We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great taco's!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pure Tacos - CLOSED

Pure Tacos
Price range: US$6 - US$12
Cuisines: American, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Takeout
Description: Pure Tacos is an exciting upgrade to the food landscape on the Boardwalk in Ocean City, NJ. The quick-casual style restaurant offers premium tacos, nachos and salads to beachgoers hungry for chef-quality food served fast. Well received last summer, food critic Craig LaBan of the Philadelphia Inquirer called the tacos “impressive”.Fresh, healthy ingredients create authentic Mexican flavors such as achiote grilled steak with onion, cilantro, salsa and guacamole, familiar flavors like braised chicken with cheese, lettuce, salsa and sour cream, and fusion flavors including orange-chili fish tacos and BBQ pulled pork tacos. Salsas and sauces are housemade and everything is naturally gluten-free.A visually stimulating design backs up the mouthwatering menu. You can’t miss the red exterior and white awning; Phillies’ fans can even keep up with the action on one of the flat panel TV screens.
Leesburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Great taco's!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2012

Had the BBQ pork tacos and the meat was so tender and good. Really enjoyed it with the bonus of the place being gluten free. Great food for everyone!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DebP4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    5
    2
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
62 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2012 via mobile

My husband and I are always excited to see something new on the boardwalk, especially a restaurant that actually provides some healthy meal choices. However, I wish we would have skipped Pure Tacos. There were few options to choose from. My chicken taco was so bland I considered breaking the law by feeding it to the seagulls. My husband had a bacon chicken ranch taco, and also commented about how flavorless it was. The tacos might be a healthy choice, but they aren't worth the calories.

Helpful?
Thank Iupkimmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wharton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Oh. My. Gluten. Free. Heaven.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2012

This place was finger lickin' amazing.

Gluten free?.... on the boardwalk!??!!!

wow. only thing i needed was more napkins and a fork. Yum, yum, yum.

I had the fish and my husband had the chicken. Wish they could open a place near home!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Buddy I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Voorhees, New Jersey
Level Contributor
253 reviews
201 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“A step above the normal boardwalk fare”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2012

Great tacos in different varieties - fish, beef, pork. Everything is free and made as you wait. Excellent homemade chips as well. Definitely a nice change from the typical boardwalk pizza options, and very reasonable as well.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SJEK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocean City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Pure Gluten Free”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012

Great place to go and know that you are getting gluten free food. Fresh, and Delicious! Love that there is somewhere I can take my kids on the boardwalk. Great location and easy to find.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank parkplaceoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pure Tacos also viewed

Ocean City, Cape May County
 
Ocean City, Cape May County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing