We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old, but nice for the beach”
Review of Harris House Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Harris House Motel
Ranked #8 of 31 Hotels in Ocean City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2009

This is definitely an old beach motel, not too many updates, but it was nice and close to the boardwalk. The pool is really nice, big, and heated. The motel is right off of the boardwalk on 12th street, conveniently next Mack n Manco. The rooms are small and outdated, but clean. The bathroom is tiny! Unfortunately no elevator so you have to carry your luggage up the stairs, but this is pretty common at the beach. The room was expensive, but to be expected for August. We also had loud neighbors who sounded like they were right inside our room very early in the morning, don't expect silence!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank esa138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (179)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

170 - 176 of 179 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2009

This is our third year at the Harris House and in additional to a great location next to the boardwalk and with a heated pool, it now has wireless access. The rooms are always neat and clean, and everyone from the owner to the staff are pleasant and helpful. The rates are very reasonable, especially if you book their "mini-week" stays.
We found the Harris House by luck three years ago as we sought a place to stay while in Ocean City NJ, and are very glad we did. We would recommend it to anyone, especially those with small or teenage children.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zen300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2008

Before you read this review of the Harris House I just want to take a moment to explain that the place is a JERSEY SHORE MOTEL. The Bellagio it ain't but motels at the Jersey Shore simply never are. That being said our July 2008 stay was wonderful. Although plain and dated the motel was absolutely clean, comfortable and conveniently located. It's literally steps from the boardwalk ramp and the beach bathrooms are right there (12th St.). Our room was exactly as pictured. A slight problem in the form of a large crack above the door was a little troubling at first but it didn’t really become an issue. The front desk, pool and cleaning staff were friendly and helpful. The parking wasn't the best, we had a hard time finding a spot even though you are guaranteed one, but we eventually made our own which worked out to our advantage. The balcony had a set of chairs which were nice for people watching. They did make it a bit hard to get to your room sometimes though. It didn’t help that the guests of this Motel had no problem leaving all of their beach stuff, suits included, outside on their balcony chairs. The pool was warm and clean and there were plenty of chairs and towels. A minor complaint could be that it closes a bit early (6 PM) but it seems that that is the norm in the area. The two outdoor showers/ changing rooms were absolutely excellent and spotless throughout the day. They were actually enclosed bathroom suites… with a shower stall, sink, mirror, toilet and locking door. They were truly excellent. The complimentary beach tags were also excellent even though you had to sign away your life to get them. Overall the Harris House was well worth the money and we would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LESLIEKURZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2007

I chose “The Harris House Motel”, because of the rating that **Trip Advisor** had given it and the location of the motel. I wanted a motel that was close to the boardwalk and the beach; with a heated outdoor pool as well as being comfortable and clean.
The Harris House Motel had all I wanted and needed.
The motel is behind the boardwalk and 100 feet from the beach. The motel also had a heated outdoor pool. The motel has been re-vamped with new curtains, furniture etc. The staff was kind, courteous and helpful. The housekeeping cleaned our room very well. We enjoyed coming back to the room after spending all day at the beach. The room was clean and comfortable.
I have not been at the shore for over 30 years and did not know where to go, so I used the **Trip Advisor.** and **Yahoo**. We were not disappointed. We will use The Harris House Motel again. We stayed for 3 nights; the prices were a little lower that 2 other places I researched; about $10.00 lower.
I had read a review on **Trip Advisor** about the bathrooms at The Harris House Motel being small, I am a big person and it was fine for me. The place is clean, comfortable and close to the beach, it is not a suite, just a very nice motel.
Eateries -
“Piccini Wood Fired Brick Oven”
Located a few blocks from the motel. Excellent Italian food. We went back another night, it was so good!
“The Chatterbox”
Located a few blocks from the motel. Excellent also. Good home cooking. We had the
Honey chicken and my daughter had a cheeseburger. Delicious!
“Uncle Bills”
Located a few blocks from the motel. Breakfast.
We had blueberry pancakes, apple pancakes and chocolate chip pancakes. Great food!! **It looked really crowded when we pulled up, people standing waiting, but we only had a 10 minute wait.**
We found our eateries thru **Yahoo** and also The Harris House had a ‘Menu, Please, magazine in our room and information in their lobby.
**Parking always an issue, but that is the way it is at the shore. We just rode around until we found a spot, learned how nice Ocean City, keeps their streets, no trash; flowers planted everywhere - very nice. Merchants put out their wares and we walked and shopped.
We had a wonderful time, good weather,sun, sand and good food. Great accommodations. !!
Thanks **Trip Advisor** for the information and the rating on this motel.

Denise
Lower Gwyedd, Pa.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank rubyotuby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2007

We just returned from a 2 night stay at Harris House. We found the accommodations above adequate for this area. Everything has been recently remodeled. Rooms come complete with new drapes, towels, linens, carpet, table with 2 chairs, hair dryer, microwave and mini fridge. The bathroom is small, but appropriate. Location can't be beat.....step out from the parking lot, right up the ramp to the boardwalk and beach. Nice size pool, with about 1/2 of the pool being
3'.....great for younger kids and those who just wish to stand in the water vs. swim; the deeper end is 9' deep. Outdoor shower to use after the beach. Two bathrooms with showers available to use after check out. They were spotless and well lit and the shower was complete with hot water and a soap dispenser on the wall. If there was one thing I would say was missing, it would be a sheer on the window to allow some privacy while allowing light in. Request a pool side room for optimum convenience. We plan on returning later this summer.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank flyerfanmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2007

We stayed at the Harris House Motel over Memorial Day weekend for some R&R. The motel is located steps from the Boardwalk next to Jilly's Arcade and Mack & Manco Pizza.

The rooms are basic, but clean. The bathroom was so small the door could not be closed while using the toilet. Hot water was also in short supply at times (allow about 10 minutes of running the water before showering).

The pool was nice but not very clean. They do not require babies to wear swimming diapers so there were little pieces of normal diapers floating in the pool. Needless to say we did not use the pool.

Please note the one-car-per-room parking policy is not always evenly enforced. We drove back to the hotel late one night only to discover there were no parking places and were forced to find a spot on the street (either they don't have enough parking spaces for one per room or no one checked the parking lot for non-registered cars). This was after we were told there was no way to park our second car (we came from different directions and met up in OC) in the lot and was told to park it somewhere else. Not being familiar with the area we asked for a more specific place and was told "somewhere over there" with the woman behind the desk waving her hand in the air.

Good places to eat include the Beach Club Cafe for breakfast and Obidiah's for dinner (about 1.5 miles over the 34th street bridge).

Overall we liked OC, but would choose a different hotel next time.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank World_Traveler_101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2006

I have been coming to OC for years now and this was the first time I have stayed at the Harris House. I am not sure why I haven't tried it sooner - I vaguely remember viewing their website years ago. Maybe they need to advertise more?

We did a short stay from Sept 16-18 and I will not hesitate coming here again! We paid $99 a night.

Pros:
Wonderful friendly staff. Example - while waiting in the hallways for the rest of my party, an employee, who was laundering the towels, came out to me talked to me. He was just going out of his way to be friendly.
Clean room - The hotel grounds themselves were clean and the room was also clean and tidy. (There was some mold on the ceiling tile in the bathroom).
Housekeeping - We accidentally spilled some sand on the carpet floor and also some sand was left in the tub - when we left to eat lunch we came back to a fully cleaned room with no sand anywhere to be found.
Location - It is beach block right off the boards. (See pics). There is a bike rental ($5/hr) right across the dead-end street. It is also located next to the 12th street beach which still has lifeguards after Labor Day. Mac and Manco's pizza is right on the corner (oh c'mon, have a slide...its tradition!)
Parking - They have plenty of free parking! That can be a hidden cost of visiting OC.
Pool - The pool was bigger than I expected. The deep end even goes to 9ft!

Cons:
Wake-up call - 6AM every morning when the trash truck came to empty the dumpsters. I am light sleeper, so this may be a non-issue to some.
Limited electronics - No alarm clock and the TV was old. (At least it had a wireless remote)
Bed - That was one hard bed.
Bathroom - Some mold on the ceiling tile in the bathroom.

I have to agree with one of the previous reviewers - it is a 2*, but when compared to other OC hotels...it's a 4*. You can not beat the price and location of this motel. We'll be back again.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank JustInLouisville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.4 mi away
Port-O-Call Hotel
Port-O-Call Hotel
#3 of 31 in Ocean City
365 reviews
0.3 mi away
Watson's Regency Suites
Watson's Regency Suites
#9 of 31 in Ocean City
247 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ocean 7
Ocean 7
#6 of 31 in Ocean City
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Biscayne Suites
Biscayne Suites
#5 of 31 in Ocean City
171 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ocean Breeze Hotel
Ocean Breeze Hotel
#28 of 31 in Ocean City
73 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ocean Manor Hotel
Ocean Manor Hotel
#22 of 31 in Ocean City
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harris House Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harris House Motel

Address: 1201 Ocean Ave, Ocean City, NJ 08226-3251
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Ocean City
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Ocean City
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ocean City
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Ocean City
Price Range: £110 - £289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Harris House Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Ebookers so you can book your Harris House Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harris House Motel Hotel Ocean City
Harris Hotel Ocean City
Harris Motel Ocean City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing