We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little gem on the Boardwalk”
Review of Ocean Front Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ocean Front Motel
Ranked #11 of 32 Hotels in Ocean City
Warrenton, VA
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Little gem on the Boardwalk”
Reviewed 22 June 2009

After having grown up on annual weeklong family vacations in beautiful Ocean City but not having returned for several decades, I thought I'd go back and soak up some nostalgia. Well, what a very pleasant surprise I had on arrival at the Ocean Front Motel and finally meeting this manager John that everyone else had written about. They weren't exaggerating. Apart from 1 or 2 owner/operators of B&Bs, I can't recall any managers that were as helpful and interested in making my stay a pleasant one as he was.

The room while small was perfectly clean with very firm beds and better than average pillows. The bathroom was immaculate but could have used a vanity instead of the plain sink.bowl with essentially no place to lay out your hairdryer, shaver, etc. The A/C was relatively loud which made it perfect for running the blower all night to block out or at least mask outside noise. I never heard a thing. The refrigerator and microwave worked fine, however the room would have been too small for more than 2 people to eat a meal there. But who wants to eat in their room when you're right on the boardwalk?

The location is perfect: right smack in the middle of the boardwalk.on the beach!! Walk one direction in the morning behind quiet residences, afternoon on the beach (the access for which is right at the motel), and walk the other direction in the evening for all the taffy, fudge, pizza, popcorn and amusements. Being located at 14th Street, you're within a reasonable walking distance of all the downtown restaurants and shops. And speaking of restaurants, there are quite a few really good ones downtown although I was extremely disappointed to find out that the Campbell's Seafood Kitchen, a veritable Ocean City institution, had closed several years ago.

You can leave your car parked in the motel lot for the rest of the day after the 11am checkout with access to a bathroom and shower. With the reasonable rates, what else could you possibly ask for? I'll be returning regularly.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kriswil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    188
    123
    50
    18
    26
See reviews for
193
92
17
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2009

I wanted to take my wife and two little girls to the beach during Mother's Day weekend. I searched the net and the Beach Front seemed like the best bargain on the beach. For the money, we got more than we expected. John was very accomodating. The room was clean and in order. John was very helpful, even offering toys for the beach. After we got back from church, John had one of his employees take our family's picture. He printed it out and presented it to us in a very nice beach frame! After checking out, we were able to keep our car parked in his lot and use the bathroom and shower to clean up before our trek back to suburbia. The Ocean Front seemed like the type of place that families return to year after year.
Thanks for a great Mother's Day getaway John!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DadofTwoinWC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, CA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2009

We have stayed at Ocean Front for the past 7-8 years. When you are there, to us, we are treated like family. Everything we needed was taken care of, it's right on the beach, and we felt our rate was good. We stayed last year while John was gone, and many other things were gone, like the family feeling. We were hesitant to go back, but thought to give it a try one last time. John is back this season, and things appear to be getting back to a comfort level we appreciate. We just returned last week, and man is it nice to see a friendly face again. Recommend to anyone, it's not the JW Marriot, but it is a nice place, with a nice price, great loction, and it just like home again.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vphares11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, D.C.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2008

We have stayed several times at the Ocean Front Motel and always appreciate the priority that the innkeeper and owner, John, places on friendly, personal attention. Rooms are simple to be sure, but clean and neat. Moreover, you simply can't beat the location for the money. John remembers families and faces and makes all feel welcome. As a result he sees many return customers, who include a stay at this classic Ocean City property directly on the boardwalk a happy part of their summer beach vacation.

  • Liked — price and location
  • Disliked — for the value, you really can't complain--but the rooms are not particularly updated.
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank KandBWashington_D_C_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lititz, pa
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2008

Although the location can't be beat, the motel is not the greatest. Rooms are small, old, and somewhat clean. Bathrooms are in dire need of overhaul. However, being right on the boardwalk and not costing $200+ a night helps this motel's appeal. Walls are thin - be prepared. Management did allow us to stay parked all day in lot after check out and we used the outside shower as well after day at the beach(although it was extremely hot, old, and dirty). Not bad - just understand what you are going to get.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — room
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank rthrbatthbch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oceancitynj
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 September 2008

When you first walk into the room, everything looks clean and neat. The room didn't have a smell, the beds were made, the table was clean... Then when you actually get settled in and start to look around the room, it was obvious that the maids were not doing their jobs. There were whole, and smashed chips on the carpet by the beds. There was blood on the end table, maybe someone cut their finger? But still it should have been cleaned up. The shower was backed up with previous people's hair, so when you turned the shower on you'd stand in 4 inches of water. Not that it was a huge deal, but there was no toilet paper on the roll. It wasn't hard for us to put it on, but still, it should have been done for us when we got there. The room had two double beds, which could hold up to 4 people, and they only gave us one towel. The beds were very uncomfortable, there was a brown stain on the comforter and there was no fitted sheet on the bed, just a piece of white fabric. So when you woke up in the morning you were laying on the actual mattress. An okay place to stay if you just want a place to sleep for a night or two and be close to the boardwalk. But I wouldn't stay there for a week.

  • Liked — It is on the boardwalk and close to the beach
  • Disliked — See review
  • Stayed September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oceancitynj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annandale, NJ
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2008

We just spent 3 days here and had a wonderful time, but our expectations were realistic. We wanted easy access to the beach & boardwalk at a low price and this fit the bill.

We paid $159/night for an ocean front room (that's all that was available when I booked). There were four of us - 2 adults, an 8-yr-old and a 12-yr-old. The room was a bit small, but we were out most of the time, so it really wasn't a problem.

The beds were very firm -- actually, a bit hard. I'd rather have that, then an old, saggy, lumpy mattress. The pillows were surprisingly good -- we rarely find decent pillows in any hotel. They were also firm, but again, in good condition. Not lumpy.

Our room was spotless and in good condition. It seemed to be freshly painted. The bedding was fresh and relatively new. The room smelled clean and fresh. The fixtures in the bathroom were a bit old, but clean and functional. Our bathtub had a lot of scratches on the bottom, but otherwise, it was just fine. The showerhead was good, the pressure was good, and we had plenty of hot water.

The parking was tight, but it was all under cover, so the cars didn't bake in the sun. We were also able to store our bikes in the parking area which kept them out of the sun & rain as well.

The deck was very nice. The furniture was sparse and a bit shabby, but you can't beat the view. One night, we had a take-out dinner there. Some people came to smoke, but they were considerate and stood away from us. We weren't bothered.

Our favorite thing about this place was how easy everything was. In the morning, we'd wake up and have some breakfast (we brought groceries and kept them in our fridge), then we'd go downstairs, unlock the bikes, and go for a ride on the boardwalk. This was all very easy since we could lock the bikes in the parking area and the ramp to the boardwalk is right outside the hotel.

After our ride, we'd lock up the bikes and go up to the room and get ready for the beach. We'd make sandwiches, and pack drinks & snacks in a small cooler, get changed, grab our chairs and go. We literally walked out of the beach-side of the hotel, across the boardwalk, then down the stairs to the beach. On the way to the water, we'd stop at the umbrella rental and then go down to the water. Going back to the hotel for a forgotten item, or to take my daughter to the bathroom, was no big deal since the room was so close.

After the beach, it was an easy walk back to the room for showers & naps. Since we were so close to the room, we didn't have a lot of stuff with us in the first place.

Then, in the evening, we'd go right back on the boardwalk and be at a restaurant or the rides in a few minutes. The hotel is right at the end of the commercial area of the boardwalk -- so we had the convenience without the noise.

Finally -- the free wi-fi was great. I was on the south side of the motel, so the reception was only 2 bars instead of 4, but I was able to jump on the free wi-fi of the neighboring hotel and get 4 bars. No problem. It was very helpful when we were trying to get information on local restaurants.

I think if I could change two things about the hotel, I might like a softer bed and a pool. Otherwise, it was everything that we wanted.

  • Liked — Easy access to the beach and boardwalk.
  • Disliked — The firm beds.
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank shp64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.1 mi away
Port-O-Call Hotel
Port-O-Call Hotel
#3 of 32 in Ocean City
351 reviews
0.7 mi away
Biscayne Suites
Biscayne Suites
#8 of 32 in Ocean City
148 reviews
0.6 mi away
Watson's Regency Suites
Watson's Regency Suites
#9 of 32 in Ocean City
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ocean Breeze Hotel
Ocean Breeze Hotel
#19 of 32 in Ocean City
60 reviews
0.7 mi away
Blue Water Inn
Blue Water Inn
#31 of 32 in Ocean City
73 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harris House Motel
Harris House Motel
#7 of 32 in Ocean City
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Front Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Front Motel

Property: Ocean Front Motel
Address: 1417 Ocean Ave, Ocean City, NJ 08226-3172
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Ocean City
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
#10 Family Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Ocean Front Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family Motel directly on the Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Ocean Front Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Front Hotel Ocean City
Ocean City Front Hotel
Ocean City Front Motel
Ocean Front Motel Ocean City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing