We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, but to busy.”
Review of Portobello

Portobello
Ranked #16 of 37 Restaurants in Oakland
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Wayne, New Jersey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice, but to busy.”
Reviewed 21 December 2013

I've lived in the area for years, and after a 20 minute wait, past our reservervtion time, & also specifiying where we would like to be seated, upstairs....all else failed & we ended up in the bar area....still better than the Italian Kitchen area. 20 minutes later.. we were seated again in the bar.
The Waitress was "Francine" was barely functional. Appitizers came out 2 minutes at a time. The food was great!!!! That is the only thing this place has.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LMJF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    65
    50
    33
    50
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
River Edge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
267 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“So terribly disappointed...”
Reviewed 17 December 2013

This review refers to the Portobello Restaurant, not the catering hall across the parking lot from the restaurant. May be this can be chalked up to a Monday night dinner, but this should not happen any night at a fine restaurant like this one is reputed to be. Food was over cooked and over seasoned (Mediterranean seafood platter was chewy; limp, slippery eggplant ravioli that seemed to have been sitting too long in water; very salty Chilean bass entree were among the surprised diners' complaints.) We couldn't even get a glass of water refilled in a timely fashion, and this was not due to a very busy restaurant wait staff. Finally, the upstairs room was so chilly that we wondered if the heat had been turned down. The bright side of the evening was the event we were celebrating, which we were hoping to reflect in our choice of venue. Very disappointing!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dramom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chehalis, Washington
Level Contributor
146 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Best Place for 75th Birthday Party (Banquet Room)”
Reviewed 22 November 2013

We had Pop's 75th birthday party over in the annex (banquet facility) I have to say the crew over there did an outstanding job. We sent over some video's to play at the party and they took the time to make a disc, set up a projector and play the video for us. Many Thanks!! I really don't know what the food costs for a party like this but EVERYTHING was excellent. When it was over they boxed up most of the leftovers for the family to enjoy later. I can't say enough good things about the staff, the food, and the really great time we had.
Bon Apetit

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank dallasrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
421 reviews
257 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 251 helpful votes
“Good selection & surprisingly inexpensive”
Reviewed 15 November 2013

We were here recently for a special milestone birthday celebration with family. Another family member picked the restaurant and we were guests.

The place is quite spacious and well decorated. We were there on a Saturday afternoon and there were a few other large groups at neighboring tables. We didn't see the downstairs dining areas, but the upstairs can easily cater to more than one large group (10-15) at one time. Noise was not an issue.

The menu was extensive and surprisingly inexpensive. Most entrees were $10 - $15 which seemed extremely cheap. I was concerned about the quality of the food at those prices. Strangely too, for a restaurant with the name of Portobello and with the Italian décor, they offered an entire selection of sushi. One of the guests ordered a California roll and stated it was good. But, ordering a California roll is not a good indicator of good sushi. So really, it was hard to tell about the quality.

We started with the calamari and melon & prosciutto which was all very good. The salads, which were included with the dinners were just ok - we all could have skipped them and most were not eaten. Just chunks of lettuce in a bowl, nothing wonderful. The calamari was crisp and the serving size was good. We all had varied entrees but I chose the lobster and asparagus risotto. The price was like $11. It was actually ok. A large portion but the asparagus was mostly just the stalks with few tips and I think they added raw onions which I didn't expect. I was crunching on small pieces of onion which killed the otherwise smooth taste of the risotto. Others had the Osso buco which was again, ok. I don't think anyone was wowed with the food, but for the price, it was reasonable and fine.

The wait staff was good.

I left there feeling ok. Not great, not bad, but just ok. I can see where this is a favorite place for for showers, birthdays, retirements etc. For the price and for large groups who don't expect a 5 star dining experience, it would be fine.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JudyMetroNYCarea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
138 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Good local place”
Reviewed 9 November 2013

This is a good NJ type place. It's large. You don't need a reservation. It's not romantic and sometimes loud. Food is ok. Menu is huge. Menu is too large. It's better than cooking.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank CrankierThanThou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Portobello also viewed

 

Been to Portobello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing