We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing good to say”
Review of valley Stables

valley Stables
Ranked #28 of 37 Restaurants in Oakland
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Mahwah, New Jersey
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Nothing good to say”
Reviewed 15 November 2013

This place used to be cozy, warm and have great food. Now cold, boring and bland as is the food. The bar is a depressing dark cave and the upstairs sterile. All the character has left. At least if the food was good you would overlook the rest. We sat at the bar (4pm) for an early bite and had to wait 15 minutes for the bartender to come back after she placed a couple menus in front of us. Too busy chatting with the regulars. Will not go back. Too many other good local places.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MarciaCSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    5
    7
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lebanon, New Jersey
Level Contributor
1,315 reviews
1,135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 414 helpful votes
“Good place for upscale bar food”
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Lady stopped here with work colleagues. She had the veggie burger with avocado and mushrooms. She says it was almost as good as mine cooked over charcoal. Very nice atmosphere. Good bar area. Good service.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Morgan2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
189 reviews
181 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“"Average" -- not bad, not good. OK food. Decent bar crowd.”
Reviewed 15 April 2013

I agree with the review above. It was just OK. Average food. Not bad, not good. I've gone there for dinner. The service is sub-par in my opinion. The staff I experienced was nice and polite, but they are just not attentive. As a matter of fact, one time, our waitress, was very nice and very polite. She just wasn't around as much as needed, and for a table of 4 for dinner that's a problem. The burgers were fair at best. I wouldn't order one again. The appetizers were good, but everyone commented they were expensive for the most part, based upon size, portion, etc. Another time, my friends dragged me their for dinner. This time we did have a waitress who seemed to have an attitude, was somewhat dismissive and in my opinion just doesn't have the temperament for the position or perhaps service industry. She was walking away from the table, almost rushing, before someone finished their request or finished speaking. She appeared to be bothered by the fact that someone wanted more water, or more butter.

That aside, there is a decent bar crowd. Bartenders are nice -- that's the highlight of the place. Good drinks. Occasionally they have a band, but the acoustics are not very good and the layout isn't favorable -- they are jammed in their and it gets cramped.

I think the "OK" food was brought down a notch by the service. Perhaps they are understaffed. I don't know. I have friends in the area and every so often someone wants to go or try it. There's not a lot of similar places, although down 202 in Mahwah, right off 17 is Mahwah Bar and Grill and the Mason Jar. I'd rank both those places far above this one.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cory r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, New York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“It's just ok”
Reviewed 16 March 2013

I've gone here a few times for lunch and it's just ok. The food is ok. The service is ok. The atmosphere is ok. I've ordered a number of different dishes and none stand out. Once I had an amazing dessert with decadent ice cream and haven't seen it on the menu since. Maybe it's a better choice for dinner.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Warwicker08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed valley Stables also viewed

 

Been to valley Stables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing