We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sweet winter visit”
Review of Northwood Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ocean City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Northwood Inn
Ranked #2 of 20 Ocean City B&B and Inns
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Sweet winter visit”
Reviewed 23 January 2014 via mobile

We were the only guests in the dead of winter to this shore Inn. It was lovely, clean and quiet. The breakfast was wonderful. A few too many decorations around, we couldn't play pool and it is not my style but it is a Victorian! Rose room was large and bright. Nice location near ocean and between forsyth wildlife refuge where we saw a snowy owl and much more, and Cape May.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PhillyRobyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    143
    14
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
22
106
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed 30 December 2013

I spent 4 days at Northwood Inn and felt like I was visiting family with the owners, Marj and John Loeper. The room was very clean and comfortable: big bed with soft sheets and a cozy blanket, jacuzzi big enough to actually feel like I was in hot springs without the sulfur scent ;) and plenty of quality of towels. Id wake up to church bells, fall asleep to ocean waves and gentle breezes outside my window. I went in December and had the pleasure of lounging around by the fireplace. Amazing food, very nourishing- John is a great cook!! I played a round of pool on a rainy day and had a library of books and puzzles to choose from. The inn is located 2 blocks from the beach which I adore! Plenty of parking and quick access to everything on the island mid-town. I will book a room here again for sure. I left feeling rejuvenated, calm, and ready. I highly recommend this Inn. Plenty of well-sized winsome rooms, hot tub on the top floor, a seating area filled with the most beautiful orchids, and the energy of a place you are sad to leave!

Room Tip: Call in avance to book your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 360grivas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tunkhannock, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We have stayed in a variety of B and B's over the years. The Northwood was one of the better ones. The room was large, clean and comfortable. Actually, we were upgraded to that room since the inn wasn't full. We looked at the room we would have stayed in and that also looked clean and comfortable. Bikes were available for us to use whenever and we enjoyed riding on the boardwalk. The hottub was perfect both evenings. The breakfasts were very good. We tend to get up a little earlier than they were ready but we walked to the boardwalk until breakfast was ready. The boardwalk was about four blocks east and the Northwood is two blocks north of many of the boardwalk sites but the distance wasn't too far to be bothersome. We have already talked about going back next year.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lets_Go72008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 10 September 2013

My wife and I spent a weekend here this month and had a great time. The room was clean and very comfortable. The owners (John and Marj) were pleasant and very helpful. Even though the B&B was full for the weekend, we found our room to be very quiet. The breakfasts included fruit, juices, coffee / tea, homemade muffins, and a great entree. We had crustless quiche and orange croissant french toast. The trip was worth it just to pick up the recipe book of the breakfasts made here! They had a stable of bikes to borrow which we used on the boardwalk each morning. The hotel is several blocks to the beach but not so far as to be a nuisance. It was a short walk to the shopping district downtown. We'd be happy to go again!

Room Tip: Check out the prices on the rooms; they vary quite a bit depending on size and amenities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlantic City, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at the inn and were very happy with our experience. We enjoyed the Magnolia room (nice size bathroom!) and would definitely stay in that room again if not deciding to try another. The innkeepers, especially John, we very pleasant and made us feel welcome. For breakfast we go to try chocolate chip coconut muffins-yum!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fun2travel_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crestwood, Kentucky
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We stayed at the Northwood Inn last year when we went on vacation. It was a pretty nice place, good people, not too far from the beach and boardwalk. We had a very pleasant stay. It would be a good place to return to for a vacation. Thanks to the wonderful staff for making us feel welcome

Room Tip: My girlfriend and I had the Rose Room. It was very nice and sunny on this side of the Inn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth Meeting, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We loved our two-night stay at the Northwood Inn. Our kids (13, 16, 18) loved the freedom of the bikes (included with the stay), the private shower room and beach tags available from arrival day through departure day, which gave us 3 full days at the beach. John and Marj are wonderful hosts, very knowledgeable, accommodating,and friendly. Breakfast was great, and coming back from the beach to the house smelling of chocolate chip cookies was wonderful.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank PhillySwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ocean City hotels
0.4 mi away
Ocean 7
Ocean 7
#5 of 32 in Ocean City
298 reviews
1.2 mi away
Port-O-Call Hotel
Port-O-Call Hotel
#3 of 32 in Ocean City
350 reviews
0.4 mi away
Biscayne Suites
Biscayne Suites
#6 of 32 in Ocean City
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Atlantis Inn Luxury B&B
Atlantis Inn Luxury B&B
#1 of 20 in Ocean City
281 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bayberry Inn - Ocean City
Bayberry Inn - Ocean City
#3 of 20 in Ocean City
105 reviews
0.4 mi away
Scarborough Inn
Scarborough Inn
#4 of 20 in Ocean City
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northwood Inn

Property: Northwood Inn
Address: 401 Wesley Ave, Ocean City, NJ 08226-3961
Region: United States > New Jersey > Jersey Shore > Cape May County > Ocean City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Ocean City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magnificently restored Victorian has 19th century charm and 21st??? century comforts including all private baths (two with Jacuzzis for two),??? central air-conditioning, complimentary beach tags, bicycles and roof top whirlpool spa. The Inn is conveniently located 3 blocks from the beach, boardwalk, shops and restaurants. 30 miles north of Cape May and 8 miles south of Atlantic City. Bountiful breakfasts, cool porches and Carolina rockers. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing