We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not stay here”
Review of Tahiti Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ocean City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tahiti Inn
Ranked #8 of 20 Ocean City B&B and Inns
Reviewed 30 July 2013

My family booked a few days here They wanted a $40.00 deposit for the Remote TV control and the keys. During our stay a worker appeared on our balcony and moving our chairs . It terrified our young daughter as this was in the AM. My 10 yr old daughter said it looked like a jail cubby (guess she saw that on TV) We checked out a day early because there were flies in our room. . We said nothing on our check out until we got a $20.00 deposit back and not the $40.00. Of course it was our fault as the receipt said $20.00, but we KNOW we were asked for $40.00 and gave $40.00. They said they would check the video, but we just wanted OUT of there. Never had any experience like this !

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 36liketotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TahitiInnManager, General Manager at Tahiti Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2013

Dear 36liketotravel,
we require all our guests to pay a $20 Deposit for Parking Permit, Keys and TV Remote control!
All deposits are returned at check out. Your receipt shows $20 Deposit paid, when paid and when you sign right below this line on your registration card at check in. If you had left your information for me at check out, we would of addressed this ASAP.
As far as the worker on your balcony... at 10:00am our outside workers are required on all floors to wipe down all chairs, clean dirty windows and pickup any trash! All our workers have uniforms with proper Tahiti Inn name and logo on their shirts. Sorry this startled your daughter.
As a family operated business, we care about all our guests as family! If you would like me to address any of these issues, please contact us directly at 609-399-0130 and one of the mangers will glad to help you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (160)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 160 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2013

We spent one night at the Tahiti Inn and would have stayed another night, if the weather had co-operated !! Very close to the boardwalk/beach. Mini fridge was a definite plus. The non smoking policy was also very appreciated. Super friendly staff !! Very family friendly. The rooms could use a bit of modernizing and the A/C was a bit noisy. We had not made any prior reservation, and were able to get a room at a reasonable price. Yes, I would go back to the Tahini Inn.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DovileMat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We spent three days at the Tahiti Inn and had a great stay. The place is family owned and operated and it shows it. The dedication and hard work to keep a hotel clean and friendly is apparent there. Staff, Workers and Management all take pride in what they offer.

The value can not be beat. They are located 1/2 block from the boardwalk with easy access to the beach, stores and restaurants and you might pay a lot more for that location.

Cecilia at the front desk is Awesome!

Room Tip: Try to book a first floor and you could be right across from the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gregory Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

We having been staying at the Tahiti Inn for our summer vacation for a number of years. The property is family owned and operated. They go out of their way to make you feel like part of the family. Just a short walk to the beach and boardwalk.which is fantastic. Their prices are awesome, and the rooms and apartments are spotless. I have recommended The Tahiti to many people

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2013

My kids and husband love this place! Especially that it is close to the arcade. Nice rooms and porch so the kids can run around on the patio. My husband loves the poolside, where he plays backgammon, and the kids love the pool, always under the waterfall!

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
2  Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

For the price and location, it is just as good as anywhere else you would stay at the shore. The boardwalk, the beach and the ocean are less than a block away. The room are decent, the apartments are a bit nicer but overall, it could use some updating and the comon areas can be less than a desirable place to relax. The pool is nice but does get crowded quickly and the staff could be friendlier and much more empathetic to their guests.

But as I previously mentioned... price and Location make this a bump up from most of the local places to stay if you are on a family vacation that consists of children. I would be less inclined to put this on the top of my list for a romantic or relaxing vaction destination.

Room Tip: If you can afford the apartment; get it! It will drastically improve you overall opinion and stay of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SamHaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2013

Boardwalk and beach just steps away. Family have been staying here for over 10 years and made to feel like family. Wouldn't think of staying anywhere else at the shore. Prices can't be beat. Come back twice a year, Dad's birthday and Mom's birthday. Always rent an Apartment so the whole family is together.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ron F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.4 mi away
Port-O-Call Hotel
Port-O-Call Hotel
#3 of 31 in Ocean City
360 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ocean 7
Ocean 7
#5 of 31 in Ocean City
312 reviews
0.3 mi away
Watson's Regency Suites
Watson's Regency Suites
#9 of 31 in Ocean City
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Biscayne Suites
Biscayne Suites
#7 of 31 in Ocean City
167 reviews
0.4 mi away
Blue Water Inn
Blue Water Inn
#30 of 31 in Ocean City
80 reviews
0.0 mi away
Harris House Motel
Harris House Motel
#8 of 31 in Ocean City
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tahiti Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tahiti Inn

Address: 12th and Ocean Avenue, Ocean City, NJ 08226
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Ocean City
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Ocean City
Number of rooms: 57
Also Known As:
Tahiti Hotel Ocean City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing