We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's average and that's about all”
Review of Martino's Italian Restaurant - CLOSED

Martino's Italian Restaurant
Cuisines: Italian
Restaurant details
Level Contributor
111 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“It's average and that's about all”
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We passed this attractive small restaurant and were intrigued by all the flowers growing outside. The menu and prices looked good so we went back. We ordered two spaghetti dishes, one with marinara and one with meat sauce. Both came with marinara and enough pasta to feed five people. The sauce was heavy and gloppy and overly sweet. The server did take one of the dishes off the check which was nice of her. Another in our party had some sort of pasta sampler dish with too much sauce on it and the other person had a salad which was good. If you choose wisely, yiu can probably get a reasonably good meal. I'd skip the pasta dishes though...skip pasta in an Italian restaurant? Does this set the the tone for this place? I think they need to revisit their menu. Look elsewhere.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dayess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    1
    1
    0
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
“Best Stuffed Shells ever!!!”
Reviewed 7 August 2013

My family and I went to Martino's because of numerous positive recommendations from family and friends. We had and absolutely enjoyable time from the friendly staff. The stuffed shells with a side of sausage was beyond belief. Awesome garlic bread too. The restaurant was very clean and family oriented.

Some reviewers seem to have a problem but sometimes an extremely negative attitude produces somewhat negative results.

Also, fairly close to the boardwalk if you want a leisurely walk after a tasty meal.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocean City, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Don't waste your money or time”
Reviewed 7 July 2013

We ordered $150 in dinners for take-out. We asked for 4 Penne Vodkas and picked up four spaghetti dinners with little sauce. They wouldn't give us bread and forgot to give us salads. When we called they were annoyed and said that we shouldn't bother ordering again. Do yourself a favor and go to Voltaco's on West Avenue. The owners are nicer and much more accommodating. This mother/daughter duo clearly do not know what they are doing. They were not busy and had only 2 diners in the resaurant at the time. Don't waste your money.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank d s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocean City, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disgusting!!!!!!!”
Reviewed 24 August 2012

We had the worst meal of our lives here tonight, but to top it off, when we attempted to complain to the cook, she came out of the kitchen and screamed and swore at us. She then told us to leave her restaurant and that we had better pay up. The eggplant parm was disgusting as was the pasta with clam sauce. As was stated in an earlier review, it was from a can. My grandson had a children's pizza which was clearly a frozen pizza that was not completely cooked with some old meatballs cut up on top. Do yourself a favor and stay away!!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plumsteadville, PA
Level Contributor
247 reviews
187 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
“Great service, good food”
Reviewed 7 August 2012

Along Asbury Avenue's busy sidewalk of shops and restaurants sits a great little Italian restaurant.

A part of four, we were seated immediately for dinner. They had a kid's menu which any kid could find more than a few things they'd like...my granddaughter had the pasta with butter, to which I added heaps of grated cheese to make it more like the pasta she is used to eating. She cleaned her plate. Thank goodness I gave her fruits and vegetables (carrots, cucumbers and broccoli) for an afternoon snack after swimming that day to make for a balanced diet.

I had the Penne with Sausage which I also had for lunch the next two days.

The other two adults had huge salads, one with chicken, and the other meatless. One wisely asked for dressing on the side and the other forgot. The one who forgot to ask for the dressing on the side, drained off about a cup of dressing into an empty glass (about 95% oil) before he could eat the salad. He enjoyed the salad very much, and finished it but it will be a long time before he forgets to ask for dressing on the side.

The other adult, who asked for the dressing on the side, also enjoyed her salad but was unable to finish it all and took the rest home for lunch the next day.

We found Martino's to be very comfortable, the service was good, and the food was also good. The prices were reasonable for a sit down dinner in a comfortable atmosphere...considering what you pay on the boardwalk for a slice of pizza.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank PeabodyandSherman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Martino's Italian Restaurant also viewed

Ocean City, Cape May County
 
Ocean City, Cape May County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing