We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“convenient, otherwise good enough” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Watson's Regency Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Watson's Regency Suites
Ranked #8 of 32 Hotels in Ocean City
Certificate of Excellence
White Plains, NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“convenient, otherwise good enough”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2009

This was a short walk from the boardwalk and we enjoyed having the indoor pool as a back up for bad weather. I also enjoyed the kitchenette. But don't look under the bed. Before we left I checked to see if we had forgotten anything. Looks like it has been a long time since someone cleaned under there.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carnath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    81
    23
    14
    12
See reviews for
151
32
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scranton, PA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2009

Very clean, very quiet, and very convenient to the Boardwalk & Beach. Really nicely decorated, lots of room for 2 adults and 3 children as there is a bedroom with its own sliding doors onto the balcony...as well as the living room which had a pull out chair and a pull out couch. The mattress on the couch in the living room was a little thin but I was able to fall asleep with little trouble. The kitchen was stocked with cups, plates, dishes, whatever you needed. Liquid detergent to do the dishes or dishwashing soap of you chose to use the dishwasher. Just a real nice and convenient place. I would definately stay there again and would recommend it. Only downfall was it was a bit pricey.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LisaMLew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
364 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2009

Have stayed at Watson's for many years due to its great location, very clean suites, quite location and reasonable rates. But this time we were very disappointed.

With many of the suites privately owned and the facility overall managed by a condo association, the quality of the furnishings can vary from room to room. Our room this week had what seemed very old bedding, outdated TVs, oven and microwave - the microwave was identical to a model I bought in my home 20 years ago and long since trashed it. It couldn't even pop popcorn.

Housekeeping was our biggest complaint - dirt when we checked in was still there when we left, poor job cleaning bathrooms and who ever taught this crew had to make a bed - every time you turned over the sheet and mattress cover came loose. After I mentioned these issues at checkout, head of hskp. spoke to me but too late - shouldn't have to address basic housekeeping tasks when they're getting $ 289/night.

The other most noticeable change was the noise. We stayed at Watsons's before in high season but never experienced this much noise - kids running up and down the hall, people letting their doors slam shut at all hours of the day and night plus the thin celings and walls didn't help. We could literally hear every creak in the ceiling when the people in the room above us walked around. As the bedrooms in adjoining suites back up to each other, the people in the room next to us woke us up at 3:30am with their talking.

Ended up checking out early. Like Ocean City itself, Watson's is getting old, worn and not as clean as it used to be. Certainly not worth the escalating room rates and minimal amenities you get with more full scale hotels at the same or lower rate. Will think twice before heading back to Watson's and Ocean City.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TFopinion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2009

We really wanted a hotel that allowed a one night stay and one that offered reasonably priced suites. This hotel was perfect for us! It also has an indoor pool which was a great rainy day back up plan. We didn't end up using the pool but it was nice to have. We wanted a suite so we could put our son to bed and still have a place to sit and hang out. The location of this hotel for families heading to the boardwalk is outstanding. It is right at the main access point for all the boardwalk fun. The hotel itself isn't anything spectacular or fancy, but I would definitely stay there again in OC. It was clean, well appointed and great location.

Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank JLA4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2009

Beware if you have pet allergies. Suites are individually owned and owners are allowed to bring their pets. My husband had a severe allergic reaction and for that, I rated "cleanliness" as 1 star. I wish staff had informed of this pet policy upon check in. This place was nicer on the outside than the inside, good location-close to boardwalk and had indoor heated pool (but was a bit cold), NO outdoor pool, suite was comfortable but not completely spotless. Coffee maker not clean, fan in bathroom not clean.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DLP15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2008

Although the location is great and the front desk staff was very nice our stay left a great deal to be desired. The bed in the bedroom sounded like it was sitting on chainmail. Every time we turned or ever breathed deeply the "chains" would rattle so loudly that the kids in the other room could hear. The pull out couch was very uncomfortable and the kids had a difficult time sleeping. Our balcony turned out to be an interior balcony that faced ann interior walkway that led to the pool. We had no fresh air only chlorine and no natural light. It was like having a room inside a room. The cleaning staff was also lacking. The first day they came in the morning and we were chaning so we said they could come back shortly. They returned 6-7 hours later when the kids were naping. They did not comeback until the next day late in the afternoon. It was a good thing I found the linen storage room. For the exhorbitant price (more than we paid at a luxury resort in the islands during high season) we decided that we would rather rent an apartment for a week. (my sister paid less per night for her rental).

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — NOISY beds
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank eema22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suburban Philadelphia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2008

I had read many positive reviews on trip advisor about this hotel, and was pleased to find out they were right! Unlike the few negative comments I've seen here, our room was bright, modern, and in very good condition. We loved the spaciousness of it, and the little touches. The kitchen was completely stocked and everything worked well. We loved the outside balcony that was accessed from both the master bedroom and the living area. The kids had plenty of room; a pull-out sofa AND a pull-out twin sized chair gave each of them individual beds (more peace and quiet!). The room even had a sliding partition to close off their sleeping area, leaving us the ability to move around the rest of the place while they slept (kitchen, dining area - huge, btw - and bathroom). The location was perfect... it was a few minutes walk to the boardwalk (1 long block - Atlantic cuts out right at 9th street, so it's really 1 1/2). You end up smack in the middle of the best parts of the boardwalk, and are right by entrances to the beach near lifeguard stands. I believe many (most?) of the units are privately owned, and we were very pleased with ours on the 4th floor.

  • Liked — the spaciousness of the rooms, location
  • Disliked — can I move it a block closer to the beach? :)
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank LWeiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ocean City
0.1 mi away
Biscayne Suites
Biscayne Suites
#12 of 32 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
0.7 mi away
Port-O-Call Hotel
Port-O-Call Hotel
#3 of 32 in Ocean City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ocean 7
Ocean 7
#4 of 32 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Harrah's Resort Atlantic City
Harrah's Resort Atlantic City
#5 of 50 in Atlantic City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 15,057 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harris House Motel
Harris House Motel
#6 of 32 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ocean Front Motel
Ocean Front Motel
#11 of 32 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Watson's Regency Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Watson's Regency Suites

Property: Watson's Regency Suites
Address: 901 Ocean Ave, Ocean City, NJ 08226-3540
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Ocean City
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Watson's Regency Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Watson's Regency Suites is located in America's Greatest Family Resort. Open all year round, Watson's Regency Suites has the ONLY heated indoor pool and hot tub in Ocean City. Conveniently located on the beach block with off street parking. Our all suite hotel has 79 spacious suites that sleep 5, with a fully equipped kitchen with full size refrigerator, dishwasher, microwave oven and range. All suites also have private balconies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Watson's Regency Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Watson`s Regency Hotel Ocean City
Watsons Regency Hotel
Regency Ocean City
Watsons Regency Suite

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing