We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our second time staying there, and there will be a third!”
Review of Ocean Front Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ocean Front Motel
Ranked #12 of 32 Hotels in Ocean City
Reviewed 25 August 2013 via mobile

Had a great time again in OC. Great location on the quiet end of the boardwalk. Best part is being able to easily walk to the beach. Great value. It's a small drive back across the bridge for better food. And the boardwalk food isn't bad either. We bought a few beach items at the 5below before crossing the bridge.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kimike11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (406)
There are newer reviews for Ocean Front Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 406 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2013

This was our 5th stay at the Ocean Front Motel. There have been a few upgrades, most welcome is the wi-fi. It rocks. You can't beat the location, with a boardwalk and beach entrance right from the property. The rooms are not fancy, but they are clean. I am easily skeeved out in hotels, and I have never been remotely uncomfortable here. The staff has always been responsive to any issues or requests. I have unreservedly recommended this motel to anyone who expresses interest in OCNJ.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank dsw2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

My family and I were very happy with our experience at the Ocean Front Motel.The location is perfect - right on the boardwalk. The staff was very accomodating, esp. John. We were there on a sold out weekend and they made evey effort to make sure we what we needed for 3 kids and 5 adults. They think of everything you might need and everyone was very pleasant, from the front desk to the cleaning staff. The price was very competitive. We'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Diane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

This hotel is a prime location for beach lovers. It is also a great location on the boardwalk! Get up early and watch the bikers and joggers run by or lace up your shoes and join them.

Our room was clean and did its job for the night. It did smell a little musty but what do you expect for a motel on the beach!?

We parked our car and never had to move it! Was able to walk back and forth from the beach to use the bathroom and even kept our car there the day we checked out and enjoyed the beach!

If you are looking for the ritz....then you should be booking at the ritz! If you are looking for a place to lay your head and a shower to clean yourself then this is your place!!

Will be back!

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
2  Thank tanchica4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013 via mobile

If you want your hotel to be part of your vacation experience - like dining and a pool or other amenities - this is not for you. This hotel is exactly perfect if ocean city itself is your desired experience. If you read properly you will know exactly what to expect about this property. It is perfect if you desire nearness to the beach and boardwalk, parking on site, neat clean rooms with tv fridge and microwave, you are not afraid of some stairs and you are not a high maintenance guest. It was perfect for me - single dad with 2 small kids who dont care to stay inside at the beach. Most of the bad reviews here seem to indicate a mismatch of expectations. If you want a somewhat spartan room- clean and convenient at a good price, this is a solid choice. This is the 2nd year in a row i stayed here and will likely book a 3rd. Staff is always pleasant helpful and courteous.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank poorwhiteboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013 via mobile

We use trip advisor reviews to choose our hotels and we travel often. So we expected this to be bare bones with a great location. Our room was possibly the worst room we have ever had in the states. The door did not shut properly. The walls are cinder block. The tv was antique. The shower was tight. The carpet was dirty. The desk clerk was rude- this was August 2012. On the upside- you cannot get closer to the ocean and there is on site parking.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Jackiegh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

I was very happy with our stay. The location was perfect. Nothing fancy, but it was clean and had everything we needed. I loved the outdoor seating area which had a great ocean view. My only complaint is that the air conditioner was so loud it woke everyone up each time it kicked on and off throughout the night. We actually were joking that it sounded like a jet engine. We stayed two nights, and were able to joke about it, however if I were staying longer the interruption in my sleep would have been a problem. I would love to stay here again, but not sure I would be able to for an extended stay - only because of the noise when trying to sleep.

Room Tip: Ask about the air - maybe different rooms have different types of units.
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Amy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.8 mi away
Ocean 7
Ocean 7
#6 of 32 in Ocean City
305 reviews
0.1 mi away
Port-O-Call Hotel
Port-O-Call Hotel
#3 of 32 in Ocean City
357 reviews
0.6 mi away
Watson's Regency Suites
Watson's Regency Suites
#9 of 32 in Ocean City
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ocean Breeze Hotel
Ocean Breeze Hotel
#28 of 32 in Ocean City
71 reviews
0.7 mi away
Biscayne Suites
Biscayne Suites
#5 of 32 in Ocean City
164 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pavilion Motor Lodge
Pavilion Motor Lodge
#19 of 32 in Ocean City
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Front Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Front Motel

Address: 1417 Ocean Ave, Ocean City, NJ 08226-3172
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Ocean City
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
#10 Family Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range: £57 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ocean Front Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family Motel directly on the Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Ocean Front Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Front Hotel Ocean City
Ocean City Front Hotel
Ocean City Front Motel
Ocean Front Motel Ocean City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing