We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Place To Stay”
Review of Browns Nostalgia

Browns Nostalgia
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ocean City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Browns Nostalgia
Ranked #11 of 20 Ocean City B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A Great Place To Stay”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I spent 4th of July weekend with my fiance' here at Brown's...this was our 2nd visit this year. We enjoyed our long weekend very much. Mr. Brown is such a nice man and a great host; the breakfasts he serves are delicious. The front porch is a great place to people watch, talk, read a book. Our room was clean, comfortable; the property location is great as it is close to everything. This is a great place to stay; not fancy or high tech...cozy, warm, friendly and a perfect place to get away and relax.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ACMS1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
11
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Great B+B. Always very clean. Nice rooms. Mr. Brown is super nice and a great host. His cooking can't be beat and there are always local treats in the afternoon as well as breakfast. They even let you use the downstairs bathroom after you check out if you need to get changed after the beach. Can't say enough good things about this place.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marston258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Easton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We've enjoyed staying at Brown's several times; it's become the only place we consider when going to OC, NJ., and earns and deserves the "Excellent" rating we give to all categories. Its proximity to downtown, boardwalk and beach works well as we move through our 70's. Harmon is a delight to talk with, is so gracious, and breakfast is a treat. The wrap-around porch is wonderful for sitting and drinking coffee before breakfast or reading a book when the weather doesn't cooperate. An Ocean City treasure. Bill and Betty from Easton, PA

Room Tip: We like Room 3 for the king bed, the brightness, and the sitting area by the five windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank William W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
york pa
Level Contributor
79 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013

we only stayed one night at the end of april, pre season, and found the place delightful....Harmon, assumingly the owner, was very sociable and helpful with directions around town...the room was more than adequate, comfortable, spacious,quiet, and had a private bath with jetted tub...A location, less than 2 blocks from the beach didnt hurt either...Its located on a corner with a beautiful view of very clean, old buildings, and parking was free in the rear lot....I guess because of the preseason, Harmon left us keep our car there for the afternoon while we walked the boardwalk....He even prepared us a special egg and sausage breakfast due to our dietary no carb diet.....delicious...fresh fruit, juice, eggs and sausage...I would stay again

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dougthebarber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flemington, New Jersey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2012

We stayed one week at Brown's Nostalgia and my husband and I had the best time. The house is so charming and Mr. Brown is one of the nicest folks you ever want to meet ! The place is always neat and clean and whatever you may need , just ask. We have stayed at many B & B's and the breakfasts are " ok " but here they were FANTASTIC ! . I told Mr. Brown that our only complaint is that he was giving us way too much food ! Every day was something different for breakfast... piping hot and so good you will want the recipes ! We would stay there again in a heartbeat and I have already told a few folks about this wonderful , charming place and they plan on going in the near future ! We look forward to our next stay at Browns . I forgot to mention that he is also in a very good location... close walk to town and the boardwalk ! This place can't be beat !!! Sharon and Tom Skibbee

Room Tip: Every one of the rooms at Browns is charming... you can't go wrong choosing any of his rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skibbees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Chester, PA
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012 via mobile

We've been staying at Browns for 10 years. Harmon, the owner, is a kind man who is always very welcoming and interesting to talk to. The rooms are clean, and the house is only a couple of blocks from the beach. Breakfast is always great. We keep coming back because we always feel welcome here. What a lovely home... You'll never be disappointed here.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank BeachloverfromPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 6 September 2011

The family running this B&B is amazing and made sure we were fully accommodated. The 85 year old owner is full of wit and so warm. He told us to feel free to run around in the house in stocking feet and while we stayed to consider the house our home and use all the rooms. Great front porch for relaxing in the mornings and evenings. Tons of board games and bikes to use. Super close to the boardwalk and restaurants and they recommended several non-touristy restaurants that were good. Very clean. Comfortable beds. Breakfasts were delicious!!!! Decor is charming, even if dated. We had a great time and it was wonderful to stay in a family-run home that is over 100 years old.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LALD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.2 mi away
Biscayne Suites
Biscayne Suites
#7 of 32 in Ocean City
138 reviews
0.1 mi away
Watson's Regency Suites
Watson's Regency Suites
#9 of 32 in Ocean City
233 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ocean 7
Ocean 7
#4 of 32 in Ocean City
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ocean Breeze Hotel
Ocean Breeze Hotel
#19 of 32 in Ocean City
53 reviews
0.5 mi away
Atlantis Inn Luxury B&B
Atlantis Inn Luxury B&B
#1 of 20 in Ocean City
276 reviews
0.3 mi away
Scarborough Inn
Scarborough Inn
#5 of 20 in Ocean City
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Browns Nostalgia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Browns Nostalgia

Property: Browns Nostalgia
Address: 1001 Wesley Ave, Ocean City, NJ 08226-3345
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Ocean City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Ocean City
Number of rooms: 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing