We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“decent value for the price”
Review of Portobello

Portobello
Ranked #12 of 37 Restaurants in Oakland
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Lyndhurst, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“decent value for the price”
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

Had the opportunity to visit Portobello for the sunday brunch on fathers day. The service was excellent. The brunch overall was quite good with one exception, that being that the clams and oysters, and muscles, werel sandy due to not being properly rinsed. Other then that one issue the overall bunch was quite good. I have dined here before for lunch and was some what shocked at the sandy condition of the seafood.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Wearytravler49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    67
    51
    33
    50
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
1,160 reviews
364 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2,398 helpful votes
“Bargain Lunch”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

I took my mother here for Mother's Day Brunch. I don't think I would come back here for a buffet type occasion, but my parents love their bargain $9 lunch. The atmosphere is fun and festive, and the outdoor dining space is great.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Luvs2TravelAnywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatham, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
408 reviews
321 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Excellent in every way”
Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

Friendly, prompt efficient service. Lunch as very good and a good value with very adequate portions. Swordfish dish was delicious and only $9 with salad. Soup was great. Bread was excellent. Glass of house was generous. Highly recommend.

Helpful?
Thank Quinnscommentary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Good Lunch But Really Loud”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Went for a business lunch. The lunch specials were reasonably priced, food and service was good. The negitive was that it was so loud we were unable to have any conversations. Never had dinner here but if someone is looking for a relaxing even simi quiet place for lunch this would not be it.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hanshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Never go here for Mothers a Day”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Went out for Mothers Day Dinner Buffet. It was awful. Our reservation was 2:30.....sat around 3:00. Glasses on terrible were dirty, service was non existent, no plates at buffet, food was lacking and had been sitting out for a while. Nobody was at carving stations, plus the lamb was chewy, salmon was dry, salad was wilty, it took my seven year old over 15 minutes to get orange juice. Also, it was expensive. Ruined my Mothers a Day!!!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Christine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Portobello also viewed

 

Been to Portobello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing