We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent in every way” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Portobello

Portobello
Ranked #18 of 37 Restaurants in Oakland
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Chatham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
386 reviews
299 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Excellent in every way”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

Friendly, prompt efficient service. Lunch as very good and a good value with very adequate portions. Swordfish dish was delicious and only $9 with salad. Soup was great. Bread was excellent. Glass of house was generous. Highly recommend.

Helpful?
Thank Quinnscommentary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    60
    48
    32
    49
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
143 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good Lunch But Really Loud”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

Went for a business lunch. The lunch specials were reasonably priced, food and service was good. The negitive was that it was so loud we were unable to have any conversations. Never had dinner here but if someone is looking for a relaxing even simi quiet place for lunch this would not be it.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank hanshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Never go here for Mothers a Day”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

Went out for Mothers Day Dinner Buffet. It was awful. Our reservation was 2:30.....sat around 3:00. Glasses on terrible were dirty, service was non existent, no plates at buffet, food was lacking and had been sitting out for a while. Nobody was at carving stations, plus the lamb was chewy, salmon was dry, salad was wilty, it took my seven year old over 15 minutes to get orange juice. Also, it was expensive. Ruined my Mothers a Day!!!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Christine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wyckoff, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“You have been warned!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

Beyond unacceptable! My children took me to Mother's Day brunch today. We had noon reservations for seatings that started at 11 and when we arrived on time, we were told at least a 30 min wait. We were first seated at a bar top table at 12:40 and I said that we wanted a real dining table. 5 minutes later we were seated in the down stairs dining room. We had to squeeze through seated guests to get to the appetizer section where there were 1-2 tongs for every 5 platters. No green salad of any kind. The breakfast section was fairly good but cold because they didn't realize the sterno was all used up. The main food station had pasta vodka which was very good and everything else was poor at best. The veg lasagna, eggplant and stuffed pasta were all mushy and over cooked. Now for dessert...nothing unless you like cheese cake. No chocolate or carrot cake or pudding just dried Danishes and a few pastries. The staff automatically added a 20% gratuity to the bill for a table of 3 at a buffet, which I was told was "as advertised"

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Janet P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sparta, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Terrible experience”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

Our group of 6 arrived at Portobello for dinner at 7 pm. We had been there before and enjoyed the food. Last night was terrible. Service was spotty and the food poor. Appetizers and bread were the best parts of the meal. One dinner was so dry it was returned uneaten. My pasta dish tasted of pasta water and not sauce. The waitress was slow and didn't mention any reason for delay in ordering or receiving our food. We left around 9:30 without coffee or dessert preferring not to wait any longer. No comp was offered for the returned food. Two members of our group spoke with the manager after our meal. His response was that there was simply a delay from the kitchen. Again no offer of comp or apology. We won't be returning anytime soon.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Drothe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Portobello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing