We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable, excellent breakfast, great staff!”
Review of Scarborough Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Scarborough Inn
Ranked #4 of 20 Ocean City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Greenwood, Delaware, United States
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Clean, comfortable, excellent breakfast, great staff!”
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Arrived at the Scarborough Inn last week, and much to my surprise...I realized I had stayed here many years ago with my parents...deja-vous??? Very close to beach and boardwalk.Wonderful couple of days with family, grand daughter and her friend. Of course lot's had changed...went from rooming house to very nice B & B. Room was a little small but quite comfortable and clean. Priced right, we thought. There are other larger rooms, that we will try later. Definitely worth a stay. Great staff...for the most part. Breakfasts were very good and the waitstaff very friendly and accommodating. Melon, eggs, french toast, coffee, well worth it!!!
One suggestion...hooks in the sink area for towels...also the tub area.
All-in-all really pleased and hope to make it back next year. Been going to Ocean City for most of my 70 years...missed only a few years total.
Thanks Gus and Carol!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Evard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sea_jayOCNJ, Owner at Scarborough Inn, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Amazing that you stayed at the Scarborough many years ago and returned with your family and granddaughter! You are in a perfect position to notice the changes that took us "from rooming house to very nice B & B." We'll look forward to seeing you again and again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    19
    7
    9
    4
See reviews for
43
103
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Havertown
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 August 2013

This is, by far, one of the finest B&B's on the East Coast. The owners, Gus and Carol Bruno, spare no detail in consistently offering their guests pristine accomodations, gourmet breakfasts served to the table, an inviting atmosphere and superb guest care. These owners blend modern hospitality with a European flair that sets them apart from the rest. On top of that, the location can't be beat--just two blocks from the beach and near the center of town. The value for the dollar is top drawer and I can
assure you, once you have experienced a stay at the Scarborough Inn, you will want to return again
and again.

Room Tip: Third Floor is quiet with easy access to a hospitality room at end of the hall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sea_jayOCNJ, Owner at Scarborough Inn, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear Liz, Oh my goodness, what a marvelous review! We appreciate all the specific things you mentioned so enthusiastically. It means a great deal to be called, "one of the finest B&B's on the East Coast." Thank you, thank you, thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macungie PA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Excellent stay for a long week end. We stayed in the double rooms with our grand daughter (3 years old) Had a great time. Our family has been staying in this hotel for 15 years and always enjoyed the homey atmosphere and friendly guests. Great job Gus and Carol.

Room Tip: My wife and I stayed with our grand daughter in the double room. Had a great stay and nice breakfast...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sea_jayOCNJ, Owner at Scarborough Inn, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
We greatly appreciate that you have been staying at the Scarborough Inn for 15 years. We have such wonderful, loyal guests and we value that loyalty so much - thank you! It was nice that you brought your 3-year old granddaughter along. You stayed in a double room (aka family room) and everyone had an enjoyable time. That is very helpful information for those who want to bring children or grandchildren with them; thank you for posting about your positive experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Home
Level 4 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 July 2013

The Scarborough Inn was a great place for me to spend a one night reunion with a high school friend. We had lived in OC for the summer 34 years ago, and this was a convenient location for us to be able to visit all of our favorite OC/Somers Point memories.

The Ballade Room was a cheerfully decorated and sunny room with two twin beds. These could be converted to a king. I debated giving a five star rating because the bathroom is quite small and could use a fan, but for the price, location, and service it was worth that small inconvenience.

The staff was very accommodating. The off street parking is really helpful because it's difficult to find parking in OC. Their website clearly states that you are given one parking space per unit, but when we arrived early...in two separate cars...they allowed parking spaces for both even though they were almost completely full. We knew that if one more room filled we would have to move, but it worked out great.

Being able to use the beach passes and outdoor showers after check-out was also a very nice extra.

This may become a yearly tradition!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BtWgn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sea_jayOCNJ, Owner at Scarborough Inn, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
How lovely that you and a high school friend had a mini-reunion at the Scarborough Inn! We are pleased that you found so many things to be enthusiastic about and we sincerely hope your pleasant stay will become an annual tradition. Maybe you will stay longer next time, there's so much to see and do in Ocean City! If you need a larger bathroom, just request a larger room or a suite (the price will be a bit higher of course). See you next reunion!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
318 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

On a recent stay at the Scarborough Inn, I found that the staff members were very sincere and helpful with regards to making sure that we were comfortable. The house is charming and well appointed and the location is decent; only about two blocks from the beach. Very clean too. Gus is a great host and has a genuine love for what he does. Our breakfast was good too. Home cooked and just the right amount of food with each serving. Not sure if this is the best choice for families with very young children (no pool/play area and delicate surroundings) but, this is a nice, clean location nonetheless.

Room Tip: Ask for the corner family suite on the second floor if you have children. It's actually two room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissyPA71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sea_jayOCNJ, Owner at Scarborough Inn, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
We are pleased that the staff was "sincere" about making sure you were "comfortable" as that is very important to us as hosts. You go on to mention many things that you found very pleasing - thank you so much! You seem a little cautious about children at the inn, however. It may not be an appropriate choice for all youngsters depending on their age and experience. We do have several designated "family rooms" with washable decor and specify "well-behaved children welcome" - this seems to help guide families to make appropriate decisions. Many families do visit year after year and we hope you will come again, too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mount Laurel, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

The Scarborough Inn has been our OCNJ retreat for twenty years. Gus and Carol have maintained their excellent service standards throughout. The beautiful Victorian structure is lovingly maintained. Rooms vary in size, but all are well appointed and comfortable. The wrap-around porch and rocking chairs provide a serene spot for reading, relaxing or just watching the world go by.

Breakfasts are creative and delicious and afternoon tea is welcome after a day of sunning, shopping, or strolling.

The B&B is ideally located on Ocean Avenue, just three short blocks to the boardwalk and beach. It is also located three blocks from the Asbury Avenue shopping district.

Staff is professional, polite and always go out of their way to make your stay perfect.

We're looking forward to twenty more years at this lovely beach getaway.

Room Tip: We like the rooms on the third floor with the king beds. Note that the facility has no elevator, so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sea_jayOCNJ, Owner at Scarborough Inn, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Elizabeth, Thank you for taking the time to write such a glowing and comprehensive review; we are thrilled! You mention our "excellent standards" related to: care of this historic inn, guest rooms, amenities, food, plus great location & staff. On behalf of our entire team, we are grateful and hope you DO continue to visit for another 20 years!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warminster, Pennsylvania, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Thank you again Scarborough Inn for a fantastic weekend in OCNJ. Everything from the room to breakfast, the outdoor shower and rocking chairs on the front porch was fantastic! You really do bring staying at a B&B to another level. Every breakfast we've had at your Inn has been divine (and I say this as a foodie who has high standards!). Jonathan remembers coming to the Scarborough as a child and it holds a special place in his heart. He introduced it to me on our engagement weekend (10-6-12) and we just couldn't wait to come back and see you all again. I cant wait till we can bring our children here to enjoy the Inn as much as we do someday! Thanks again for another fantastic visit. As always the staff were beyond accommodating (and flexible with my last minute reservation!) Can't wait to see you again soon!

Room Tip: Chelsea Suite is spacious and comfortable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teale M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.0 mi away
Ocean Breeze Hotel
Ocean Breeze Hotel
#22 of 32 in Ocean City
63 reviews
0.0 mi away
Blue Water Inn
Blue Water Inn
#31 of 32 in Ocean City
76 reviews
0.2 mi away
Watson's Regency Suites
Watson's Regency Suites
#9 of 32 in Ocean City
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Harris House Motel
Harris House Motel
#8 of 32 in Ocean City
174 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ocean Front Motel
Ocean Front Motel
#11 of 32 in Ocean City
406 reviews
0.2 mi away
Atlantis Inn Luxury B&B
Atlantis Inn Luxury B&B
#1 of 20 in Ocean City
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scarborough Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scarborough Inn

Property: Scarborough Inn
Address: 720 Ocean Ave, Ocean City, NJ 08226-3787
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Ocean City
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Scarborough Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience an Ocean City, NJ vacation haven that artfully combines appealing vintage charm with plentiful modern amenities.*Individually Decorated Rooms with Private Baths & Signature Toiletries*Complimentary WiFi, Beach Tags & Bathhouse, free Parking on premise*Breakfast & Afternoon Refreshments feature fresh, local ingredients*Please note, breakfast may not be included w/ all reservations; call Inn directly for details. Easy walking distance to Beach, Boardwalk, Restaurants, Shopping & Recreation. Travel to Atlantic City or Cape May easily ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Scarborough Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scarborough Hotel Ocean City
Scarborough Inn Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing