We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room 7, Not so great!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sifting Sands Motel
Ranked #28 of 32 Hotels in Ocean City
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Room 7, Not so great!”
Reviewed 27 August 2014

We stayed in Room 7. The decor was nice but that was it. The door deadlock was broken, it just spinned around in the door ready to fall out. There was no way to lock the door from the inside! There was no bathtub so that was a problem with 2 kids needing to take a bath! It is hard to shower a baby in your arms. The light bulbs were burned out in the ceiling fan so it was really dark in the room. There was no curtain on the bathroom window so anyone across the street up high could see right in when you are in there at night! Also, people smoking outside the room all night and day! And the parking spots are so small, you couldn't even barely walk between the cars with your luggage. I would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Look at rooms on the website before choosing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Browneyedgirl529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    24
    20
    14
    21
See reviews for
46
19
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
philly
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

The units are very small. Main bed was very hard, futon was alittle better. Could use a bigger shower....very tiny. Was cutely decorated and the pool was nice. They came to clean the room but left dirty towels & trash right out front of your room till next morning...yuck. And could not get internet at all.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chele3030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ocean City hotels

Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

I have been staying in OC,NJ for several years - this has been the worst experience by far. For starters, the smoke detectors were hanging off the walls (not attached) with no batteries in sight. I attempted to charge my phone and the wall plate detached from the wall - not kidding at all. The hotel has WiFi, however I was unable to connect. I went to the front desk and was told to sit outside of the room or by the pool to be able to stay connected.

I went to take a shower and was surprised to see how dingy and gross it was - take shower shoes or flip flops - I would not go in without shoes on your feet.

I was siting out at the pool, when I overheard a parent telling her child it was ok to pee in the pool, seriously disgusting.

Last, I was attempting to heat up my leftover lunch for dinner and was surprised to see the interior of the microwave covered in rust! Yes, rust. I did not plan on getting a tetanus shot while on a weekend trip, so I avoided using the microwave.

Room Tip: the hotel has a website, the pictures are NOT accurate and if you call - the manager will lie and sa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Time4chge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We stayed at the sifting sands motel this past Memorial Day weekend. We stayed for one night, it started out well but quickly went downhill. We had 4 people in our room, with a fifth along for the ride but was staying in Sea Isle. We checked in with no problem, went to the room to get situated. We left to go to grab something to eat on the boardwalk and when we walked past the office, the manager asked us "How many people are staying with you?" We told him 4 and that the 5th person was staying in Sea Isle. He told us "no more than 4 in the room at any given time" About 15 minutes later we walked back to the room where again the manager was standing outside the office. He once again asked us how many people were staying in our room. Once again we responded 4. We left for Sea Isle for the night and did not return until 6am the next morning. At 845am, we were woken up by LOUD banging on our door as if the police were outside. It was the manager, who walked right into our room while we were all sleeping and for the third time asked how many people were in our room. He was surprised when he saw that only 4 of us were there like we told him from the beginning. Needless to say, the manager harassed us the whole time we were there. I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND THIS PLACE TO ANYONE!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank jordomf6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

I have stayed at this Motel on 4 different occasions now and have never had a bad experience. The location to shopping, boardwalk, and places to eat is incredible as it's located just about near the middle of the boardwalk entrance on 9th street, which is very convenient. Parking in the season can be a little tight, but the spaces are reserved and each room is supposed to have 1 parking spot. The Manager, Arnie, is very friendly and very accommodating if needed. I read some of the reviews about how he is not available after 6pm if you need him, and that is simply not true. Arnie is always on property, as he stays there, and if you need help in the middle of the night, he will jump to help if you need it. I have always had a different room when staying and I highly recommend checking out their website for the room pictures and descriptions. Also, when booking, be sure to let them know how many will be staying so they can attempt to provide you with a room that has adequate space for all your guests and belongings. Another thing to remember is that each room is owned by someone other than the motel. The management simply rents these out for the owners, so they have minimal control over the type of flooring, dressers, couches, bathroom, etc. If you ever have an issue, speak with Arnie and he will work with you to provide a resolution. He is not mean and harsh as some people make him out to be, but very understanding.

Room Tip: Make sure to specify how many are traveling so they can accommodate with a room to fit
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jason B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glendora, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

I would not recommend staying here, very dirty ,spiders in the rooms ,ceiling fan was so covered with dust also had burnt out light bulbs. Bed was so bad in bedoom, big divit in the middle.Bunk beds had mold on the top mattress. Table and chairs were so wobbly you were afraid to use them. Just a very bad experience I will never stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ccominskie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pottstown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We called a couple months before our trip to reserve a choice room. [All rooms here are not created equal!] A few weeks later they called to tell us the room we picked was no longer available and they were 'upgrading' us to another room.
We decided against coming after all and when we called to cancel our reservation, the guy on the phone was VERY, very rude and unprofessional! He told us we would have to cancel through booking.com and that we did not make a deposit. He also said we had reserved two rooms. [Such a mess!!]
Fortunately I had kept careful information, told him we called THEM to reserve and the exact price we had paid in deposit. After giving a lecture on what a terrible decision we were making, [and asking to speak with my *mother*] he grudgingly said he would refund our money.
Beware if you stay here and know all your information!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank simplyunique311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.3 mi away
Ocean 7
Ocean 7
#4 of 32 in Ocean City
298 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blue Water Inn
Blue Water Inn
#29 of 32 in Ocean City
64 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ocean Breeze Hotel
Ocean Breeze Hotel
#19 of 32 in Ocean City
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Biscayne Suites
Biscayne Suites
#7 of 32 in Ocean City
138 reviews
0.1 mi away
Homestead Beach Hotel
Homestead Beach Hotel
#26 of 32 in Ocean City
53 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tradewinds Motel
Tradewinds Motel
#16 of 32 in Ocean City
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sifting Sands Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sifting Sands Motel

Property: Sifting Sands Motel
Address: 840 Ocean Ave, Ocean City, NJ 08226-3621
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Ocean City
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Sifting Sands Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just paces away from the beaches and boardwalk. We offer a retriet that includes a heated pool thats open till 10pm, daily maid service, free beachtags, and free parking to just name a few. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Sifting Sands Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sifting Sands Hotel Ocean City
Sifting Sands Ocean City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing