We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great price and location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Harris House Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Harris House Motel
Ranked #6 of 32 Hotels in Ocean City
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Great price and location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

I've been staying at the harris house for 29 years. Its a great place to stay. I've been staying here since I was a child and now also come with my family. It was called "the haward johnson".It's clean, reasonable priced, and located right off the boardwalk. The pool is great too!!! It's huge,clean,and its heated if the water is too cold. The room are regular hotel rooms w 2 beds. It does not have a small kitchen but it does have a small table w 2 chairs, microwave, and mini fridge. The only thing I would say is there beds are alittle small. Its a regular small full sized bed so it would depend how big n how many ppl are sleeping in them. There are 2 in each room. If your looking to eat out and just pick on snack food at the hotel then its good considering there's no kitchen. But isnt that what vacation is about!! Great place to stay w your
family at a great
location at a reasonable price!!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lisav1083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WSSHH, Front Office Manager at Harris House Motel, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Thanks for the review! Although the reviews on trip-advisor are semi-anonymous, if you have stayed with us for 29 years I am sure you have gotten to know our staff, many of whom have been with us 'forever'. As a family run business, we put relationships with our loyal customers first and enjoy seeing familiar faces year in and year out. I remember the "Howard Johnson" days as well! As proud as we are of our history, we are also always keeping an eye on the future. We have undergone a recent building-wide renovation of all rooms, including modern additions such as flat-screen TVs, key-card locks and wireless internet. Again, customer service is the cornerstone of any family-run business, and we look forward to providing you a family-friendly vacation spot for many years to come! -- The Harris House Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    63
    17
    3
    4
See reviews for
106
29
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013

This was our first time staying in OC NJ and we'll definitely come back.

I did a lot of research on hotels before choosing the Harris House. If you're looking for something fancy this isn't for you but you can't beat this place for the money.

After we got there I looked around at our other choices and they're all very similar. Most of the places in OC NJ are "beach motels". There are a handful of upper scale places but they're pricey and from what I saw you didn't get much more for the money.

We stayed here with 3 small kids and had a bunch of rainy days. So we got to know the room quite well.

The room isn't anything fancy. It's your basic two bed motel room but it was very clean and seemed to be well maintained. You got a dorm size fridge and a microwave which was very handy for us. My wife's only complaint was that there isn't really any outside space to relax on. You have some chairs outside the room but it's a motel so you're really just sitting in the hallway.

The pool was nice and well maintained. Most of the time we were in the pool we practically had it to ourselves.

You can't beat the location. There's no view to speak of but you cross the parking lot and you're right on the boardwalk and right there is the entrance to the beach and the guard shack / public restrooms. You're right in the middle of the boardwalk so you can go either direction.

Even though it rained we were able to make it out to the boardwalk or the beach every day. The convenience of being right near a beach entrance was awesome because we have 3 small kids and the amount of stuff we have to drag on the beach is overwhelming. We were so close it was no big deal to drag whatever we wanted and if we needed anything from the room we were 5 mins away.

The staff was great. I had to add on another night at the last minute and she gave me the price that I would have paid if I booked the longer special package. Also, she let us keep the beach tags for a couple hours after check out since we got such crappy weather during our stay.

My only real complaint would be the noise from the street. We ended up with a room that faced the road and the windows do very little to deaden any outside noise. If I stayed again I would request a pool side room. I did witness the garbage truck that one other reviewer complained about but I only saw / heard it on Monday. I don't know how often that truck comes but it's less often than the delivery trucks on the road side.

We are definitely going to stay here again and you can't beat the price of the mini-week special.

Room Tip: Request the pool side and a corner room if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WSSHH, Front Office Manager at Harris House Motel, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
What a great and thorough review, thank you! If we could guarantee sunshine, we would! If you stop by the front desk, we can always offer some ideas for rainy days, such as the sea-shell museum or the new indoor Haunted mini-golf course that opened on the boardwalk this year. We are glad you were able to take advantage of the location -- as you said, it really can't be beat -- and having two kids myself I can appreciate the convenience of being able to move quickly and hassle-free from hotel room to beach/boardwalk. Re: sitting out and relaxing, consider the pool deck, especially at sunset, many guests enjoy relaxing under the umbrellas and tell us that is their favorite part of vacation. We do hope you stay with us again! Thanks for the review! -- The Harris House Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upper Darby, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

My family stayed at the Harris House from Friday, June 7th-Sunday, June 9th. The room was very clean and included a microwave and mini fridge. We enjoyed the pool and the free coffee each morning. The staff at the front desk and those that cleaned the rooms and premises were friendly. We stayed on the 12th street side and despite other reviews, didn't mind the noise from the trucks as it wasn't too loud or for too long. We asked for a late check out and was granted the time we requested at no additional charge. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 244Yvonne244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WSSHH, Front Office Manager at Harris House Motel, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Thanks for the positive review! It always feels good to hear that the efforts of our staff are noticed. The housekeepers take pride in their work and as mentioned in previous responses, cleanliness is our mantra. At the front desk, our rule is also simple -- if we can accommodate a special request, we will! We are often sold-out throughout July and August which makes it tricky at times, but the management and desk clerks spend quite a lot of time going through each request and doing everything we can to make it happen. It's a style of management that has been passed down through the owner, his wife, and their children and is still a guiding principle to this day. We value our customers more than you could imagine, and we hope to provide you with another great stay upon your return! -- The Harris House Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

Our family was excited to be on our first vacation in a long time. This place was a perfect spot for our family of four. The rooms were very clean and orderly. The staff friendly. The pool was awesome! We were able to walk anywhere we wanted to go and not move our car. It is right off the beach, and within walking distance to many great places to eat or pick up something to enjoy in the room. We are definitely going to try to get back to Harris House Motel sometime in the near future.

Room Tip: There is street cleaning in morning and people coming home at night, so street side may be a little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WSSHH, Front Office Manager at Harris House Motel, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Thank you for choosing the Harris House for your vacation! We loved hearing that after not having a vacation in a long time, you choose us and had a great experience. It sounds like you took full advantage of the prime location, and with a family of four you were able to enjoy all the activities and fun just a few steps away. Hopefully the getaway recharged your batteries! Hope to see you again next time, and again thanks for the review... -- The Harris House Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

The Harris House Motel is a good hotel in Ocean City, NJ. I would say it is pretty comparable to other nice, clean Ocean City Motels. It sits steps away from the boardwalk on 12th, which for families, is right near the bathrooms on the boardwalk and also right near Jilly's Arcade and the Surf Mall and a short walk to the Amusement Area (...Cove, can't recall it's name but we had a good time there). The pool was clean and goes from 3-9 feet with a clear marker on the bottom of the pool so that kids stay in the 3 foot end. This is also very nice for families. There are restrooms on the first floor with showers which were clean! (Surprised bc they are easily accessible by pool goers). There were plenty of seats around the pool but bring your own beach towel. The rooms are a good size, bathroom was a little small but it was fine and it was Clean! The room comes with an older microwave and a small but not too small refrigerator. There was also a hair dryer in the room, soaps and a shampoo/conditioner. There was a nice flatscreen which not all shore hotels are equipped with. Plenty of lights in the room and a darkening shade. I checked the beds and mattresses. They were clean. The bedding is older but it smelled like it was washed. The towels were bright white and smelled clean. There is also a little table and two chairs. The balcony goes all the way around the top floor with some chairs outside the room. The air and the heat worked. The front desk staff was very nice and friendly. In June, they will allow you to keep your car on the lot after checkout as long as it is not a packed house weekend. This spot is also near some close free parking on the street if you have more than one car. We did have an issue but had someone respond to it quickly and it was about another room's occupants not the hotel. The front desk also followed up with the issue. My suggestion if you want quiet is to request a pool side room. The street gets a little noisy (but that's not really the Hotel's fault). Thank you Harris House!

Room Tip: Rooms pool side are quieter. Second floor has no elevator but there are stairwells. If you stay on a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JMMom819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WSSHH, Front Office Manager at Harris House Motel, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
What a great review, thanks! In particular, thanks for mentioning the cleanliness of the property, from the rooms themselves, through the guest bathrooms and showers near the pool area. As we repeatedly say, cleanliness is our focus. As a front desk worker myself, I also appreciate you mentioning our friendliness, too! We absolutely will work with you to accommodate whatever your needs are. We hope you'll come back and stay with us again soon, and again, thanks for the review! -- The Harris House Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
78 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

My family and I stayed here last July. You could walk out the back door of the motel and walk right onto the Boardwalk. It was so convenient. Rooms were kept clean and were of average size for a double bed. But the location was so great and the folks at the front desk were very friendly that we would definitely consider staying there again....

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nhackler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2012

My Husband and I stayed at the Harris House in August and September and both times we were very pleased with our stay. The office personnel were always friendly and accomodating. The entire property is kept very clean. The pool is well maintained. Just steps off of the boardwalk made it very convenient to beach. We would definately stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathleen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.4 mi away
Biscayne Suites
Biscayne Suites
#12 of 32 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ocean 7
Ocean 7
#5 of 32 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
0.3 mi away
Watson's Regency Suites
Watson's Regency Suites
#8 of 32 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Port-O-Call Hotel
Port-O-Call Hotel
#3 of 32 in Ocean City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sifting Sands Motel
Sifting Sands Motel
#26 of 32 in Ocean City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ocean Front Motel
Ocean Front Motel
#11 of 32 in Ocean City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harris House Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harris House Motel

Property: Harris House Motel
Address: 1201 Ocean Ave, Ocean City, NJ 08226-3251
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Ocean City
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Ocean City
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Harris House Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Harris House Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harris House Motel Hotel Ocean City
Harris Hotel Ocean City
Harris Motel Ocean City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing