We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for a mini-vacation”
Review of Harris House Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Harris House Motel
Ranked #7 of 32 Hotels in Ocean City
Certificate of Excellence
Exton, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great location for a mini-vacation”
Reviewed 28 August 2014

We stayed at Harris House from 8/24/8/25 in a street view double room. First of all, the location of this property is amazing. Steps from the beach/boardwalk and diagonal from Manco and Manco pizza. Across the street is a Jilly's arcade and bike rental. We also discovered Clancy's by the Sea, right on the boardwalk between 12th and 13th, excellent for breakfast outside! It has private off street parking as well.

The room itself is your standard motel room. Our stopper in the tub was broken, which was slightly inconvieniant with 2 little ones who needed baths. Our biggest (and really only) complaint about the motel is the noise level. Bewtween the noise coming from the AC unit, the louder than average noise of the running fridge, and the unexpected 5:45am arrival of the trash truck outside, we unfortunately had a very unrestful night of sleep. This was all made up for the next day by the wodnerful hospitality of the staff. We checked out a little before 11am and were told all we had to do was move out car from the motel lot and we could use the beach badges, pool, and bathrooms with showers by the pool for the rest of the day. This gave us the ability to get 2 full beach and boardwalk days out of our 1 night stay. We would definitely look to Harris House again for a quick trip or a long weekend.

Room Tip: Ask for pool side to possibly avoid the 5:45am arrival of the trash truck!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ks73080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    67
    17
    3
    5
See reviews for
108
32
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Havertown, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We came down for the weekend and didn't want to leave! The employees were helpful and very nice. Check in was quick and the rooms were very clean and comfortable. The entire hotel grounds were kept nice. The location was awesome, steps from boardwalk at an excellent location. The heated pool was fun and not too crowded. Plenty of room for everyone! It was the most relaxed I have been in awhile. It was so much fun we are headed back in a few weeks for a longer weekend:) Thanks to Gail, Michael and Elli and all the staff. It's my new place to stay in OCNJ! Hands down!!!!!

Room Tip: Rooms on Ocean Avenue are quiet. Rooms on 12th street are active but not too noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Rochelle, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Great location, wonderful pool. Stayed in a 1st floor poolside room. Just a few steps to the boardwalk. My 4 year old son had a blast at the pool and the arcade next door. Everything at the location was kept spotless. The parking lot can be a bit tight with a big vehicle but we always found a spot. We will be back next summer!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OCVACA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

This is at least our 10th stay at the Harris House. The location can't be beat; literally steps to the boardwalk, Manco and Manco pizza and Jilly's Arcade. Our family of four loves staying here and they have a big, heated pool that is never crowded to end the day. Rooms are nothing fancy, but all have refrigerators and microwaves. Free coffee every morning in the lobby and we always use the showers and changing rooms for our early arrival and on our day of checkout.

Room Tip: rooms on the street side are a little noisier, but nothing terrible. if you have little kids and a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oasisannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clifton, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

i enjoyed staying @ Harris House, very clean. Grounds were kept tidy & pool area as well. Air conditioner was a bit on the noisy side, but did its job. Check in was fast and were given information on area. Very good location. Our family enjoys Ocean City & this hotel was a good choice. Thanks Again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CGMLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

This motel is at a great location, located just off the boardwalk. It is clean and the staff is very nice. However, our room was located on the first floor street side of the motel and the noise is unbelievable. At night you hear people walking past the motel as they come off of the boardwalk, which makes it very hard to fall asleep. Delivery and trash trucks start coming down the street bright and early in the morning, around 5:30am and wake you up. The other issue we had in our room was that the air conditioning unit did not have a constant fan option. If there had been a fan on the unit it would have helped to block out the noise from the outside. The room got very warm since there was nothing constantly circulating the air. However, we had other family members in another room of the motel and their AC unit had a fan unit, so this seemed to only be an issue in some rooms.

Room Tip: Absolutely request a room on the pool side of the hotel. The street side of the hotel is extremely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank McGee5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

My experience was fabulous, so let me start with the negatives, or rather the least positive things. Later on, I will talk about the fabulous location and the truly wonderful staff.

The room itself is roomy and great, with flatscreen tv, fridge, microwave, comfy beds, and nice bathroom and shower. The WIFI is free and reasonably fast. Ask for the password when you arrive.

But remember that it is a motel, with two floors of rooms, facing either the parking lot and pool, or directly onto the street. If you are on the first floor, you get the hubbub. If you wish to sit outside your room, you will either have parked cars and lot directly in front of you, or you will be looking directly at people walking on the street about 10 feet in front of you. If you are on the second floor (I RECOMMEND THE 2ND FLOOR), you must carry your stuff up steps, as there is no elevator. On either floor, you must fully close the drapes to have privacy. This makes the room really dark.

But you don't go to the shore to stay in the room, do you? The location is beyond compare. It is less than 100 steps to the boardwalk and ocean. And you are at a great spot on the boardwalk, with a changing room/public facility right there. Check out my photo from my room (232) looking toward my right. You are almost on the boards without the clamor and noise.

And the staff is fabulous. Nothing seems too much. We arrived around 7 PM and were directed to a waiting spot in the seemingly full parking lot. We were constantly offered coffee and advice. When we went to check out at 10 am (normal check out is noon), we were told that we could only leave the car on the lot until noon, but could continue to use the pool and other facilities for as long as we wished, for the whole afternoon if we desired. All the staff had a smile each time I saw them.

This was a last minute trip to celebrate my birthday. The room was great (when we were in it)allowing us to have doggy bags and re-heated snacks; the staff was excellent with check-in and out speedy and parking (a big problem at the shore) never an issue. And problems and requests were "not a problem." Room was cleaned thoroughly each night and there were plenty of towels. As a final plus, the weather cooperated with sun and warm water until the morning of our departure.

Finally, the cost. Including all taxes, our stay came to about $250 per night. If you want to pay up to twice as much, you could stay at a true HOTEL with a view that allowed you to have your drapes open all the time and perhaps a balcony. I thought this MOTEL was EXCELLENT value for money. The attitude of the staff only made the bargain even better. Choose this place--you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 2nd floor are the best. Street side can see the boardwalk and a sliver of ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HistoryandSafety
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WSSHH, Front Office Manager at Harris House Motel, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
We really appreciated this review, as you truly seemed to understand the "heart" of our hotel. Thanks for the kind words and we hope you come stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.3 mi away
Watson's Regency Suites
Watson's Regency Suites
#9 of 32 in Ocean City
237 reviews
0.4 mi away
Biscayne Suites
Biscayne Suites
#8 of 32 in Ocean City
148 reviews
0.4 mi away
Port-O-Call Hotel
Port-O-Call Hotel
#3 of 32 in Ocean City
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ocean Breeze Hotel
Ocean Breeze Hotel
#19 of 32 in Ocean City
58 reviews
0.5 mi away
Blue Water Inn
Blue Water Inn
#31 of 32 in Ocean City
73 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ocean Front Motel
Ocean Front Motel
#11 of 32 in Ocean City
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harris House Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harris House Motel

Property: Harris House Motel
Address: 1201 Ocean Ave, Ocean City, NJ 08226-3251
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Ocean City
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Ocean City
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Harris House Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Harris House Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harris House Motel Hotel Ocean City
Harris Hotel Ocean City
Harris Motel Ocean City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing