We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, nice price, nice location, John must be back !”
Review of Ocean Front Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ocean Front Motel
Ranked #12 of 32 Hotels in Ocean City
Reviewed 29 April 2009

We have stayed at Ocean Front for the past 7-8 years. When you are there, to us, we are treated like family. Everything we needed was taken care of, it's right on the beach, and we felt our rate was good. We stayed last year while John was gone, and many other things were gone, like the family feeling. We were hesitant to go back, but thought to give it a try one last time. John is back this season, and things appear to be getting back to a comfort level we appreciate. We just returned last week, and man is it nice to see a friendly face again. Recommend to anyone, it's not the JW Marriot, but it is a nice place, with a nice price, great loction, and it just like home again.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vphares11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (406)
There are newer reviews for Ocean Front Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

326 - 332 of 406 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2008

We have stayed several times at the Ocean Front Motel and always appreciate the priority that the innkeeper and owner, John, places on friendly, personal attention. Rooms are simple to be sure, but clean and neat. Moreover, you simply can't beat the location for the money. John remembers families and faces and makes all feel welcome. As a result he sees many return customers, who include a stay at this classic Ocean City property directly on the boardwalk a happy part of their summer beach vacation.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank KandBWashington_D_C_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2008

Although the location can't be beat, the motel is not the greatest. Rooms are small, old, and somewhat clean. Bathrooms are in dire need of overhaul. However, being right on the boardwalk and not costing $200+ a night helps this motel's appeal. Walls are thin - be prepared. Management did allow us to stay parked all day in lot after check out and we used the outside shower as well after day at the beach(although it was extremely hot, old, and dirty). Not bad - just understand what you are going to get.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank rthrbatthbch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2008

When you first walk into the room, everything looks clean and neat. The room didn't have a smell, the beds were made, the table was clean... Then when you actually get settled in and start to look around the room, it was obvious that the maids were not doing their jobs. There were whole, and smashed chips on the carpet by the beds. There was blood on the end table, maybe someone cut their finger? But still it should have been cleaned up. The shower was backed up with previous people's hair, so when you turned the shower on you'd stand in 4 inches of water. Not that it was a huge deal, but there was no toilet paper on the roll. It wasn't hard for us to put it on, but still, it should have been done for us when we got there. The room had two double beds, which could hold up to 4 people, and they only gave us one towel. The beds were very uncomfortable, there was a brown stain on the comforter and there was no fitted sheet on the bed, just a piece of white fabric. So when you woke up in the morning you were laying on the actual mattress. An okay place to stay if you just want a place to sleep for a night or two and be close to the boardwalk. But I wouldn't stay there for a week.

  • Stayed: September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oceancitynj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2008

We just spent 3 days here and had a wonderful time, but our expectations were realistic. We wanted easy access to the beach & boardwalk at a low price and this fit the bill.

We paid $159/night for an ocean front room (that's all that was available when I booked). There were four of us - 2 adults, an 8-yr-old and a 12-yr-old. The room was a bit small, but we were out most of the time, so it really wasn't a problem.

The beds were very firm -- actually, a bit hard. I'd rather have that, then an old, saggy, lumpy mattress. The pillows were surprisingly good -- we rarely find decent pillows in any hotel. They were also firm, but again, in good condition. Not lumpy.

Our room was spotless and in good condition. It seemed to be freshly painted. The bedding was fresh and relatively new. The room smelled clean and fresh. The fixtures in the bathroom were a bit old, but clean and functional. Our bathtub had a lot of scratches on the bottom, but otherwise, it was just fine. The showerhead was good, the pressure was good, and we had plenty of hot water.

The parking was tight, but it was all under cover, so the cars didn't bake in the sun. We were also able to store our bikes in the parking area which kept them out of the sun & rain as well.

The deck was very nice. The furniture was sparse and a bit shabby, but you can't beat the view. One night, we had a take-out dinner there. Some people came to smoke, but they were considerate and stood away from us. We weren't bothered.

Our favorite thing about this place was how easy everything was. In the morning, we'd wake up and have some breakfast (we brought groceries and kept them in our fridge), then we'd go downstairs, unlock the bikes, and go for a ride on the boardwalk. This was all very easy since we could lock the bikes in the parking area and the ramp to the boardwalk is right outside the hotel.

After our ride, we'd lock up the bikes and go up to the room and get ready for the beach. We'd make sandwiches, and pack drinks & snacks in a small cooler, get changed, grab our chairs and go. We literally walked out of the beach-side of the hotel, across the boardwalk, then down the stairs to the beach. On the way to the water, we'd stop at the umbrella rental and then go down to the water. Going back to the hotel for a forgotten item, or to take my daughter to the bathroom, was no big deal since the room was so close.

After the beach, it was an easy walk back to the room for showers & naps. Since we were so close to the room, we didn't have a lot of stuff with us in the first place.

Then, in the evening, we'd go right back on the boardwalk and be at a restaurant or the rides in a few minutes. The hotel is right at the end of the commercial area of the boardwalk -- so we had the convenience without the noise.

Finally -- the free wi-fi was great. I was on the south side of the motel, so the reception was only 2 bars instead of 4, but I was able to jump on the free wi-fi of the neighboring hotel and get 4 bars. No problem. It was very helpful when we were trying to get information on local restaurants.

I think if I could change two things about the hotel, I might like a softer bed and a pool. Otherwise, it was everything that we wanted.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank shp64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2008

Excellent views of the beach and ocean. The location and access to the beach is great. That is about all I can say about this hotel. The rooms are very small, and average at best. If you have more than 2 people, it'll be tight. The staircases and hallway are tight, and the common areas can get pretty loud. The parking lot, also, leaves much to be desired. It's very very tight. Bring the smallest car you own...or go rent a honda civic if you don't want your doors dinged! Very pricey for an ocean front room...especially b/c the ocean front widow does not even open, so you can't get the ocean breeze or hear the waves as you sleep. All in all....again...the location and views were fantastic, but keep in mind...that is pretty much all you're paying for.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank malcsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2008

This was a nice little motel right on the boardwalk...it's where the boardwalk narrows, so it's quieter. We thought the location couldn't be beat....steps from the beach, a one minute walk to the beginning of the boardwalk restaurants and shops, and if we wanted just the peace of the surf, we could just walk the other way.

We were there two nights, including a Sat., and were a little concerned ahead of time about what noise might be like, but we had no problems whatsoever. The bathroom could have been a little cleaner upon arrival, but it wasn't awful or anything, and I'm sure if we'd said something, it would have been taken care of quickly, as the young man at the desk (I forgot to ask his name, maybe this was "John" mentioned by others?) was very polite and helpful the couple times we needed to ask him for something.

We'd decided to pay the extra for the ocean front room and were glad we did as while we were there, there were some amazing thunderstorms that were quite something to watch. However, we did think that the place was a little pricey for a basic motel - while the window was nice, there was no balcony from the room. And actually the windows, except for the little one in the bathroom, don't open - a good thing to know for anyone who finds that important.

Tho' the shared deck on the floor below was nice, they do allow smokers there, so if anyone's very sensitive to smoke as I am, that can limit your ability to use it. They have two decks, a suggestion might be to have one with smokers allowed and one not. And what someone else said about the breakfast in the office was true....we wouldn't use that as our breakfast.

One suggestion I'd make, maybe as an extra for the price of the oceanfront rooms, throw in some larger, fluffier towels! But having a microwave and refrigerator and larger tv were great, and all in all, the location was the most important thing to us. And we were allowed to use our beach tags and parking space for a few hours after check-out, which was great. So for a basic boardwalk motel right on the beach, I'd definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lauracohenromano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.8 mi away
Ocean 7
Ocean 7
#6 of 32 in Ocean City
305 reviews
0.1 mi away
Port-O-Call Hotel
Port-O-Call Hotel
#3 of 32 in Ocean City
357 reviews
0.6 mi away
Watson's Regency Suites
Watson's Regency Suites
#9 of 32 in Ocean City
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ocean Breeze Hotel
Ocean Breeze Hotel
#28 of 32 in Ocean City
71 reviews
0.7 mi away
Biscayne Suites
Biscayne Suites
#5 of 32 in Ocean City
164 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pavilion Motor Lodge
Pavilion Motor Lodge
#19 of 32 in Ocean City
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Front Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Front Motel

Address: 1417 Ocean Ave, Ocean City, NJ 08226-3172
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Ocean City
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
#10 Family Hotel in Ocean City
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range: £57 - £137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ocean Front Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family Motel directly on the Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Ocean Front Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Front Hotel Ocean City
Ocean City Front Hotel
Ocean City Front Motel
Ocean Front Motel Ocean City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing