We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent local restaurant”
Review of American Bistro

American Bistro
Ranked #3 of 77 Restaurants in Nutley
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$40 - US$60
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Reservations
Description: American Bistro is a neighborhood Italian/American Restaurant situated in Nutley, New Jersey with Amazing Food, Large Portions, Great Bar, Stellar Wine List, & 5 HDTV's in the Bar Area to watch all the games. Owned & Operated by Chef Kenny Mahon since 1994.
Ridgewood, N.J.
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent local restaurant”
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We were greeted warmly upon entering - even though this was our first time at this restaurant. The food and service were excellent, and the prices very reasonable for the quality and quantity of the food. Complementary antipasto and biscotti were a nice touch. Would definitely return.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank jeflaw567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    18
    6
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Nutley, New Jersey, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Food is AWESOME!!!! A must place to visit. The food is consistently delicious, and the portions are great. Cold antipasto included with all meals.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GregoryPalmaSr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nutley, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Always Excellent ”
Reviewed 19 December 2013 via mobile

I have been coming to this restaurant for many years. I just recently went back after not going for a while and it still has the same great qualities. The food is amazing and the appetizer prior to your meal is sensational. I got the chicken ala casa and it was better this time than it has been in years past. Chef Kenny does a great job at keeping this establishment top notch. I'll be back!

Helpful?
Thank JerseyChris19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Neighborhood Gem”
Reviewed 1 October 2013 via mobile

Fantastic local restaurant in Nutley. The menu is great and very high quality food. No need to order a appetizer as they provide you a complimentary antipasto. Service has always been great as well, highly recommend a reservation.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kfvassall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Butler, New Jersey, United States
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Large Portions and Deeelish”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

American Bistro has become one of my favorite restaurants. Don't let the prices fool you, the portions are hefty and absolutely Delicious! WELL WORTH RY PENNY and MORSEL!
As always, the plate of Antipasto served before even placing the order is a great surprise, no matter how many times your frequent.
We had ordered the asparagus wrapped prosciutto, which is fried and served along with a ginger sauce. Surprisingly tasted, nothing as expected. Unique and very tasty!
Followed by the half portion of a very fresh, crisp Seafood salad. This being the second time we have ordered it, I was a little disappointed that the portion was smaller since our last. For dinner, a heaping portion of Lingiuni in a Putanesca sauce was savory and salty as expected. Chunks of garlic, anchovy and capers added an abundance salty goodness. We also ordered the Grilled Pork Chop plate. Slightly over cooked, the Char, and taste was satisfying. We skipped dessert thanks to being over stuffed and absolutely satisfied. Love bistro! Servers are personable and a visit from the Chef is what makes this trip a regular one.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Artie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to American Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing