We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relax, Destress, Sleep”
Review of Ocean City Mansion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ocean City Mansion
Ranked #6 of 20 Ocean City B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersBronze level
philadelphia, pa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Relax, Destress, Sleep”
Reviewed 1 May 2013

I surprised my husband with a weekend in April 2013 and actually booked the honeymoon suite. We were looking for a quiet weekend getaway and a chance to look at the ocean and walk on the beach. Boy was I surprised. The inn was warm and inviting when we arrived, even though the weather was rainy. When we walked into the room we were in another world. The recliner massage chairs were more relaxing than I could even imagine. The tub was fabulous and deep, which is hard to find in a jacuzzi sometimes. I hate to admit that several times we fell asleep in the recliners. We were beyond relaxed and then we discovered the bedroom. The high ceiling and the chandelier along with the comfort of the bed made it very hard for us to venture away to anywhere else. I did get to see the beach and took walks and walked the boardwalk, but none of this compared to the relaxation we both felt when we left. Destressed? Absolutely!!!! Thank you so much Nancy!!!!. We still talk about our fabulous weekend and wonderful host.

Jackie and Rich, Philadelphia

Room Tip: Honeymoon suite or any other rooms with the massage chairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackie1141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    28
    10
    10
    10
See reviews for
22
74
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, PA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Our main issue with our stay was our pet sitting situation. The reason we chose to stay at the B&B was because it was dog friendly and offered pet sitting. We only wanted to use the service for a couple of hours one night to go to a long deserved night out for dinner. We do know that our dog has possible separation anxiety issues when we are away from home so we understood it might not work out and expected a call from someone from the establishment immediately if that were the case. We were under the impression someone employed by the B&B would be watching our dog. Instead at the last minute the B&B said a family that has been living at the B&B for months volunteered to pet sit in their room. We felt very comfortable with the family watching our pet since we interacted with them earlier and knew they enjoyed animals and were great people. On the other hand we thought someone from the B&B would be overseeing any issues that may come up. What happened when we went out to dinner was another guest called to complain to owner Nancy about our dog barking. We did not want our dog to be causing a disturbance for the other guests but we had no idea what was happening while we were at dinner. We trusted that the management would contact us immediately if there was a problem. Nancy was out of town and there was no employee at the establishment at the time. Nancy did call us when we were finishing dinner. We were gone approximately an hour and a half. So it had to be around 8 or 9 when one of the other guest complained that our dog was barking. Ironic because we heard dogs above us barking all afternoon and then that night as well and it never crossed our minds to complain. Whoever called if you had a dog with you that weekend and called Nancy about sporadic barking for an hour. Congratulations. You must have the only dog in the world that doesn't bark. If you didn't have a dog with you and you called to complain my question to you would be why would you stay at a dog friendly B&B if you have no tolerance? Just curious. The family that watched our pet said it wasn't that bad and couldn't understand why someone would have called. That is completely different than what Nancy told us. We felt terrible that we got the family involved. To top it off the next morning at breakfast (which was terrific both days during our stay) we had two other guest complain to us about some of the amenities at the B&B and that Nancy was AWOL for the entire Easter weekend. That was the third guest in two days that mentioned her absence to us. The housekeeper was doing EVERYTHING on her own. Who wants to go on vacation and have other guests complain to you about the establishment and owner? Have the service (dogsitting) offered on the website not handled properly? Not sure you are getting the room you booked until the day before your trip (unfortunately due to displaced Hurricane Sandy victims)? We have no desire to visit the B&B again and would not recommend it to anyone. We thank the housekeeper for all her hard work and the generous family who helped us during our stay.

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrrite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mckenna, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean City Mansion, responded to this review, 17 May 2013
Thank you again for the review. Due to the fact this dog was disturbing other guests I needed to contact the owners of the dog immediately.

The pet sitter was a resposible caring adult that did everything to help unfortunately the dog did not oblidge.
This review is unwarranted however it is a good heads up to anyone that brings a dog that my policies will take effect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derwood, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 March 2013

I would not go back to this place. The best thing I can say is that the breakfast was excellent and the bed and bedding very comfortable. However, in the room were MANY light fixtures, many places for light bulbs, MOST of which did not work or were not even there. In the lovely chandelier only 5 of 12 bulbs worked, there were bulbs missing, and one was broken off and hanging from the fixture. In the bathroom light fixture there was 1 bulb and 3 open light sockets. When we went to dinner in the evening and came back after dark, the porch was totally in darkness and the 3rd floor, where we had to go, had no lights at all even with the steep stairs. I thought it was dangerous. We did notify the only management we saw the first morning we were there, but nothing was done.

Room Tip: Bring your own light bulbs!
See more room tips
Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank M1Calico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mckenna, Owner at Ocean City Mansion, responded to this review, 9 March 2013
Thank you so much for your review. I was not notified of the light bulb issue until your review. Perhaps you notified a staff member who inadvertantly forgot to mention it to me?
I would of done it immediately!
First I am checking in to the timer on the front porch to make sure by dusk we have a bright entrance.
Second, I am reviewing the rooms to make sure all light bulbs are working.
Perhaps some of them burned out with the last storm.
Thank you again.
Nancy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for our anniversary and it was wonderful. We stayed in the honeymoon suite, which is stacked with amenities: two person Jacuzzi, 2 brookstone (amazing) massage chairs, 52 inch flat screen, private balcony, among other things. There were also no details spared in decorating the room, there were wall fixtures, candy jars, and then complimentary bubble bath stuff under the sink.

It was such a nice and relaxing weekend, the hostess was wonderful. The three course breakfast was delicious and it was only about a 10 minute walk to the beach. Though it was pretty cold because we stayed in March, there were still a number of shops open. We went to the Crap Trap for dinner, and the food was great. The wait was long, but they have a large bar and a small dance floor so we managed. All in all, it was a fabulous anniversary and I hope to make the honeymoon suite a tradition.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cskelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mckenna, Owner at Ocean City Mansion, responded to this review, 9 March 2013
Thank you so much for the review!
Happy Anniversary!
Nancy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brooklyn
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2012 via mobile

Let me preface this review by saying The O.C. Mansion would rate excellent but because of a couple displaced by Hurricane Sandy, our room had to be changed, no fault by Nancy, in fact she is a very caring and gracious host!. We stayed in the Cabin Room which was very "cozy". This is a dog friendly B&B with an emphasis on friendly! There were several dogs & owners staying there, including Max our Cairn Terrier. Nancy has created a lovely and comfortable inn where her guests are treated to a wonderful & friendly home. Her home and the guest rooms are beautifully decorated. Cookies & coffee on the 1st floor and a shot of whiskey on the 2nd gave me the right motivation to climb 3 flights of stairs to walk Max! This place is an incredible find, we'll be back!

Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank drewalex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mckenna, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean City Mansion, responded to this review, 9 March 2013
Thank you for writting the review.
I love Max!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 October 2012

My girlfriend and I went there for 2 days after getting a groupon online. We stayed in the honeymoon suite. The room had a 2 person jacuzzi tub with a 54 inch (I think) flatscreen and 2 brookstone massage chairs with a fireplace in one room. The bedroom had a huge ceiling, a smaller flatscreen, a refrigerator and a small porch off of it. Bathroom and shower were by the door where you walk in. Lots of knick knacks are in the room. Really nice feel to it. The room had assortments of colognes and perfumes. Along with some alcohol. BTW, no smoking in the rooms or the deck. Which wasn't a problem for us. My girlfriend smokes and I smoke cigars but Nancy's neighborhood is just great for taking a walk around.

The room was on the 3rd floor. Going down to the second floor is a small refrigerator with water in it along with snacks to satisfy a hunger in the middle of the night.

Nancy and her staff were just great. Very accommodating to anything we needed and always asking us if we needed anything. This was my first stay in a bed and breakfast and it was a great one. The breakfast was great.

When we went for a walk we headed to the boardwalk. Which is about a ten minute walk. Great scenery and the usual places on the boardwalk and beach. Local streets are cool too. Lots of "mom and pop" places. Very unique town.

What makes Ocean City very unique is that it is a "dry town". No alcohol but a 5 minute drive across the bridge from the manor and you can get what you want and bring it back. Make sure you check out the Crab Trap across the bridge. AwEsOmE seafood! Lot's of the restaurants are also BYOB. Which I thought was cool.

We liked the charm of this City and would love to come and visit Nancy again. I recommend Nancy's place for a weekend getaway from the grind. Thanks Nancy.

Room Tip: The suite was in the far corner. We heard nothing but be aware if you go on the porch that everyone...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Webhead13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mckenna, Guest Relations Manager at Ocean City Mansion, responded to this review, 9 March 2013
Thank you so much your review.
Hope you come back for your anniversary!
Nancy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new jersey
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2012 via mobile

The host Nancy was accomadating to our needs and the breakfast server was very friendly. Had eggs both days,bagel,nice potatoes,fruit,assortment of teas. If you have dietary needs,Nancy would help. Let her know in advance. Mckenna room tight for big people. Watch your head on chandeliers.Convenient to tennis courts.Nice AC controls in room.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gambler1NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.5 mi away
Watson's Regency Suites
Watson's Regency Suites
#9 of 32 in Ocean City
235 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ocean 7
Ocean 7
#5 of 32 in Ocean City
298 reviews
1.2 mi away
Port-O-Call Hotel
Port-O-Call Hotel
#3 of 32 in Ocean City
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Biscayne Suites
Biscayne Suites
#6 of 32 in Ocean City
144 reviews
0.3 mi away
Atlantis Inn Luxury B&B
Atlantis Inn Luxury B&B
#1 of 20 in Ocean City
281 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ocean Front Motel
Ocean Front Motel
#11 of 32 in Ocean City
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean City Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean City Mansion

Property: Ocean City Mansion
Address: 416 Central Ave, (previously Somewhere Inn Time), Ocean City, NJ 08226-3956
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Ocean City
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean City Mansion 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Ocean City Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean City Mansion Hotel Ocean City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing