We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good”
Review of Northwood Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ocean City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Northwood Inn
Ranked #2 of 20 Ocean City B&B and Inns
Glendale, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Pretty good”
Reviewed 9 July 2012

The room was very nice and the bikes were perfect for the long haul to the beach. The only thing I would suggest, is they tell you in advance what breakfast is going to be. After we loaded up on fruit, muffins and cereal, we were told they had a special breakfast that was really nice, just a tad late.
No flat screen TV' to enjoy the game for an hour after coming back from the beach but other than that, great place.

Room Tip: Get a suite, you'll enjoy the extra room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coalporter_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    143
    14
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
22
106
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Townsend, Delaware, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

My Husband and I have been going to The Northwood Inn regularly for years. In the beginning, my husband was never a B & B kind of guy, so I played dirty. :-) I pointed out that John has an amazing Corvette in his garage. Mission accomplished! He loves going! We feel like we're home as soon as we arrive. Seeing the wrap-around porch an rocking chairs has me relaxing before I even get out of the car. At this point, Marj and John are like family. We usually stay in one of two rooms which are extremely comforable, clean, and easy to relax in. (I'm sure the others are too, we're just creatures of habit. :-) The breakfast is always worth getting up for, especially Marj's orange chip bread. Yum. The coffee is always up before we are...delish. No matter what the economy, we'll always go for a weekend every year, more if our schedules allow. Don't deprive yourself...GO and RELAX! :-)

Room Tip: There's no pool, use the ocean. There's no fitness center, ride a bike or walk on the beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 8 July 2012

Ok- no, there isn't! My wife and I have been regular visitors to the Northwood Inn for almost two decades. We thought it was about time we gave them a review... Not only is the inn itself historic, the innkeepers--- John and Marj-- are historic too!!!!! Historic in their quality of service, friendliness, and kindness. We urge you to head to the Northwood and experience what we've had the privilege of enjoying for so many years. Please greet them for us when you arrive.

Note: My lovely wife just advised me there are no details here, so here are a few: 1) building is a wonderful Victorian with lots of ambience, their breakfasts are five star, the pool table always favors me (!), bikes for the boardwalk in basement, and a hot tub on the roof. Need more-- go to their website!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amazingtime50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Villages, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2012

My husband and I just returned from a 4 night stay at Northwood Inn. The Inn is very clean, Marj and John were awesome, they have plenty of bikes for your morning ride on the boardwalk, and a great porch for your morning coffee. Can't wait to go back

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Abbytgram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Northwood Inn, responded to this review, 24 June 2012
Thank you to Sandy, Bill and all of our guests for making the Northwood Inn a success ! We appreciate the time you took to review the Inn so that other future guests know about us. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flemington, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 June 2012

We absolutely loved the Northwood Inn and will definitely stay there again. The rooms were cozy, clean, quiet and extremely comfortable. Breakfast was worth getting up for and Marj and John are very attentive to their guests. We highly recommend the Northwood and will be back.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roscoe1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monrovia,Maryland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Marj and John were outstanding hosts and made our 25th anniversary stay a pleasure of memories.Highly recommend !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hewlett, New York
1 review
Reviewed 28 May 2012

We stayed at the Inn over Memorial Day Weekend and had a fabulous time. The breakfasts were delicious and the Inn was clean and cozy. The Rose Room was beautiful and looked just as it did in the pictures posted on their webpage. John and Marj were wonderful hosts and paid attention to every detail, making this a very enjoyable experience. The smell of fresh baked cookies in the afternoon was bliss. We highly recommend the Inn if you are looking for a beautiful and welcoming place to stay in Ocean City.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.4 mi away
Ocean 7
Ocean 7
#5 of 32 in Ocean City
298 reviews
1.2 mi away
Port-O-Call Hotel
Port-O-Call Hotel
#3 of 32 in Ocean City
350 reviews
0.4 mi away
Biscayne Suites
Biscayne Suites
#6 of 32 in Ocean City
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Atlantis Inn Luxury B&B
Atlantis Inn Luxury B&B
#1 of 20 in Ocean City
281 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bayberry Inn - Ocean City
Bayberry Inn - Ocean City
#3 of 20 in Ocean City
105 reviews
0.4 mi away
Scarborough Inn
Scarborough Inn
#4 of 20 in Ocean City
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northwood Inn

Property: Northwood Inn
Address: 401 Wesley Ave, Ocean City, NJ 08226-3961
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Ocean City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magnificently restored Victorian has 19th century charm and 21st??? century comforts including all private baths (two with Jacuzzis for two),??? central air-conditioning, complimentary beach tags, bicycles and roof top whirlpool spa. The Inn is conveniently located 3 blocks from the beach, boardwalk, shops and restaurants. 30 miles north of Cape May and 8 miles south of Atlantic City. Bountiful breakfasts, cool porches and Carolina rockers. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing