We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Harris House Motel(Ocean City)(Great Value!)
US$105
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$130/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$300
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
Ocean Breeze Hotel(Ocean City)
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blue Water Inn(Ocean City)
US$92
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Biscayne Suites(Ocean City)(Great Value!)
US$144
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Port-O-Call Hotel(Ocean City)
US$189
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ocean 7(Ocean City)
US$108
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$121/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Ocean Front Motel(Ocean City)(Great Value!)
US$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coral Sands(Ocean City)
US$68
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (189)
Filter reviews
189 results
Traveller rating
147
19
9
10
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
147
19
9
10
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsafternoon snackchanging areamid week stayloyal customersmain dishcomfortable stayb b'soff street parkingtwo twin bedsbreakfast each morningthird floorbeach tagsoutdoor showerfew blocksboard gamessmall bathroomceiling fan
Filter
Updating list...
92 - 97 of 189 reviews
Reviewed 21 July 2013

The Scarborough Inn was a great place for me to spend a one night reunion with a high school friend. We had lived in OC for the summer 34 years ago, and this was a convenient location for us to be able to visit all of our favorite OC/Somers Point memories.

The Ballade Room was a cheerfully decorated and sunny room with two twin beds. These could be converted to a king. I debated giving a five star rating because the bathroom is quite small and could use a fan, but for the price, location, and service it was worth that small inconvenience.

The staff was very accommodating. The off street parking is really helpful because it's difficult to find parking in OC. Their website clearly states that you are given one parking space per unit, but when we arrived early...in two separate cars...they allowed parking spaces for both even though they were almost completely full. We knew that if one more room filled we would have to move, but it worked out great.

Being able to use the beach passes and outdoor showers after check-out was also a very nice extra.

This may become a yearly tradition!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BtWgn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sea_jayOCNJ, Owner at Scarborough Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

How lovely that you and a high school friend had a mini-reunion at the Scarborough Inn! We are pleased that you found so many things to be enthusiastic about and we sincerely hope your pleasant stay will become an annual tradition. Maybe you will stay longer next time, there's so much to see and do in Ocean City! If you need a larger bathroom, just request a larger room or a suite (the price will be a bit higher of course). See you next reunion!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

On a recent stay at the Scarborough Inn, I found that the staff members were very sincere and helpful with regards to making sure that we were comfortable. The house is charming and well appointed and the location is decent; only about two blocks from the beach. Very clean too. Gus is a great host and has a genuine love for what he does. Our breakfast was good too. Home cooked and just the right amount of food with each serving. Not sure if this is the best choice for families with very young children (no pool/play area and delicate surroundings) but, this is a nice, clean location nonetheless.

Room Tip: Ask for the corner family suite on the second floor if you have children. It's actually two rooms that connect but counts as one 'suite'.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissyPA71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sea_jayOCNJ, Owner at Scarborough Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

We are pleased that the staff was "sincere" about making sure you were "comfortable" as that is very important to us as hosts. You go on to mention many things that you found very pleasing - thank you so much! You seem a little cautious about children at the inn, however. It may not be an appropriate choice for all youngsters depending on their age and experience. We do have several designated "family rooms" with washable decor and specify "well-behaved children welcome" - this seems to help guide families to make appropriate decisions. Many families do visit year after year and we hope you will come again, too.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

The Scarborough Inn has been our OCNJ retreat for twenty years. Gus and Carol have maintained their excellent service standards throughout. The beautiful Victorian structure is lovingly maintained. Rooms vary in size, but all are well appointed and comfortable. The wrap-around porch and rocking chairs provide a serene spot for reading, relaxing or just watching the world go by.

Breakfasts are creative and delicious and afternoon tea is welcome after a day of sunning, shopping, or strolling.

The B&B is ideally located on Ocean Avenue, just three short blocks to the boardwalk and beach. It is also located three blocks from the Asbury Avenue shopping district.

Staff is professional, polite and always go out of their way to make your stay perfect.

We're looking forward to twenty more years at this lovely beach getaway.

Room Tip: We like the rooms on the third floor with the king beds. Note that the facility has no elevator, so it is not handicap accessible. Each room has a parking space, a plus during the busy summer season.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sea_jayOCNJ, Owner at Scarborough Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Elizabeth, Thank you for taking the time to write such a glowing and comprehensive review; we are thrilled! You mention our "excellent standards" related to: care of this historic inn, guest rooms, amenities, food, plus great location & staff. On behalf of our entire team, we are grateful and hope you DO continue to visit for another 20 years!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Thank you again Scarborough Inn for a fantastic weekend in OCNJ. Everything from the room to breakfast, the outdoor shower and rocking chairs on the front porch was fantastic! You really do bring staying at a B&B to another level. Every breakfast we've had at your Inn has been divine (and I say this as a foodie who has high standards!). Jonathan remembers coming to the Scarborough as a child and it holds a special place in his heart. He introduced it to me on our engagement weekend (10-6-12) and we just couldn't wait to come back and see you all again. I cant wait till we can bring our children here to enjoy the Inn as much as we do someday! Thanks again for another fantastic visit. As always the staff were beyond accommodating (and flexible with my last minute reservation!) Can't wait to see you again soon!

Room Tip: Chelsea Suite is spacious and comfortable!
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Teale M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

First of all, staying at the Inn was a wonderful experience. I travel around the world, and this intimate Inn is first rate. Great customer service, nice location, and a clean and comfortable room. Back to customer service, I left my garment bag in my room, and left my key at the reception area before 6:00 a.m., having to catch an early flight. Thus, I had no way to get back in and fetch my clothes. I wrote a note requesting that my clothes be mailed to me C.O.D. I received a voice mail message that they were "in the mail" via UPS. I sent a check to cover the costs, but the fact that someone would front the money, with no guarantee of reimbursement, to me was above and beyond the call of duty. My clothes arrived with no problem, and I am most grateful. A great experience turned out even greater, thanks to fabulous customer care.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews