We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family Favorite Beach” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ocean City Beach

Ocean City Beach
Ranked #2 of 43 things to do in Ocean City
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Hopewell, New Jersey
Level Contributor
111 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Family Favorite Beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

We've enjoyed the Ocean City, NJ beach for four years now and it has become a family favorite. The beach is clean and well guarded. The crowds are not overwhelming and the attendants are pleasant.

We've stayed at 1st Street, 11th and 20th. The first street beach area was the most crowded. 20th street the least. Swimming is permitted between green flags positioned in the sand by lifeguards and the limited "intensity" of the surf varies based on wether conditions and the tides. Lots of seaweed on this trip. Sometimes jellyfish are an issue.

Attendants perform on-beach spot-checks for beach tags. The season pass rates are better if you are planning on staying for more than a single week. On most days, attendants are seated at the beach entrances to check for or allow purchase of beach tags. $5/person.

In some areas (such as 1st street), attendants are available to rent chairs and umbrellas. They perform all of the setup at the start of the day and collection at days end.

19th Street has on-beach volleyball nets.

A favorite.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Hunt201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

684 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    461
    143
    57
    18
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Exton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Non Stop Beauty”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

The Ocean City Beach is clean, spacious in most places, with exceptionally clean water. Wonderful and attentive Life Guarding makes it a safe place to swim, within the boundaries! The Ocean City beach is not free, but a fantastic value. You get what you pay for and more!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Patti M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hunlo
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“don't go for low tide”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

I thought the beach was clean, with surprisingly clear water. First day we went around 3pm and had no problems except finding a spot b/c it was packed with limited swim area around life guards. The second day we thought that we would go early to get a nice spot. It was low tide and the shore line was full of crushed shells about 3-4 feet out. we walked up and down the beach to see if it was like that everywhere and it was. We entered by 12th st. It was unbearable unless we went out passed that. My son couldn't boogie board w/o getting cut up. The last day we went later and didn't have a problem with the shells, just trying to find a nice spot to watch my son.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank KD3377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
163 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great family beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

Clean, well kept and convenient facilities too. Ocean City is such a great family town and the beach mirrors that. Mornings on the beach, afternoons or evenings on the boardwalk. Can't beat it.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank TPS87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new jersey
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Spectacular beach!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

We love Ocean City and have been returning every summer for over 15 years. My kids and husband love it. So relaxing and clean and family oriented.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank springsjean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ocean City Beach also viewed

Ocean City, Cape May County
Ocean City, Cape May County
 
Ocean City, Cape May County
Cape May Court House, Middle Township
 

Been to Ocean City Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing