We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Sunday Brunch Buffet” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Portobello

Portobello
Ranked #18 of 37 Restaurants in Oakland
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Sunday Brunch Buffet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Had a great time at this restaurant. Great exterior building outlook. Nice warm ambiance inside. Food was very good. Wait staff was very attentive and quick to fulfill requests. The Manager was fine. Problem was with the Reception! The moment we came in and asked for seating at the Buffet restaurant hall, we were told that it was full and we'd have to sit in other halls, or outside. We saw vast amounts of empty tables but were told it was being held by reservation! We were then sat at a table outside when we inquired from the Manager if we could sit in the inside hall and she was only too pleased to move us to one of the empty tables. When we mentioned the "reservations", she said that there were none and if there were any, those were cancelled. Anyway, had a great time there, though the attitude of the Receptionist sucked big-time!!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sky C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    60
    48
    32
    49
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lee
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Mannager Nora was horrible and came to attitude.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

I had really horrible experience. Several of us had sushi and it was bad. We were commenting it taste like bad supermarket sushi. When a waiter came over to ask if everything was all right we told him that it was bad. In a strange but sort of bragging way he said " but the sushi chef is so experienced because he makes the sushi for the Shop Rite down the road". OMG they are charging twice the price for supermarket sushi. We then called the manager Nora over and after waiting 15 minutes to see her she said she would discount it but couldn't take it off the bill and gave us a rotten additute to match the food.
When we got the bill she removed 2 of our soda refills for a total of $5 and charged us for $36 worth of sushi that we didn't eat.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jinhui921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wanaque, New Jersey
Level Contributor
34 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

Lovely outside eating area, food was great, service was non-existent. It took over a 1/2 hour for someone to take our drink order and another 1/2 hour to receive the drinks, then another 1/2 hour to give our dinner order. The seats were too low for most of us at the table and when we asked for cushions that we saw other diner had we were told there were none. I will not be back as there are so many other better restaurants in the area.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jbm5186st
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zephyrhills, Florida
Level Contributor
186 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“good Italian food in an attractive setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Large menu, good Italian food, in a pretty setting. This is a festive place, not the best for conversation with its noise level. I made a reservation online through its website but the hostess had no record of it, so it would be smart to check your reservation.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PascoBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Waitstaff-menu issue”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

The restaurant has a lovely ambiance and we were seated at a very nice table upstairs near a window. We were given what seemed like too many menus and realized they each had different choices. It was confusing and awkward and I don't see any point to keeping them separate. Our waiter was foreign and spoke almost no English. He was very sweet but had no idea what things were and could not answer any of our questions. He made it clear it was his first day and coupled with a language barrier made it very diifficult. We ordered salads to start only to find out that salad came with our meals. We were able to cancel the salads and order different appetizers. When a new waiter starts a job he/she should be shadowed by a more experienced waiter. This was not a take out restaurant. When you are going for a relaxing meal that is NOT cheap, you expect the service to be attentive and have any questions from the menu answered. I do not fault the waiter, I fault the restaurant manager. When our main courses came out they were served by someone we hadn't seen before and he screamed out "who gets the..." Classless. The food was good and portions were plentiful but the problems with the waitstaff put a damper on our meal.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank beachgirl5514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Portobello also viewed

 

Been to Portobello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing