We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Third Time At The Scarborough Inn In Ocean City N.J.”
Review of Scarborough Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Scarborough Inn
Ranked #5 of 20 Ocean City B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 June 2014

As promised the Scarborough's new owners Steve and Brandi Cisari I will give my thoughts on our latest [June, 2014] visit. First let me say that you could not find two nicer owners. The Scarborough inn is in good hands after long time owners Carol and Gus Bruno sold it to them last April. This being their first season we hoped that they would stay the course so to speak and keep what made the Inn so special to so many people in years past intact. Changes at least in this first year are few. You no longer have to leave a deposit for the beach tags and collect at checkout, a plus, also there seems to be two waffle makers set up in the dining room. To set the record straight to call the place a B&B is a bit of a stretch, its more of an inn with over twenty rooms on three floors. If you are looking for a place with only a few rooms go somewhere else. Our room number 15 on the second floor was very clean and that goes for the bathroom too. There were the usual guest toiletries, plenty of hot water and plenty of towels, though one could of used a bigger towel rack. Our room was made up every day and when I requested a second chair it was provided that afternoon an exact match. The odd numbered room face the north side of the inn and overlook a nice free parking lot and a condo type apt. units. I choose this side after having rooms on the south side of the building which faces another Inn. Not much sun on that side and looking out to some other persons window might not be one choice. Plenty of sun in our north facing room in the morning. A minor note, the rooms as pictured may not be exactly furnished in real life when you enter there may be some minor changes. The breakfast's were just ok, not unacceptable, but nothing special to write home about. You won't go out hungry but you won't take a picture of it either. One thing that was missing was there was no menu display outside the dining room like the other owners had this would be a nice touch. There is a porch outside where you can eat if you like. The wait staff was always smiles and very friendly. One area that was somewhat disappointing was the afternoon snacks, the Bruno's did better. The Scarborough Inn is very nice to stay you won't go wrong. The minuses are really very minor over all. Only two blocks from the beach around the corner from a large bike rental, within walking distance of shops and food places. We'll be back!

Room Tip: Get an odd number room faces north overlooking the parking Lot. Plenty of morning sun and a good dis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Glenn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
720Innkeepers, Owner at Scarborough Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

We are so happy you enjoyed your visit. As new innkeepers we appreciate the feedback. We are happy that returning guests are finding many of the same enjoyments as they did under the previous ownership. However, (as you mention) a few changes have happened in the breakfast and snack areas. Yes our afternoon snack is very different than the previous owner. In the past snack was offered in an area that was air conditioned and had a refrigerator. Due to construction and new regulations (we are subject to as new business owners) we had to move the afternoon snack into an area that is not air conditioned and does not have a refrigerator. Food safety is a major concern for us and we strive to maintain the quality of food for all our guests. So while the options may be different than in the past please know we are working to find what works best. Also please know that during this, our first season, we chose to focus more on the breakfast options than the snack options. The breakfast options have been expanded and include multiple options each morning (daily we offer both a mini buffet and a served entrée with an appetizer) for every guest. We acknowledge snack time is an important part of the Bed and Breakfast experience and as we progress pass the first season more changes will come. We look forward to your visit next year and enjoyed meeting you both.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (175)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 175 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2014

Don't sleep the breakfast or you will regret it. This little gem was comfortable, a short walk to the beach, and everything you hope for in a bnb. Both the owners and the staff were helpful and made sure we had everything we needed for our weekend at the beach.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeanni G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
720Innkeepers, Owner at Scarborough Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2015

Thank you for your wonderful rating! You are correct in saying, "eager to please"....all B & B owners work long hard hours, but we have a passion for this business and hospitality in general. We are so happy that you notice the attention to detail, and it makes our day that you feel right at home staying here. Thanks again, and we look forward to your return visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Scarborough Inn earns 5 stars in our book: rooms are immaculate, comfortable, up-to-date; staff is professional, helpful, and friendly; breakfast is delicious, location is perfect for walking to boardwalk, bike rental, and beach; love this place. We stayed on the 3rd floor, Jardin, and it was a bit bigger than some rooms on the 2nd floor. Very nice. Quiet too. The big wrap-around porch w/ rocking chairs and table - oh so inviting and pleasant. The owners, Carol and Gus Bruno, give personal attention to every detail, including their well-trained staff, who actually live on the lower level. Try it -- you'll love it.

Room Tip: Jardin - 3rd floor - spacious, simple design, quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

This bed and breakfast reminded me of staying in a good friends home. Very hospitable staff with nice amenities. We loved our room with it's bay windows and right across the hall from the game room/kitchen/buiness center. We were able to make delicious coffee up there any time of day. They provided a little refrigerator for our leftovers etc. Was able to prit our plane tickets the day we left. We were provided with towels and beach tags for the beach which was only blocks away. The breakfast they offered were wonderful, just like waking up in someone's home! They even let us bring our food up to our room. Internet was sketchy at times, but we were there for the beach and to support this wonderful town who have been through so much this past year, so not a huge issue. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nissismusic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Just returned from another great stay at the inn while participating in the Street Rod Weekend.
Surely do appreciate Gus and the staff's consistency in having a lovely, spotless, comfortable room waiting for us. You will find much attention given to details. The breakfasts as well as the large shaded porch and afternoon refreshments are delightful on a warm summer day. Along with the location, parking, lovely gardens and meeting other interesting guests you won't be disappointed.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Joslyn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sea_jayOCNJ, Owner at Scarborough Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review! You mention several things that many Scarborough Inn guests share: 1. many guests return to the inn year after year, 2. guests frequently come to participate in or enjoy special events (like the Street Rod Weekend or the Boardwalk Art Show, for example) - our perfect location makes it easy! and 3. guests seem to enjoy getting to know fellow travelers - maybe while rocking on the 100-foot wraparound front porch or in the spacious living room. We look forward to welcoming your return to our B&B.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

When I think of bed and breakfasts, the Scarborough Inn will henceforth be my measuring stick! My wife and I spent a delightful Labor Day weekend at the Inn and could not have been more satisfied! Our room was spacious and beautifully decorated. Gus and Carol Bruno, the long time owners, are delightful and made us feel welcome and completely at home. The location, just a few blocks from the beach and boardwalk, was ideal! And the prices were quite reasonable! From now on, when we return to Ocean City, New Jersey, it's the Scarborough Inn for us.

Room Tip: Look at the room descriptions on the web site to determine what type of room best suits your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarylandMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sea_jayOCNJ, Owner at Scarborough Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Thank you most sincerely for saying that the Scarborough Inn will '...henceforth be my measuring stick" when considering B&Bs. We are delighted with your review, of course, and even more motivated to continue to maintain high standards for all of our guests in the future. On behalf of the entire staff; we appreciate the accolades!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Arrived at the Scarborough Inn last week, and much to my surprise...I realized I had stayed here many years ago with my parents...deja-vous??? Very close to beach and boardwalk.Wonderful couple of days with family, grand daughter and her friend. Of course lot's had changed...went from rooming house to very nice B & B. Room was a little small but quite comfortable and clean. Priced right, we thought. There are other larger rooms, that we will try later. Definitely worth a stay. Great staff...for the most part. Breakfasts were very good and the waitstaff very friendly and accommodating. Melon, eggs, french toast, coffee, well worth it!!!
One suggestion...hooks in the sink area for towels...also the tub area.
All-in-all really pleased and hope to make it back next year. Been going to Ocean City for most of my 70 years...missed only a few years total.
Thanks Gus and Carol!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Evard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sea_jayOCNJ, Owner at Scarborough Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Amazing that you stayed at the Scarborough many years ago and returned with your family and granddaughter! You are in a perfect position to notice the changes that took us "from rooming house to very nice B & B." We'll look forward to seeing you again and again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.9 mi away
Port-O-Call Hotel
Port-O-Call Hotel
#3 of 31 in Ocean City
365 reviews
0 mi away
Ocean Breeze Hotel
Ocean Breeze Hotel
#28 of 31 in Ocean City
73 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ocean 7
Ocean 7
#6 of 31 in Ocean City
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ocean Front Motel
Ocean Front Motel
#12 of 31 in Ocean City
407 reviews
0.2 mi away
Atlantis Inn Luxury B&B
Atlantis Inn Luxury B&B
#1 of 20 in Ocean City
284 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ocean City Mansion
Ocean City Mansion
#8 of 20 in Ocean City
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scarborough Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scarborough Inn

Address: 720 Ocean Ave, Ocean City, NJ 08226-3787
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Ocean City
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Ocean City
Price Range: £115 - £209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Scarborough Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience an Ocean City, NJ vacation haven that artfully combines appealing vintage charm with plentiful modern amenities.*Individually Decorated Rooms with Private Baths & Signature Toiletries*Complimentary WiFi, Beach Tags & Bathhouse, free Parking on premise*Breakfast & Afternoon Refreshments feature fresh, local ingredients*Please note, breakfast may not be included w/ all reservations; call Inn directly for details. Easy walking distance to Beach, Boardwalk, Restaurants, Shopping & Recreation. Travel to Atlantic City or Cape May easily ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Scarborough Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scarborough Hotel Ocean City
Scarborough Inn Bed And Breakfast

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing