We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of good, little bad”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Homestead Beach Hotel
Ranked #27 of 32 Hotels in Ocean City
Philadelphia, PA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lots of good, little bad”
Reviewed 4 March 2008

My boyfriend and I just stayed here for a weekend getaway. We had stayed here in the summer and had a nice time so we went with the hotel this time. The woman at the front desk was very nice to us and had the room ready with only a few hours notice. She let us look at a few rooms to decide which one we wanted since it wasn't too crowded. Our room, 210 was recently renovated so it was very nice. The bed was comfortable and the furniture was nice. The bathroom was also very nice with a new jacquzzi tub. It was great to have the kitchenette so we were able to save by cooking ourselves. Parking was free and very available. It was very quiet and relaxing. The woman at the desk gave us a bunch of extra towels, blankets and pillows. And she let us check out at 2 instead of the usual 11. The only bad aspects of the stay was that the heat in the room was turned up to 80 degrees and the room wasn't warming up to that temperature. The bed and another counter were blocking the heater. But during the day the sunlight warmed it up alot. And the heater in the bathroom never came on which made the bathroom pretty cold. Other than those few things, it was a great stay!

  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tullamore12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    9
    6
    3
    14
See reviews for
13
24
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Haddonfield
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 December 2007

My wife and I were planning to spend a weekend on the Jersey shoreline and we found this wonderful place.When we woke up in the morning we had a spectacular view of the sunrising over the glistening ocean.The manager was friendly and very courteous.The proximity to to boardwalk and the center of town was perfect but most of all we liked chatting with the friendly people we met in the cafe downstairs.Our stay at the Homestead was wonderful and affordable.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank br0hammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garnerville, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2007

The room was so dusty. The comforter/ bedspread was stained, and hair was all over the place. I was so grossed out. My son came up with a description for the room: "crusty room". When I asked at the front desk that the comforter be changed; I was told that "you know we don't change them out after every guest". I did not need to hear that; though I was very much aware of it. The blanket looked like it had dried up snot on one corner. The tub was absolutely filthy. No hair dryer, no iron. I could go on, but you get the idea.
The only highlight in staying there was the restaurant "Dixie Picnic".
I could not wait to leave that place.

  • Liked — The restaurant next door "Dixie Picnic"
  • Disliked — Hair all over the place and the dust
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JayJay1023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ocean City hotels

Alpharetta, GA
1 review
Reviewed 13 August 2007

This year me, my 4 year old daughter, and my mother made last minute plans to go to Ocean City for 4 days (3 nights) and had to find a hotel with only 2 weeks notice. I found the Homestead had availability and with a great deal of anxiousness I decided to 'roll the dice' and give it a try. I was completely and totally satisfied with my decision. Our room was a bunkbead with trundle set up. My Mom slept on the trundle which was very comfortable, while my daughter & I used the lower bunk which was a double bed. The AC unit provided the right level of white noise to make our sleeping comfortable. The room was clean which is my biggest priority. The efficiency unit offered a refrigerator, micro, range and sink.. While we didn't do much cooking, it was nice to have it availalbe if we wanted it and the refrigerator was a must. The bathroom, while small, was again clean & all we needed to clean the sand off every day. The proximity to the boardwalk can't be beat! I'd definitely stay here again and recommend it to others. Unlike the previous review, I found the staff to be MORE than friendly and extremely helpful.. right down to the cleaning lady who came every morning to change our towels, make beds, empty garbage... The ONLY negative I'll say is the parking. I agree that you will not find 'free' parking & need to pay the additionaly $20 a night. Considering the affordable rate (great package deals available) I think it is fair, but should be communicated a little better. In addition, the cafe in the lobby is very good and very affordable with again very nice staff.

  • Liked — Convenience
  • Disliked — Parking
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TPipkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philly, PA
Level Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2007

As my title suggests the rooms at The Homestead Hotel were cute but the management left much to be desired even for a "Jersey Shore" hotel. My 1st problem came in the form of parking or lack there of. The hotel does not have its own lot per se. They do offer a limited number of "$20.00 per day" spots in a secured municipal lot but they don’t tell you this unless you ask. The woman I booked with actually assured me that that free, street parking was plentiful & that I shouldn’t need to pay for parking. Please note that this is absolutely untrue on a busy Saturday in August. To be fair the pay lot is quite close to the hotel & is very secure but the fact that we had to pay extra to park on top of the $200.00 for the night was a slap in the face. Especially considering that we were expressly told that this wouldn’t be the case. When we returned to the hotel to attempt the early check in that we had prearranged (early check in & early check out) we were confronted with the most bitter & unprofessional front desk person ever. I think the poor woman is accustomed to being yelled at since the place is pretty cheap & attracts a young crowd but I simply have no tolerance for attitude & her issues are just not be my problem. After speaking with & then yelling at her for almost an hour we did finally get into our room around 1 PM. Although it was not as early as promised (11 AM) we were in before the official check in time (2 PM) so I suggest yelling if you encounter the same problem. Our room (#405) was pretty cute with modern furnishings was relatively clean & had a comfortable bed with decent linens. The ocean view is barely that so I suggest not paying extra for it. The bay window/ eating area was nice touch and the windows let in a lot of natural light which is not always the case in a shore hotel. A few things we weren’t thrilled with like the fact that there was a small kitchenette with a range but no microwave, the fact that there was no phone in the room, the noisy and barely large enough to keep the room cool AC, the fact that there was no safe, the beeping smoke detector & the filthy shower/ tub were annoying but are acceptable for a one night stay. The one problem that did send my husband back down to battle with the front desk woman was the fact that our door didn’t lock. As we left the room for the beach my husband checked the door to ensure that it was locked and surprise, surprise...it didn’t. As a matter of fact unless you fiddled with the mechanism inside the door it didn’t lock or unlock at all. After a 15 minute yelling match with the front desk lady from hell we were told that our things would be safe & that “a lot of the rooms have that problem”. My husband then demanded the name and phone number of the management co. & promptly called & spoke to someone but for some reason the door never did get fixed. Overall I can’t say that I would recommend this hotel. Although the rooms are nice enough the hassle you’ll encounter getting into yours will probably wreck your mood & who wants to start a vacation that way?

  • Liked — Modern room
  • Disliked — Terrible managment
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LESLIEKURZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2007

Looks nicer on the internet than in person. Funny odor in room smelled a bit like cat urine. Wood work in corner covered with dirt and dust balls Bathrom floor was dirty. Some type of brown stain on walls near the bed. If you want close to the beach and do not mind staying in a dump, you wil be happy.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — dirty
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kattybird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, PA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2007

My son and I stayed here last year and loved it, they are small but our unit was very clean and the location was perfect. We would definitely stay there again. If you have a large family or plan on staying for more than a week it might be too small but for a quick getaway or if you want to be close to everything it cant be beat!

  • Liked — location
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank TominPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.1 mi away
Blue Water Inn
Blue Water Inn
#29 of 32 in Ocean City
66 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ocean Breeze Hotel
Ocean Breeze Hotel
#19 of 32 in Ocean City
53 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ocean 7
Ocean 7
#4 of 32 in Ocean City
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sifting Sands Motel
Sifting Sands Motel
#28 of 32 in Ocean City
96 reviews
0.1 mi away
Watson's Regency Suites
Watson's Regency Suites
#9 of 32 in Ocean City
234 reviews
0.1 mi away
Coral Sands
Coral Sands
#23 of 32 in Ocean City
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homestead Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homestead Beach Hotel

Property: Homestead Beach Hotel
Address: 805 E 8th St, Between beach & Atlantic Ave, Ocean City, NJ 08226-3747
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Ocean City
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 32 Hotels in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Homestead Beach Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under New & Improved ManagementThe Homestead Beach Hotel has fully furnished efficiency condo studios (1 room) in the center of family-friendly Ocean City, NJ. It boasts an incredible beach block location with many studios having ocean or side ocean views. The Hotel is in walking distance to the beach (1/2 block), boardwalk, restaurants, pizza, ice cream, shops, concert hall, rides, miniature golf, etc. Individually decorated studios have daily maid service and can accommodate from 1- 4 guests, depending on room size and beds. Each furnished room contains a kitchenette with cooking/eating utensils, stovetop & refrigerator, as well as basic digital cable TV, window air conditioner (some have ceiling fans also); and a full bathroom. The building has a coin-operated washer & dryer and an ice machine. We do not allow smoking or pets. While other hotels charge higher rates, our affordable hotel rates take into consideration that there is no onsite parking. However, our front desk will provide information about nearby overnight parking lots, and nearby non-metered streets where you can leave your car for your entire stay (parking has not posed a problem for guests). Our staff thrives for customer satisfaction so you enjoy the vacation you looked forward to. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Homestead Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homestead Hotel Ocean City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing