brought it to our attention. Lastly, just because something breaks it doesn't warrant replacing. If you fixed the table with glue and it worked, it couldn't have been as bad as you described. We will take your comments under advisement to better service future guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2012

We stayed in one of the apartments for a week for family vacation this summer. We had stayed here before, in the very same apartment actually, in the summer of 2003. Nothing had changed, and I don't know whether that's a good or bad thing honestly. The parking situation isn't great even for people renting the apartments-- the spaces are separate from the hotel, but there's not a lot of room. A couple that checked in late in the week pretty much had a blocked out because of their poor parking job, and we had two cars to pull in one behind the other. The bathroom shower was kind of gross-looking. We couldn't figure out if it was dirty or if the paint had been scraped away, but we didn't take chances and bought a bath mat at a local store. Housekeeping was pretty inconsistent throughout our stay-- some days we got towels, other days we had to hunt someone down to get them or ask them to vacuum. They left a vacuum in the apartment one day, I'm not sure if that was a hint that we should do it ourselves or what!

We had use of the pool, which is nice for the kids, and the hotel is within very close walking distance of the beach and the boardwalk. We also had access to laundry facilities on site and grills behind the apartment. There was wifi, although the signal wasn't very strong, so we didn't always have luck getting onto our usual websites. The beds were okay, but a few of us were sleeping on the pull-out sofas, and those were really uncomfortable. On our last night there, thunder and lightning storms had us without any power for a little while, which scared the kids but we made the most of it.

Overall the location for this place is great, and it gets the job done. There's nothing fancy about the place, and like a lot of places in Wildwood it just seems like everything is very old, but we've stayed in a lot worse down the shore too.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank N H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nwmotelman, Owner at Ivanhoe Motel and Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Thank you for your review and 3 star rating. I would like to address some of your comments starting with parking. The Ivanhoe has 100% off street parking. If a parking space is not available it may be due to a visitor occupying a guest's spot or a guest taking up 2 spots due to poor positioning. Unlike some motels, we do not have "piggyback" parking where guest must leave their keys in the office. If there was an issue with housekeeping it was never brought to our attention because we would have addressed your concerns immediately. We do leave a vacuum in the closet for your convenience. With wireless wifi, the motel is at the mercy of the signal provider and doesn't have much control over this. If the electric went out during a storm, i don't think there is much one could do. We appreciate your time to bring to our attention you concerns and shall use them to better provide our guests in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these North Wildwood hotels
0 mi away
Horizon Motor Inn
Horizon Motor Inn
#19 of 41 in North Wildwood
166 reviews
0 mi away
Panoramic Motel Apts
Panoramic Motel Apts
#13 of 41 in North Wildwood
99 reviews
0.1 mi away
Howard Johnson Wildwood Boardwalk
Howard Johnson Wildwood Boardwal...
#37 of 41 in North Wildwood
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Alante Oceanfront Motel
Alante Oceanfront Motel
#12 of 41 in North Wildwood
161 reviews
0.3 mi away
Matador Oceanfront Resort
Matador Oceanfront Resort
#5 of 41 in North Wildwood
224 reviews
0.2 mi away
White Caps Motel
White Caps Motel
#34 of 41 in North Wildwood
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ivanhoe Motel and Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ivanhoe Motel and Apartments

Address: 430 E 21st Ave, North Wildwood, NJ 08260-5324
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > North Wildwood
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in North Wildwood
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New for 2014! 32" Flat screen TVs in all living rooms! Welcome to the incomparable Ivanhoe Motel and Apartments, where you'll spend a truly royal vacation amid all the excitement of Wildwood. You'll discover your own perfect place in the sun at the Ivanhoe. After a refreshing swim in our spacious heated pool, you can relax on either of our two sun decks. And the children can enjoy safe water fun in our protected kiddie pool. The beach and boardwalk are just steps away. Soft sands and rolling surf. . . Quiet days on the beach and exciting nights on the town .. . This is the vacation world of the Ivanhoe, the resort that treats you royally. You'll relax in regal splendor at the incomparably comfortable Ivanhoe Motel and Apartments. Choose a spacious two room or four room suite, a fully-equipped efficiency or a deluxe motel room with refrigerator. The pictures with individual layouts will assist you in deciding which accommodation is best suited for your needs. The Ivanhoe is ideal for your holiday in the sun. You'll be just a few easy steps away from the world's finest and safest bathing beach and the amusement-filled boardwalk. There's excellent swimming and boating, fabulous fishing from nearby piers, and golfing privileges at a nearby country club. Theatres, shops, restaurants, wineries, breweries and night clubs are just minutes away, and it's a short drive to Atlantic City's fabulous shows and exciting casinos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Ivanhoe Motel and Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ivanhoe Motel And Apartments Hotel North Wildwood
Ivanhoe Motel North Wildwood
Ivanhoe Hotel North Wildwood

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing